We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic downtown Chicago hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice historic downtown Chicago hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I recently stayed here one night, and then the next night at the new Radisson Blu. Gold recognition here is good - we got a great view of the lake in a really nice end room. Rooms are nicely appointed.

The only reason I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars is because of the staff in the club lounge - they are quite aggressive about wanting to close up shop in the morning. I came up for breakfast at 8:45 with very little food left on the counter (they stop serving at 9:00). When I asked for a cereal bowl (there was only one left and we needed two) the lady said she would get one, but for me to remember they were closing in 10 minutes. At 8:55 they started carrying away the unreplenished food items. When I asked why they were closing early, they said they had to because there was no food left for them to put out. Moving away the coffee and orange juice dispenser before we could refill? C'mon, guys.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    336
    63
    24
    16
See reviews for
167
339
86
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here July long weekend for two nights. It was a great way to start off our stay in Chicago. Gorgeous decor with a swanky bathroom. The bed was comfortable. There is a Starbucks attached to the hotel.

No bed bugs.

The staff were very professional. My husband forgot his toothbrush and they gave him a complimentary one. Valet parking is a little expensive but it's the price you pay for the convenience.

Most of the tourist attractions are within a 15-min walking distance. These included the Art Institute, Sears Tower, Tastes of Chicago, Aquarium and Metra. We got the CityPass which is highly recommended, especially on the July long weekend.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Snipermonkey,
Thank you for your kind words regarding our historic hotel. It is always a pleasure to provide our guests with a stay to remember. Our staff pride themselves in being of as much assistance as they possibly can.

Our whole hotel had a large renovation in 2008 and I agree the décor is just delightful. Did you get chance to see the art exhibit? We always have various displays going on which can really tantalize your imagination.

With everything so close by, visits to Chicago can be really complimented by our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Blackstone in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

Not sure when they last remodeled this hotel, but they did a very good job. Rooms are quiet and have great features: dimmed lighting, comfy bed, nice shower, etc. Location on Michigan Ave. couldn't be better.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Got this hotel on priceline for a weekend trip to Chicago with some friends. Location is convenient right on Michigan Ave. about a mile south of Miracle Mile. Rooms were quite nice with modern decor and we were given a room next to our friends with bed choice even though we booked on priceline. The view from our room was awful as it looked out directly onto the ventilation system on the inner courtyard of the building. Try to get a room on the outside of the building for a decent view if that's important to you. Wasn't a big deal, but slightly disappointing. Had breakfast in the restaurant which was quite good. Parking is valet and is outrageous at $50/night but that's fairly typical for Chicago. Fairly convenient to the el...about a 2-3 block walk.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that looks in on the inner courtyard if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Hotel Renaissance Blackstone took on a renovation several years ago. We had the opportunity to beneifit from that renovation. The hotel is lovely with a very European feel to it, especially the showers. Super clean rooms and beautiful surroundings would bring us back to this hotel. The beds were yummy.
The only short comings we saw was the bar, very small with little accommodations within the main restaurant. They did however have a smaller venue in the lower level that did work, but that too was very small and was not a full bar.

Room Tip: Nothing special, I believe they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dune acres indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Over the past several years this former landmark hotel has seen its fortunes nosedive and then soar. The refurbishing is subtle, well considered and gracious. The colors warm and the finishes very thoughtful. Our stay was comfortable and restful. The bathroom has a glass sliding door, which solves the always awkward problem of the door in a hotel bathroom. The shower has a single fixed glass partition and is large and bright. The rain head is a wonderful alternative to the awful ones we usually find in hotels. Interesting, smart art on the walls and in the corridors fit the ambiance perfectly. A small, but friendly cafe and a high end tapas restaurant supply the food. There is even an art sallery on the meeting room floor.The only drawback to this wonderful hotel is the surrounding area, still finding its way back from years of neglect. But good things are within walking distance and we highly recommend this historic hotel to all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just spend a wonderful Saturday night with friends at the Blackstone Hotel. This may be my new favorite hotel in Chicago! Our double room offered a fabulous view of the lake, the Natural History Museum and Planetarium to the south and Navy Pier to the north. The room was very spacious with white marble desk, night stands and a to die for b/w marble bathroom with european shower that was bigger than some downtown hotel rooms that I have stayed in. The beds are extremely comfy with down comforters and all white bedding. Very nicely done! Downstairs is a wonderful tapas restaurant, Mercat a la Planxa, that offers a great eating experience. Ask to be seated upstairs if you are seeking a quiet dinner since the restaurant is a bit loud. Also, if you are a fan of mojitos, the hotel bar offers the best in Chicago. We are repeat visitors just for the drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago", we are eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.