We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempo Cafe

Tempo Cafe
6 E Chestnut St, Chicago, IL 60611-2012 (Gold Coast)
312-943-4373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 8,276 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Boston
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go for the Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Typical hotel breakfasts are buffet style or if ordered off the menu limited, both usually less than satisfying and tend to be pricey. We found Tempo after some research for alternative places in the Magnificent Mile area. It is supurb, great coffee, plentiful servings (really a skillet serving is enough for three healthy adults but is considered a serving!), friendly and quick service. The lines form after 8 AM so you may need to wait. if you like great tasting waffles, pancakes, or egg breakfasts, you need to get to Tempo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    136
    35
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Keep Up The Tempo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Tempo Cafe is all about delicious breakfast skillets, orange marmalade and quick service. I had a three egg omelet with cheese and it came in the customary skillet with potatoes underneath the fluffy omelet - perfect for sharing. The orange marmalade is not to be missed. Great place when you are on the go in Chicago!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Diner type food in downtown Chicago.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice breakfast place. We tried a three-egg omelette, which was pretty good and came in a small frying pan. The hash browns that came with it were under the eggs, which kept them from being crispy, but they were fine otherwise.

We returned for dinner. Limited menu. The pork chops were overcooked. I had a chicken breast sandwich with avocado. They seemed to be skimping on the salt, though. I haven't added salt to the table in decades, but their food seemed to need it, so it was a bit bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“eat at the hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

breakfast was good if you like everything mixed together and of poor quality. Eggs were overcooked. Sausage greasy and the potatoes not edible.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“great breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

our bellman at the Talbot Hotel, the fabulous Dwayne, recommended the Tempo. we had breakfast here our last morning in town-----great pancakes! super service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tempo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;