We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel just off the Mile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #119 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel just off the Mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel was good value for money, room was adequate size and very clean. No major issues with bathroom. Checking in was done with ease and they were more than happy to help me with finding nearby bars, restaurants and things to do. Bar downstairs was nice, if a bit small.
Easy to walk around everywhere, even as far as Soldier Field and Willis Tower; there is a red line stop about 5 mins away if you wish to explore further.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    439
    314
    141
    112
See reviews for
182
368
97
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband, kids and I stayed at this hotel. We asked to have duplicate of our reservation and they completely refused to help us. There were 4 people in a room no larger than the size of a super 8 motel room. The bar at the restaurant was nice but honestly that was it. Not only was the room not satisfactory to what the price of that room goes for, the staff was the least bit enjoyable to be around, and the manager didn't even bother to offer his apologies for not being able to help us. Any form of an apology would have been fine. Will not be back. We are choice privilege members and will not even stay at this hotel on a free night. Not to mention the smallest elevator I've ever been in.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear NNorthcutt,
Thank you for your review. It disappoints us to learn that your guest room size fell short of exceeding expectations during your stay. Please understand that it is never our intention to not offer an apology to a guest, and that our team does everything possible to find resolutions. We hope that you find accommodations that best suit your needs in the future.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are looking for a great location to stay in downtown Chicago on a budget, this may be it.
It may be a bit worn, but it was clean and adequate. We had no complaints about cleanliness, housekeeping, valet, concierge. My only complaint was a comment made by the front desk staff upon check-in when she snapped that the room was pre-paid. It was indeed, but I didn't realize that it meant that we would not be welcomed by a greeting that included acclimating us to the hotel. Besides, pre-paying offered me the best rate. After checking in and going out on the town for some sight-seeing, I stopped back at the front desk and a different clerk answered all my questions and he was surprised no one had given that information at my check-in.
The location is 1/2 block from the Mag Mile, and super close to many of the downtown attractions, all within easy walking distance. A short bus or "L" ride can get you to everything. Wrigley Field, museums, and more.
Food, it's everywhere, so it is all close, although nothing at the hotel.
Grab a bottle of wine and hit the 22nd floor roof-top for some r&r and watch over the city lights.
There are actually 3 elevators in operation and I never waited more than minutes going up or down for one.
This hotel does the job and leaves you plenty of money to use on your tour of the city!

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor in a single room with a queen bed. The room was adequate in size and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear ima-rph83,
Thank you for your review. It is true that our hotel is a great deal for those looking to be very close to downtown attractions and experience all that Chicago has to offer! We regret if our front desk agent was a bit hasty with you upon check-in, and can assure you this is not representative of the service we strive to offer. We are glad you enjoyed our 22nd floor skyline terrace, and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First the good; Great location close to most attractions, we were able to walk to almost every attraction we wanted to. The price was also good, cheapest on Magnificent Mile. They will also park your car for $52 a night.
The Bad; Hotel is very out of date, and my wife felt dirty the whole time she was there. Bathroom is tiny.
The skinny; Great hotel if you are looking cheap and aren't going to be in your hotel room very long. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear rstamba,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our close proximity to nearby attractions, however, regret if our accommodations fell short of exceeding expectations. Please be assured of our best efforts to welcome you back and regain your confidence in us.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon entering our $200 room, I couldn't help but utter the, "You get what you pay for" line. Location, as others have indicated is great; the rate is decent (considering the location). The room was somewhat shabby and small, but fairly clean except for stains on the chair upholstery. You could stand in the bathroom and reach out to touch the opposite walls. Definitely not a treat to stay here, but if you want/need to stay right smack downtown off the magnificent mile, it is affordable compared to rates that can easily double in nice hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

22 floors, 2 elevators, a total nightmare to go to your room. Imagine with only one elevator! Very good location, an old building adapted. Excessive cost of wifi in room. Lobby has a free wifi with a password that you have to ask in reception.

Room Tip: Watch for housekeeping they arrive at 8:00am, very good for a business traveler. Terrible for leisur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were very satisfied with our stay at the Inn of Chicago. It was everything we needed- it was central, the room was a decent size, quiet, nicely decorated, a good temperature, clean, the bed was long enough for my 6ft6 tall husband, the staff were helpful.

I used the gym, it was small but quiet and the equipment was in good order.

Its just a hotel room, but a pleasant and comfortable one, and great value for money. I would recommend this if you are travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from State Street and the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found - we offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.