We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food & BYOB!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Table, Donkey and Stick

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Table, Donkey and Stick
2728 W Armitage Ave, Chicago, IL 60647 (Northwest Side)
773.486.8525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Table, Donkey and Stick is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #844 of 8,383 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Cross street: Fairfield
Transit: The restaurant is under 1/2 mile from the California and Western stops on the Blue Line. The restaurant is also accessible via the Armitage and California buses.
Description: Bonsoiree is an intimate 28 seat Fine Dining BYOB featuring French/Japanese Contemporary cuisine owned by Chef Shin Thompson. Ask about the beautiful outdoor patio that seats up to 20 people (weather permitting). Bonsoiree features eight and 13 Course tasting menus.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“great food & BYOB!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The restaurant and its location is a little off. There is no sign stating the name of the restaurant on the building. Staff were a little strange, but the food was very good. Also, bring your own bottle was a big plus. The water melon gazpacho and the Halibit were really really good. I also enjoyed the goat cheese ravioli.The Saturday night tasting menu was $95/person.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Always outstanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was there again last night for a six course meal of wonderful food paired with crafts beers. My first such experience. There were oysters with grilled corn hush puppies, peel and eat prawns, smoked pork belly, pork crepinettes and roasted scallops, grilled wagyu steak, pulled chicken confit all with an Asian influence. It was topped off with peach cobbler and banana ice cream and a watermelon and rose popsicle and fresh watermelon. A perfect summer meal with friends. There is a reason why they got a Michelin star. This was my fourth visit!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sensational food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Wanted to try a Michelin-recognised restaurant while in Chicago - a 30th wedding anniversary meant that our expectations were very high. I'm delighted to say that Bonsoiree exceeded our hopes - unusual but not stupidly weird food, attentive and well-informed service, and great value for money.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, amazing flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

No name on the door, sort of unusual area with a warehouse across the street, but WOW what a great meal! We went on Sunday for the no menu 7 course chef determined meal. They select market fresh and wherever possible local sustainable menu ingredients and inquired from the begining about any dietary restrictions. We had none but did notice that the table next to us had made special requests, which were honored without hesitation.(There was also a 4 course option.)
The food was complex, beautiful, amazingly flavored. The courses included a "soup", appetizer diver scallops, 3 proteins-guinea hen roulade, wagyu beef, and suzuki fish, an intermezzo, a dessert, and a sensational surprise sweet finish. Everything from quince to beets, to salsify was included!
Very well priced for a prix fixe meal of this quality.
Reminder it is BYOB and they do not offer soft drinks, so that is BYO as well. Coffee beverages are available.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing, haute cuisine tucked away in Logan Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

the bad thing about this restaurant is that there are only 28 seats, so a lot of planning and patience is necessary to get in. but the payoff is significant! for those of you, who like me, enjoy being told what and how to eat by expert chefs, you will be glad you did. our 8-course meal was an incredible culinary journey across different flavors, textures, and combinations that i could never have imagined, much less create. some highlights of our night included: reverse engineered baked potato, chicken-fried steak inspired wagyu beef, succulent ocean perch, a quail lollipop, and tastes of chocolate desserts done 8(!) equally impressive and labor-intensive ways. one final perk of this Logan Square treasure: it is byob, so you can splurge on the meal and not worry about the libations.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table, Donkey and Stick also viewed

 

Been to Table, Donkey and Stick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table, Donkey and Stick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.