We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted often with smiles. Felt very comfortable with a clean and contemporary room. I noticed our shower light bulb went out (small matter), and it worked after the housekeeping visit. I liked the general historic feel of hotel's decor yet it was very modern. Within walking distance of the Field Museum and Soldiers Field.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi Adam C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and glad that you found the location to be convenient! As you know its right across from Grant Park and is really in a lovely spot.
We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    368
    74
    31
    17
See reviews for
181
377
91
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed at many Marriott hotels but this was my first at a Renaissance property. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly, my room was much larger than most hotels. The property was in excellent shape and very nice. The location is great across the street from the park and just down the street from Soldier Field. The only downside was the internet, VERY SLOW. For someone who might be here on business that would be a concern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello John Trish -
Thanks so much for writing a review on the Blackstone! So happy that you enjoyed the property and that you enjoyed the Renaissance Brand.
Our internet is being upgraded as I write this and we hope to have it totally installed and completed by the first week in November!
Please come back and visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a nice, smallish (about 350 rooms) hotel in a great location. It seemed more like a boutique hotel than I expected. The rooms and experience were down a notch or two from most other Renaissances at which we have stayed. Elites do not seem to be very special here. As a Gold elite, an “upgrade” meant that we were given a room on the 8th floor with a great view. The room was average size and not special except for the view. It had some odd features, including a sliding translucent door to the bathroom, a shower stall that was half totally open, and some of the weirdest light switches we’ve ever seen (first few times we used switches the lights came back on after a few seconds…. the bellman neglected to warn /train us!). The TV was a smallish flat screen (32 inch?) on the wall. The beds were great and there were lot of flat surfaces and electric outlets. Wi-Fi was free to elites and was fine. The room service steak and fries was surprisingly good and reasonably priced…but delivered only luke warm. The executive lounge was fine, but had very limited selections (but included bacon & eggs in the morning and what they did have seemed to be of excellent quality) and ran out of some things very early both in the evening and morning (We were told that less than the normal amounts were there because they expected less than normal demand…even though hotel was fully booked both days). At breakfast you had to ask for yogurt, since they did not have the facilities to put it out (apparently they never heard of putting in a large iced bowl like other hotels do). It was also understaffed (just one person while we there…we were told that there is supposed to be two, but one had been out sick for some time. A better run hotel would have found a substitute). Billing also was weird: we received two separate bills, one in my name & one in wife’s name, each billed to a different credit card and each half the total charge. The clerk at check -out told us that this was the new policy of the Renaissance chain! She apologized for the problems but offered nothing else (other hotels usually offer at least frequent stay points); having paid almost $300/night we thought that this response was lacking. If you do not value elite privileges and do not mind paying about $300/night, you probably will like this hotel. We expected special and did not get it. We regularly stay in Chicago, but this was probably last time we ever will stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi Traveling Doc,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! I am so sorry that you did not feel special nor feel as if you received the elite benefits that you are used to. With our property, the view is generally the fabulous thing that we can upgrade our elite members to, so I'm sorry you didn't find that to be special.
Your other comments have certainly been shared with the team in order to make changes to the way that we do things. We absolutely value our all of our guests and especially our Marriott customers so thank you for choosing us.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lobby was beautiful to walk into , greeted by attentive, pleasant staff. The room was clean , well decorated and quiet. Great location near many attractions and easy transportation access.Really a nice experience all the way around. Would stay again on next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello Tina P -
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate the feedback! I am thrilled that you found the staff to be pleasant and attentive. We try to make sure that we hire the right people that enjoy hospitality!
I hope to be able to welcome you back again some day.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Let me rephrase that. You can pay $12 for the Internet, but that doesn't mean it will work. Stayed a week and couldn't even check my email. Had to write everything on my droid phone, which worked fine but I prefer to use a full keyboard.

The hotel is beautiful. The lobby, gorgeous. And it is well cared for. Not a spec of dust anywhere. My room was perfect, with a view of the park and (in the distance) the fountain shown in the beginning credits of "Married, With Children".

The bathroom is marble, awesome gravity shower, great actually functional toilet, and I liked the sliding glass door to it. Comfy towels and a robe (though I didn't use it). Also a safe in the closet.

My room had a nice work area with plugs on the top of the desk, a reading light, and wired Internet plug (though, as I said earlier, the network didn't work). The TV was large, flat screen, with a good number of channels though a lot of them were news.

The bed was comfortable and the AC worked great. Though I could hear police sirens once in a while, and a road construction crew one afternoon, it was otherwise pretty quiet. Not much sound from my neighbors.

Getting a Taxi was easy. Took 2 seconds for the doorman to call one over.

There is a Dunkin' Donuts a block away and I went every day I was there. There is also a Starbucks as well. There are several nearby restaurants and the park is across the street.

If it wasn't for the poor (though expensive) Internet, it would have been a great stay. At these prices, you have to have a working network. Heck, even the taco bar 2 blocks away had a working network. And it was free. If you are going to charge $12/day * 30 days = $360/room/month you should be able to get really good speeds. My 1 GB fiber for my business cost less than that.

Room Tip: Higher floors will help you see over the trees lining the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
HI Chris B,
Thanks for all the terrific feedback you have provided in your review! We really appreciate you taking the time.
I am sorry about the internet connection and speed - we are in the process of updating the system as I write this and are expecting it to be complete by the end of the October. Unfortunately, with guests staying and using multiple devices that use band width, we have had to have another fiber cable pulled to the hotel to in order to provide consistent speed.
Please let me know when you come back to Chicago, we would love to have you give it another try!
thanks very much,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during a company conference, seems to be a more upscale hotel and I can't say anything on value as I didnt pay for it. Staff is very friendly and helped me with set up the presentation room AV.

One major complaint were the internet speeds in both the conference room and hotel room. If your just checking email no big deal. If your trying to connect to VPN, RDP's or any media I would not consider this hotel. Speeds are below 1mbps download and .25mbps upload speeds. Connectivity is intermittent in the rooms.

Otherwise its a great hotel in a good location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
HI Argonaut!
I am so sorry that the internet was an issue for your stay! We are in the process of pulling a new 100 mg cable into this historic building so that we can upgrade our entire system and be able to handle multiple devices for our guests. I am though, happy that you enjoyed the other aspects of the property and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
I look forward to welcoming you back once this upgrade is complete later this month.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location right across from Grant Park and within walking distance of many good restaurants and attractions. The room was clean and comfortable. Nice shower. Quality bed and linens. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. The only negatives were surprisingly cheap bath towels and horrific in-room coffee. Hardly detracted from an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper so I asked (and was given) a room away from the elevators and other possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi SoxFanin NYC -
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! I imagine by your name that you come to Chicago quite often! I hope that we can welcome you back again, soon. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the property, the location and all that we have to offer.
Go SOX!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#37 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago", we are eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.