We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special combo pho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tank noodle

Tank noodle
4955 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #397 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“special combo pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is one of my favorite places for pho.
an inexpensive exotic restaurant
my review. I've yet to have a bad bowl here.
Portion size here is great.
The special combo pho was good -- nice, deep flavor from
the broth and it was loaded with everything.
They did not skimp on anything,
and I thought the $9.50 price for a large bowl was a good deal.Portion size here is great.
Plenty of brisket, tripe, tendon, and anything else
that was thrown in. It really hit the spot on a cold and
snowy day. For my money, this is the spot for pho
in chicago .
Overall, service was quick and friendly. The wait staff was attentive and I like that. As a baller on budget, very budget friendly.
I try to come by every chance I get.

I would recommend this to anyone who likes soups, Asian cuisine, or good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I came here due to good reviews and also recommendation from Lonely Planet. Unfortunately, I was not blown away by the food. I ordered the pork and prawn spring roll as a starter and got a normal pho. The food is normal as a normal Vietnamese food elsewhere in the west and there was nothing special hence the normal 3 star. I had better ones when I was Los Angeles. The ambience in the restaurant mimics a canteen. Not that I bothered much as I was there for the food. There are tons to choose from the menu though. Maybe I should have chose something else. Finished off quick and went to Sun Wah BBQ to check out the hype.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good pho!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

One of the best pho places in Chicago. I love this place because it is cheap and the pho broth is tasty!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Best Viet Food in the mid-west!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm a little bias since I'm Vietnamese ;0) Hands down best Vietnamese food in the mid-west!! Super huge selection...my favorite appetizers are the shrimp cake and bun xeo. Pho Ga is my favorite pho and today I tried the chao and didn't think it was as good as the pho. Love that they've got great customer service for a fast paced restaurant. If you're visiting Chicago, definitely seek this place out for Pho.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The ideal place for nice Vietnamese food. It is a nice & spacoius restaurant right next to Argyle CTA station (Just a few shops away from the Station exit). Must try their Pho if one is ever near that side. The service is very prompt with a friendly staff who are very helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tank noodle also viewed

 

Been to Tank noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tank noodle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.