We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hen Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Hen Bakery
1623 N Milwaukee Ave, Chicago, IL 60647 (Wicker Park / Bucktown)
(773) 342-6823
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,860 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
Neighborhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped in for some awesome bread rolls for our road trip, wish we had have found it before! Such a great selection and the service was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've taken my parents to this place twice for breakfast. For about $20 you can get three medium hot drinks and three pastries. The coffee is good. This place has a nice selection of breads and pastries. We tried their bagels (slices, toasted and served with cream cheese), their butter croissants and their scones. Everything was fresh and tasty. They also have a few options for lunch - mainly sandwiches.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a nice quick lunch after visiting the Frank Lloyd Wright home and museum. The restaurant is between the L station and the home.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Terrible food. We had veggie sandwich and pesto chicken sandwich. Should have listened to bad reviews. Threw out barely eaten food. Waitress seemed genuinely sorry but made no mention of a refund. Oh well, lesson learned.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great soup and sandwiches. It appears to be a family owned place which has its own appeal. Regardless, the food was excellent. Maybe better than excellent.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hen Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Red Hen Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hen Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.