We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempo Cafe

Tempo Cafe
6 E Chestnut St, Chicago, IL 60611-2012 (Gold Coast)
312-943-4373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 7,856 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Boston
Level Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go for the Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Typical hotel breakfasts are buffet style or if ordered off the menu limited, both usually less than satisfying and tend to be pricey. We found Tempo after some research for alternative places in the Magnificent Mile area. It is supurb, great coffee, plentiful servings (really a skillet serving is enough for three healthy adults but is considered a serving!), friendly and quick service. The lines form after 8 AM so you may need to wait. if you like great tasting waffles, pancakes, or egg breakfasts, you need to get to Tempo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    181
    44
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Keep Up The Tempo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Tempo Cafe is all about delicious breakfast skillets, orange marmalade and quick service. I had a three egg omelet with cheese and it came in the customary skillet with potatoes underneath the fluffy omelet - perfect for sharing. The orange marmalade is not to be missed. Great place when you are on the go in Chicago!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Diner type food in downtown Chicago.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice breakfast place. We tried a three-egg omelette, which was pretty good and came in a small frying pan. The hash browns that came with it were under the eggs, which kept them from being crispy, but they were fine otherwise.

We returned for dinner. Limited menu. The pork chops were overcooked. I had a chicken breast sandwich with avocado. They seemed to be skimping on the salt, though. I haven't added salt to the table in decades, but their food seemed to need it, so it was a bit bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“eat at the hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

breakfast was good if you like everything mixed together and of poor quality. Eggs were overcooked. Sausage greasy and the potatoes not edible.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

our bellman at the Talbot Hotel, the fabulous Dwayne, recommended the Tempo. we had breakfast here our last morning in town-----great pancakes! super service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tempo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.