We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempo Cafe

Tempo Cafe
6 E Chestnut St, Chicago, IL 60611-2012 (Gold Coast)
312-943-4373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 8,268 restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Boston
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Go for the Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Typical hotel breakfasts are buffet style or if ordered off the menu limited, both usually less than satisfying and tend to be pricey. We found Tempo after some research for alternative places in the Magnificent Mile area. It is supurb, great coffee, plentiful servings (really a skillet serving is enough for three healthy adults but is considered a serving!), friendly and quick service. The lines form after 8 AM so you may need to wait. if you like great tasting waffles, pancakes, or egg breakfasts, you need to get to Tempo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    136
    119
    34
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Keep Up The Tempo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Tempo Cafe is all about delicious breakfast skillets, orange marmalade and quick service. I had a three egg omelet with cheese and it came in the customary skillet with potatoes underneath the fluffy omelet - perfect for sharing. The orange marmalade is not to be missed. Great place when you are on the go in Chicago!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Diner type food in downtown Chicago.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice breakfast place. We tried a three-egg omelette, which was pretty good and came in a small frying pan. The hash browns that came with it were under the eggs, which kept them from being crispy, but they were fine otherwise.

We returned for dinner. Limited menu. The pork chops were overcooked. I had a chicken breast sandwich with avocado. They seemed to be skimping on the salt, though. I haven't added salt to the table in decades, but their food seemed to need it, so it was a bit bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“eat at the hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

breakfast was good if you like everything mixed together and of poor quality. Eggs were overcooked. Sausage greasy and the potatoes not edible.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

our bellman at the Talbot Hotel, the fabulous Dwayne, recommended the Tempo. we had breakfast here our last morning in town-----great pancakes! super service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tempo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.