We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Save Saved
You added Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #117 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon entering our $200 room, I couldn't help but utter the, "You get what you pay for" line. Location, as others have indicated is great; the rate is decent (considering the location). The room was somewhat shabby and small, but fairly clean except for stains on the chair upholstery. You could stand in the bathroom and reach out to touch the opposite walls. Definitely not a treat to stay here, but if you want/need to stay right smack downtown off the magnificent mile, it is affordable compared to rates that can easily double in nice hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    424
    283
    133
    98
See reviews for
160
336
89
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

22 floors, 2 elevators, a total nightmare to go to your room. Imagine with only one elevator! Very good location, an old building adapted. Excessive cost of wifi in room. Lobby has a free wifi with a password that you have to ask in reception.

Room Tip: Watch for housekeeping they arrive at 8:00am, very good for a business traveler. Terrible for leisur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were very satisfied with our stay at the Inn of Chicago. It was everything we needed- it was central, the room was a decent size, quiet, nicely decorated, a good temperature, clean, the bed was long enough for my 6ft6 tall husband, the staff were helpful.

I used the gym, it was small but quiet and the equipment was in good order.

Its just a hotel room, but a pleasant and comfortable one, and great value for money. I would recommend this if you are travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you want a hotel in a great location, this is the perfect hotel. It is close to everything, even the Navy pier. However, the room was just down right awful.Old, outdated, kind of sad room! The rooftop terrace was nice, but no bar, or drinks available. If you are planning on running around all day and just need a place to crash, this is your place. If this place ever modernizes their rooms, it could ask for top dollar (that is how good the location is.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear ghost595,
Thank you for your review. As you can tell our location is our best asset here at the Inn of Chicago! That is what makes us stand out among the rest. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is a classic “you get what you pay for”. It is in a great location and a good rate. The hotel itself could lend to renovation and security update, ie. Safe deposit boxes in room.
The difference between the way the lobby is presented verses the way the rooms are presented is chalk and cheese. I thought I stepped back in time when I entered our room.
Saying that, we had no issues and the café next door opens at 6am is very handy with nice food and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP, Brasil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for four nights last August. We made a non-refundable reservation through hotels.com two months in advance, what gave us a discounted rate of about $100 per night. For this price, the hotel offers a good value for money. Room was a little bit old, with a noisy A/C. But everything was functional, the staff was nice and accommodated every request we had. Location is really the best of this hotel, a block from Michigan Ave and a couple from the Chicago river. They also have a nice rooftop with couches and chairs for guests to hang around. Free wi-fi is only available in the lobby, what is somewhat inconvenient. Keep in mind that rates can increase sharply if you book only a few days/weeks in advance...and if you pay around $200 for this hotel you can be seriously disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Miguelitus,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the Inn of Chicago! We are proud to read that our staff exceeded your expectations. Glad you had a chance to check out our 22nd floor skyline terrace during your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My good friend and I traveled to Chicago to celebrate her engagement. The staff was great, especially Natalie who offered us an upgrade due to the celebration. We had a room on the 20th floor with a great view and plenty of room. I have previous work experience in the hotel industry and couldn't find any complaints. The location of the property was great for shopping and pretty much walking distance to anywhere you want to go. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone on a budget looking for a great location.

Room Tip: If you are celebrating something special, it never hurts to ask (politely!!) for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear kelly3267,
Thank you for your review. We hope you had a memorable time celebrating your friend's engagement. Thank you kindly for recommending the Inn of Chicago to fellow readers looking for an affordable hotel in a great location!
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from State Street and the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found - we offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.