We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516 (Lakeview)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #53 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Milford, MI, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our son has cancer and we have made 14 trips to Chicago since last September. We have stayed the the Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel every time we have gone there to support our son with his cancer treatments. This staff is the most caring and accomodating I have ever come encountered with. The rooms are always clean and welcoming.
I couldn't ask for better people or a better place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. The suites are exceptionally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    160
    28
    16
    9
See reviews for
110
105
41
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Indiana, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Hawthorne Terrace is my preferred Chicago home away from home. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything I need to work and relax. The location is outstanding, with easy access to downtown and the outlying sites I visit during my almost weekly trips to Chicago.The area surrounding the hotel is vibrant, especially during the warm weather months!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is well maintained -Rooms are very clean. I stayed there twice, even though it is close to downtown its quite and calm .I would definitely stay there again when I am in Chicago next. But it is Slightly over priced. Breakfast has good options and the receptionists at the time of my visit were friendly and helpful.

If you are visiting Chicago... It is convenient to stay here , take buses to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visited here for the first time recently with some friends to catch a couple of Cubs games. This is a well kept older hotel with very professional and helpful staff. Not mush space in the rooms but it serves a purpose. They serve a basic hot breakfast in the morning that starts your day off right. My only real issue is the price they charge. Very high for what you get. They seem to be the only game in that vicinity so I guess they can charge what they like.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I landed in Chicago and my friend asked me to check into the Best Western Hawthorne Terrace. Not knowing what to expect, I got into a cab hoping and praying that it would be a neat and clean place. I was pleasantly surprised!! The building itself looks very quaint & cute (old world charm). The check in process was handled very smoothly by Ken. My last stop over was Vegas and people there were...well... rude!! and Ken was like a balm to all of those nasty experiences at Vegas. He was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The location is perfect. If you are sightseeing in Chicago, this is a good choice. The hotel is close to bus routes. The price is reasonable. They have a small lobby where they serve breakfast in the morning. Nothing fancy, but good enough to keep you going till lunch. The hotel is situated in an area which has many great restaurants. We are vegetarians and Ken suggested the "Chicago Diner" which was absolutely wonderful!! The hotel does not have any restaurants or in room dining, so if you are looking to just relax at a hotel and eat in, this is not the place for you. If you want a place which feels like home and some warmth on your trip I strongly recommend this hotel. Thank you Ken for making us feel looked after!! God bless!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent three nights and there was more than enough room for four in the two bedroom suite. So awesome to have full kitchen. Having breakfast there in the morning was a great perk. Amazing restaurants in the area and lake Michigan one block away. Great patio in front for relaxing and wonderful people watching. Only drawback is bathroom would be better self contained as sink was out in the open area. Would highly recommend this place. It is in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Address: 3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.