We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sale! Save up to 20% Off
Ranked #27 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very modern, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I love historic properties, and this hotel has a great facade. It's interior, however; is very modern.

Our room had great interior design, with a comfy king bed and all the amenities you would expect from an upper-scale hotel. There was a small fridge, which was great, as many hotels aren't providing them these days. We also had a great view of the lake from our room. I especially liked the large bathroom, but the only strange part was that it had pocket doors that were frosted rather than a proper thick door. Might be slightly awkward if you aren't really close with your traveling companion.

The location was great, just a short walk to the Shedd and the Museums. Valet parking was 55/night, which is pretty standard for downtown Chicago.

The staff was friendly, and the valet parking staff were more than accomodating with our car going in and out of the garage a few times during our staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks so much, mPeterson.
We take great pride in the property - it's a great mix of history with some contemporary stylish aspects! I am so pleased that you found the team to be helpful and friendly - that is really what it is all about. I hope you will visit with us again.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    288
    55
    19
    16
See reviews for
134
287
80
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We came into Chicago about 2 weeks before Christmas to shop and see the sights on the Mile. and meet up with other family from Detroit. Booked our rooms thru Priceline and got a great rate. I've never payed full price in the Loop and haven't been disappointed yet. High Class Hotel...Old school Chicago with Modern updates. We all wished it had a swimming pool, but we stayed busy so it didn't really matter too much. Close to the museums and a short walk to the CTA red line for a fun ride north to river area. Cabs are out front all the time. I would grade this hotel a B - B+

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello I_like_to_swim!
With a name like that - no wonder you were disappointed that we don't have a pool! And for that I am sorry - but we do have a fabulous fitness center. I am very pleased that you noticed the cleanliness as that is certainly a focus for the entire team.
I hope that you will visit us again.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary 12/30-1/2. The loop location is great, two blocks from Lake Michigan, 5-6 from the Art Institute and Millenium Park. It is a little south in the loop, but we were able to walk everywhere. And even if we didn't want to walk, with it being right on Michigan Ave, there were a number of cabs that were easy to catch. We walked from the River North area and also back from Navy Pier. It was well over a mile or two, but not bad, nice way to see the city. We were also able to walk to Willis Tower. The room was very well decorated but no room ammenties, such as bottles of water. The sheets on the bed were extremely scratchy and we had trouble sleeping the first night. We also had problems with the quietness of the room. The heat was very loud and rattled when it kicked on. We could also hear our neighbors pretty well. Our view was facing 3 brick walls in between buildings out to loading docs and dumpsters. The restaurant in the hotel is well known and the breakfast menu was great. We also went to the bar one night and the drinks were great, but VERY expensive. We drove to Chicago and the valet cost $57.00/nt. Don't pay it. There is a parking lot less than one block up on the same corner (accross from the hilton) and we paid $65 for 2nights. Our car was out in the elements but it was so easy to get too, that we could check on it as we walked by.

Overall the hotel wasn't luxery, but we got a deal through sniqueaway.com and I didn't mind staying there for the price we paid. Don't pay full price or you'll definitely get ripped off. This is definitely an average hotel...nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the Lake side, facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Janelle,
I am so sorry that you didn't thoroughly enjoy the Blackstone Renaissance! I very much appreciate your comments and will certainly review them with our team including the scratchiness of the linens and the noise in the room.
You are absoluetly correct about the price of parking - most hotels do not have their own and rely on outside companies - I can assure you that what we charge is the going rate for downtown Chicago!
I wish you would consider another visit to the property!
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, México
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a very good rate, and the experience was fantastic for the price. The hotel is clean and everything is of great quality. It is really close to major attractions of the city and the service is of top level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear neniinabox,
We so appreciate you taking the time to write a review! I am especially happy that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you will consider a return trip some day.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This was my fourth stay at The Blackstone. We've stayed a the Hilton, the Palmer House, and the Silversmith. If you are looking for a place south of Wacker, you may want to consider this property!
The entire staff is incredibly courteous and genuinely interested in improving your experience. The deco in the lobby will give you a taste of historic Chicago while the guest rooms brag über contemporary comfort and luxury.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just got back from 7 nights at The Blackstone. This was our second stay here this year and I just had to write about them. We LOVE this hotel. Pay a little more to be upgraded to one of the top floors so you have access to the lounge on the top floor. Brekafast in the morning and snacks in the afternoon (could be dinner). Plus wifi. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. The location works for us as we are close to the park and the red line. Just a few blocks further for the blue line. We highly recommend The Blackstone for your next trip to Chicago!

Room Tip: Try for a lakeview. You will LOVE the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Of the several mid-high-end hotels I've stayed at in Chicago, this is probably my favorite for the quality of the rooms and the friendly staff. The hotel is positioned such that so long as your room has a window that faces either east or west you'll have either a great city view or a view looking out over Grant Park. Nicely appointed rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago", we are eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.