We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Meal in a Great City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gage

The Gage
24 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)
(312) 372-4243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Madison
Transit: The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal in a Great City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

While in Chicago for a convention, our friends from Chicago told us we had to try The Gage. We had never heard of the restaurant, but because of their recommendation, and because it was just around the corner from our hotel, we decided to give it a try. We had just driven the 3 hours, and I had a 5 hour meeting that had just ended, so we decided to give it a try. What a wonderful choice! The food was excellent, the wait staff was great, and the ambiance was wonderful. Our waiter recommended and we took the suggestions and we had a totally fantastic dinner. Even though we were a little tired, we were reenergized and had a wonderful evening! A must try restaurant that won't suck the bills out of your wallet. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    336
    68
    26
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a local favorite. Interesting food on the menu that changes with the seasons. Great atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bustling place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stopped in here on a Friday afternoon. The Gage has a great atmosphere, and definitely seems like a place to get drinks. The food is fairly priced and was very good - especially recommend the apple crisp afterwards. Parking nearby is super easy with the underground garages.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for food & drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I went here for some food & drinks. The atmosphere was awesome & service was too! The place is really trendy & food was delicious. Prices were reasonable. They have a great selection of wine & beer as well as a full bar. I really enjoyed my experience here & would not hesitate to go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cozy Gastropub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you're staying at one of the many hotels lining S Michigan Ave., this is a great little gastropub worthy of a stop. The menu is eclectic and interesting ranging from expected dishes with tuna and chicken to other much more interesting starters like antelope tartare with parmesan and quail egg (which i had and it was delicious). I also had their take on bangers and mash which was locally sourced (where possible) bison sausages with fingerling potatoes and gruyere. The waiter was exceptionally informed and did a great job both describing the dishes and suggesting appropriate pairings (especially beer pairings which I appreciated). The waiter also noted that the chef is a James Beard award winner ....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gage also viewed

 

Been to The Gage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.