We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516 (Lakeview)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #54 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
St. Louis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is a small, quaint, comfy little hotel which serves a very diverse community.

This is not a Streeterville or Loop kind of hotel but a very personal, friendly and accommodating Lakeview hotel. The staff will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. There are many places to get a bite to eat within a block from the front door.

The rooms are clean and well appointed with a french country feel. Free WiFi, flat panel television, fridge, microwave, continental breakfast and a great little patio to have your cup of coffee in the morning and people watch. The junior suites are very roomy with a DVD player and jacuzzi tub.

C lubing, Wrigley Field and the Red Line are all in walking distance making this little hotel a great retreat and a comfortable stay.

Love it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    173
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
117
116
47
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I recently stayed a night here with my boyfriend while visiting Chicago.
I can not say enough about the reception desk. They went above and beyond in helping us out with our travels. They even held our luggage on dates when we were not booked at the hotel.
The hotel is in the Wrigleyville section of Chicago which is a safe, residential neighborhood. Unfortunately the cubs were out of town the days we were there. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the train which will take you downtown. I would say the actual train ride into the touristy area of town is about 10-15 minutes. The trains in Chicago are simple to use, making them the best and most affordable way of getting around.
There is a little section of artsy, kinda hipster type stores and restaurants close to the hotel. We didn't check it out though because we were visiting friends in suburbia and only had one night in the city. We chose to see the Second City show which I highly recommend.
Upon entering the hallway to our room, there was a terrible smell. To this day, we have no idea what that smell was or why it was there. That would be the only negative about this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for an affordable option in this pricey city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Room was nice and modern and comfortable. They have a nice free gym and jacuzzi, and free internet and breakfast. Easy access to transit; walk to Wrigley field. Two complaints: 1. the air conditioner was very loud. When I complained, they asked me to call during the day when the maintenance guy was in, but of course I was out and about during the day so it never got addressed. 2. One of the desk clerks was very unfriendly (others were OK)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

The hotel is tucked away off a busy neighborhood street.The room- a junior suite was perfect. The front desk could have been more helpful wih bus schedules. 15 min walk to Wrigley Field. Parking garage next door was satisfactory. Breakfast selection was very small but eating outside on the terrace was really special. We were surprised that you had to request maid service and that it wasn't automatic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is the third consecutive year we've stayed at the Hawthorne Terrace over Pride weekend, and not the first time I have reviewed this property on tripadvisor.com. The hotel occupies a perfect location in Chicago's famed Boystown district for viewing the parade, shopping, eating, nightlife and more. It's also very convenient to Wrigley Field for a Cubs game, or Chicago's beautiful white sand beaches.

The rooms received an upgrade from last year, no more kitschy country Victorian decor. The rooms are now simple, modern earth tones with dark wood furniture. A very nice change!

It also seems to be a nice place to work, as year after year we see many of the same employees faces. And, year after year, many of the same guests come back for pride, pointing to the popularity of this well run establishment. The property also accepts pets (with a deposit), which is nice, because we like to bring both of our dogs into the city for the weekend. They get lots of attention from the staff (particularly from Jackie in housekeeping and Allen at the front desk, as well as other guests.

We've only had one 'hiccup' in the last three years and that was our final bill this time around. It was far more than what I was originally quoted, and had received a confirmation for. I brought this to the attention of the front desk, who then spoke with management, and my bill was quickly corrected. Kudos to an honest operation!

Do yourself a favor, next time you're in the area and need a place to stay, check in to the Hawthorne Terrace. We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010 via mobile

I got upgraded to one of the hotel's new suites. The room was spacious, clean, shiny, new and very well appointed. The location is perfect - very close to bars, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The hotel was perfect for us. The location is great, lots of restaurants in the area and only a few blocks from the Belmont redline subway station. The room, while somewhat small, was newly decorated with a decent flatscreen TV and a clean, modern bathroom. The entire stay was good. They have free complementary breakfast until 10:00AM and decent complimentary coffee served all day.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Address: 3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.