We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location for business or pleasure and so convenient to everything you made need downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #119 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Calabasas, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome location for business or pleasure and so convenient to everything you made need downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on business for a few days recently. Amazing location in downtown Chicago. Price is high but expected for the area. Rooms are simple with bathrooms on the small side. Lots of close by restaurants with transportation options very convenient

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    440
    316
    141
    112
See reviews for
184
368
97
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pencader, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is huge, the service is great, it is in an excellent location and my room was nice enough! The wi-fi is free, but only in the lobby. Noisy A/C but there is an off switch! Big TV, a proper bath and shower, decent coffee in the room...what more could you possibly want!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear blackdragonwales,

Thank you for your review. Our location is very central in downtown Chicago, and we are glad you enjoyed it. We are relieved to hear that you were able to manage the A/C during your stay. We look forward to being of service to you again when your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Best,
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Staff were not only unhelpful, but they stole/lost something, then lied about it. Management was belligerent and definitely didn't put the guest first. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. For the cost, the accomodations were lacking, but most importantly, service was abysmal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Calling this hotel 'renovated' is a joke. All renovations I could see ended in the lobby. This was a dirty hotel that reeked of thirty year old, stale cigarette smoke. It reminded me of a sketchy, off the highway motel. The pictures of the hotel rooms were nothing like what we actually stayed in. The only upside is the location was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear ameliatom,

Thank you for your review. It seems we fell short of exceeding expectations while you were a guest of ours. Not all of our guest rooms have been renovated yet. On our website, you can see both room types: contemporary and traditional. We are really sorry if you were unaware of this situation. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to stay in one of our renovated rooms, you will not regret it.

Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Inn of Chicago last week for one night and was happy with the location. The hotel is always running specials, so you can get a room for a good price that's right off Michigan Ave. The corner suite was nice and big, so it was weird that the bed was just a "queen" (really a full). The bathroom was nice and large with Jack and Jill sinks. The cons is the lobby at check in and check out and the SUPER small elevators. I would stay again if I wanted a great location for a decent price downtown.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor, corner room. We got upgraded to a junior suite just by asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for your review. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn of Chicago and appreciated our central location. We do our best to offer a good value in downtown Chicago. As the Inn of Chicago is a historical building, our elevators are smaller than the ones in newer hotels. We hope this did not affect your overall stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel eager to explore Chicago. After we checked in I asked the front desk staff for restaurant recommendations & all she did was hand me a brochure. Very robotic & not nice. The room was large as we had a king bed & that is the only positive of the stay there. One of the bellman was helpful but otherwise we felt invisible by rest of staff. I needed assistance with airport info & after persisting they eventually looked something up for me. Rip off with Internet as they want you to pay. We travel a lot & stay in many hotels & have never felt as unwelcome as this one. Location was a plus but nothing else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Schuliel,

Thank you for your review. It seems we felt short on a couple of instances during your stay. The lack of hospitality shown to you is unacceptable, and is never our standard here at the Inn of Chicago. Your comments will be addressed with our front office department, so that no other guest departs feeling the way you did. We would like to welcome you back again to regain your confidence in us. Allow us to show you our true hospitality colors.

Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. The bed is comfortable, many TV channels to view and the toilet is clean. Very convenient location to both eateries and shopping malls. Free WiFi is available at the lobby and every night many guests will stay at the lobby to surf.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Senior_V,

Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay with us. Please note that there are no fees to use the luggage cart. Some of our rooms are contemporary, but please feel free to ask for one next time you visit us. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from State Street and the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found - we offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.