We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sale! Save up to 20% Off
Ranked #26 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I had a great time in Chicago. The hotel experience at the Blackstone made it even that much better. The staff was amazing from the moment we checked-in. The valet staff were very helpful in getting us to the places we wanted to go. The room was AMAZING. We would stay there again without a doubt. Also, it was nice to have a Starbucks part of the hotel. That was a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi JBauer12!
Thank you so much for your kind comments! I will definitely share them with the staff. We so appreciate you taking the time to write a review and choosing th Blackstone for your visit to Chicago! I hope that we can welcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    284
    53
    18
    16
See reviews for
128
284
80
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I came to Chicago this December to have a weekend away with friends. We choose the Blackstone because of its amazing location (minutes away from all trans.) and from word of mouth. Glad we did. The minute you walk in you feel warm and welcomed. The front desk staff is kind and really makes you feel at home. The rooms are a good size for the area and well appointed. Our first night we had dinner at Mercat a la planxa the on-site tapas restaurant and was amazed. Food was excellent and the atmosphere was good as well. I plan on visiting the Blackstone every time I visit Chicago.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you MarshalK, for taking the time to write a review of the Blackstone Renaissance ! We so appreciate it. I am especially thrilled that you thought the staff was amazing and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them! As you know, the staff can make or break a hotel and I am thrilled to be able to say we have a fantastic team!
I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

From the moment I walked in, I was treated like a Rock Star! The team there is skilled and on point - the service was just over-the-top. Everyone using my name, checking on my needs and making sure I was comfortable. The decor was classy and elegant - the hotel is located in a GREAT spot! It was just a really FANTASTIC experience. They really spoiled me and I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much DRossSla for your terrific comments! We so appreciate you writing a review and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the attention provided by our fabulous team members!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here this past week with my sister who is from out of town. We drove in from the burbs and parked in the South Grant Park parking lot. The overnight cost was $34.00. I thought this was reasonable.

The hotel is just past it's glory days. I was sort of surprised there was no doorman to help with our bags or open the door when we came in. We entered on the ground level but had to go up several stairs to check in, hauling our own luggage. Not really a big deal, but at one time, I'm sure there was a doorman.

I had requested a room on a top floor, two queen beds and a view of the lake and down pillows. I spoke directly with the hotel when I made the reservation and we were shown to room 1919. Exactly what I had hoped for. The room was fine for an overnight visit. The bathroom was large with a shower only but the floors were marble which spoke to me of it's bygone days. They provided a few toiletries and when I realized I left my tooth brush at home they were able to provide me one free of charge.

There was a small entry way into the room that was beautiful white marble. The room had a small safe and fridge. There was a very nice welcome basket for us with some fresh fruit and a couple of granola bars. We really appreciated the effort. The hotel does not provide free internet however which is always a minus for me.

We were able to take advantage of the restaurant in the hotel, Mercat a la Planxa which is a tapas restaurant. I'd definitely stay in this hotel again and ask for the same room.

Room Tip: Room 1919 has a nice view of the lake and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hello phaera,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Blackstone Renaissance! I am so sorry that you were not met by a door man. We definitely have doormen that perform all of those duties so all I can imagine is that they got called away or stepped away at the exact time you checked in- I am so sorry for that. Just as a reference, we also have a door to the right of the main entrance that leads to an elevator so we have access for ADA, etc.
I'm pleased, though, that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

A recent overnight stay at the Blackstone (my second visit) reminded me how much I love this property. The staff is so friendly and helpful, the hotel spotless and comfortable, and the room quiet and comfy. The fitness center is also one of the nicest I've had the privilege of using...running on the treadmill with a view of the park was bonus (usually run on Lakeshore, but 17 degrees was a bit cool this visit). The location for this trip was a little far south on Michigan since we like to walk everywhere we go (and it was cold!!), but ordinarily not a problem. Would love to come back and stay again in warmer weather...location would be perfect for the Art Institute, Lake & Grant Park, and the museums.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Hello LivestoEat975!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, but more so, thanks for making the Blackstone Renaissance a favorite of yours!!! We are thrilled and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Since you love to eat, have you ever tried our Iron Chef inspired restaurant, Mercat a la Planxa?
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskins
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Almost enough said! Great location, close to all transportation, museums, and shopping. The architecture is magnificent, so nostalgic to be there. The room was large, clean, and had all the modern amenities. It was fun, Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you so much, Glenn H for enjoying our hotel and for sharing your views with others! We really appreciate you taking the time.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Beautiful old building that has been restored nicely. Rooms are well appointed, clean and quiet. The concierge lounge was a little wanting. Coffee maker didn't work while I was there. Evening canapes were veggies. But I don't go to a hotel for its concierge lounge. This place has a good location and great atmosphere. Will stay here again on my next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Hi offthewalls,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! You are correct, our hotel was built in 1910 and our company completely restored it and re-opened in 2008! Its a great mixture of the beautiful, old architecture with interesting modern touches. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago", we are eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.