We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 2nd time around” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anteprima

Anteprima
5316 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60640-2114
773-506-9990
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Anteprima is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,510 of 8,383 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Summerdale & Berwyn
Transit: 22 Clark bus at Berwyn Ave or Red line at Berwyn, a ten minute walk west.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“The 2nd time around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After an awesome first-time experience, we returned to the loudest restaurant atmosphere we've ever suffered through. The food didn't stack up to our first, very delightful experience, reservations were running behind and the wait staff was indifferent at best. With 29 other restaurants nearby, we'll give some others a try next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Varied and interesting menu. Starter assortment is great as is the calamari. Reasonable wine list (although some of the by the glass selections were priced ridiculously high). Outdoor seating is lovely (of course not available on my most recent visit). Can get a little loud when very busy, but hardly enough to detract materially from the meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Starters SO Good!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

De-lish! Order an assortment of the starters and you will not be disappointed. Food and service are wonderful!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Sorry, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

To celebrate my birthday, my husband selected Anteprima, hoping to find an authentic Italian, neighborhood restaurant. When we walked in, we thought he had hit the mark. He started with a salmon carpaccio that was magnificent, served with capers, onions, and "lemon enhanced" Greek yogurt Unfortunately, it went downhill from there. My buffalo mozzarella with tomatoes, to my surprise, was served without olive oil or balsamic vinegar, and was garnished with three tiny pieces of basil. We both ordered small portions of the spaghetti with rock shrimp and tomatoes as an entree. When it was served to us, mine was the dinner portion, and both arrived without spoons for the pasta. The dish was so salty that we requested some marinara on the side, which totally irritated our waiter. In the end we were disappointed with the food and the service. Plus, although my husband noted that it was my birthday on our reservation, made via open table, two other birthdays that evening were acknowledged, but not mine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I don't know if they've gotten a new chef, or the chef last night just had a bad night, but the food was, by and large, not good. The octopus appetizer, which is usually the star of the show, was mushy, oversalted, low on octopus (!) and generally looked like it had been sitting in a pot for a good long while. The gnocci's suffered the same fate. Overcooked, mushy, with some shreds of duck (apparently, it was rather tasteless) that made for a very unappetizing looking and tasting dish. Is everything made fresh, or has this place gotten so used to it's reputatation that it's getting lazy? We are neighborhood people who love to eat here, but will NOT come back if the food goes down hill. Too expensive and noisy for bland, overcooked, mass produced food. Get it together Anteprima!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anteprima also viewed

 

Been to Anteprima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anteprima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.