We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Table, Donkey and Stick

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Table, Donkey and Stick
2728 W Armitage Ave, Chicago, IL 60647 (Northwest Side)
773.486.8525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Table, Donkey and Stick is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #844 of 8,383 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Cross street: Fairfield
Transit: The restaurant is under 1/2 mile from the California and Western stops on the Blue Line. The restaurant is also accessible via the Armitage and California buses.
Description: Bonsoiree is an intimate 28 seat Fine Dining BYOB featuring French/Japanese Contemporary cuisine owned by Chef Shin Thompson. Ask about the beautiful outdoor patio that seats up to 20 people (weather permitting). Bonsoiree features eight and 13 Course tasting menus.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Beverly Kim and Johnny Clark have done a wonderful job of transforming this restaurant. My wife and I ate there with another couple and had a wonderful experience. We really enjoyed almost every dish. The trout and duck were particularly wonderful. We were also quite impressed with the wine pairings. We would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We ordered the 9 course meal which sounds insane, but most of the courses were delicate delightful small plates full of creativity. There wasn't a lot of help in figuring out what it was going to be, and the wait between courses was sometimes long, but we had some good wine so we didn't mind. It was honestly so overwhelming (and the wine was so good) I couldn't begin to go into specifics too much, but mostly the food was Japanese influenced but with real flair. Very clean tastes with dazzling presentation. There was unagi eel app, a tuna course, and the small handmade dessert of chocolates was insanely good. (while we were there some wine experts were sampling a huge array of amazing high-end wines and they asked us if we would help them finish off some of the bottles, so that's why my memories a little fuzzy here - sorry! : )
All in all it was a magical night and I would LOVE to go back here! Service was terrific and ambiance was very nice. Bustling but not 'noisy'.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“great food & BYOB!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The restaurant and its location is a little off. There is no sign stating the name of the restaurant on the building. Staff were a little strange, but the food was very good. Also, bring your own bottle was a big plus. The water melon gazpacho and the Halibit were really really good. I also enjoyed the goat cheese ravioli.The Saturday night tasting menu was $95/person.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Always outstanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was there again last night for a six course meal of wonderful food paired with crafts beers. My first such experience. There were oysters with grilled corn hush puppies, peel and eat prawns, smoked pork belly, pork crepinettes and roasted scallops, grilled wagyu steak, pulled chicken confit all with an Asian influence. It was topped off with peach cobbler and banana ice cream and a watermelon and rose popsicle and fresh watermelon. A perfect summer meal with friends. There is a reason why they got a Michelin star. This was my fourth visit!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sensational food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Wanted to try a Michelin-recognised restaurant while in Chicago - a 30th wedding anniversary meant that our expectations were very high. I'm delighted to say that Bonsoiree exceeded our hopes - unusual but not stupidly weird food, attentive and well-informed service, and great value for money.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table, Donkey and Stick also viewed

 

Been to Table, Donkey and Stick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table, Donkey and Stick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.