We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516 (Lakeview)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #54 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For our stay in Chicago we did not require us to be in the center of town so we decided to try this charming hotel. Location wise it was in a good neighborhood and didn't experience any problems at all. Locally there are lots of shops and services around, Belmont red line a short walk away. We actually ended up walking into Central Chicago by Lincoln Park (zoo!), a good couple of hours walk. We also saw a lot of buses that went towards Belmont.

Room 105 was larger than expected with a desk and nice armchair. No issues with the bathroom. The room in general was very clean and house keeping was good on our 2 night stay. Coffee pod machine and a large fridge in the room which was handy to keep your own snacks.

Breakfast was provided in the lobby area with a small selection to get you started for the day. Due to limited space in the lobby we took it back to our room to eat.

My friend used the gym and it was good for a workout.

Next to the hotel is a car parking garage and after that there is a Treasure Island supermarket with a vast range of food.

If you are visiting Chicago for the gay nightlife in Boystown it is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    173
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
117
116
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are headed for Chicago, on a budget, and do not need to be on a train line or on the Magnificent Mile, this is a nice neighborhood hotel. Most cab fares to downtown locations are about $15. Great breakfast place, Anne Sather's, across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location Location Location. If this location is good for you, this is a great choice. This is an older property that has been completely renovated so it's got the old-fashioned charm with the updated decor and amenities (in the room). There isn't much common space and the breakfast is in a somewhat smallish area in the entryway but that's my only ding. The workout room has 3-4 machines and a nice whirlpool. You can park nextdoor in the garage for $22/night I believe. That was very handy. We had a 2 Queen Jr Suite which was in the main building - there's another building right next door. The beds were comfy, the living area with sofa had it's own flat screen tv, desk - and the bathroom was updated with a nice granite countertop. Bath wasn't large but 3 girls shared it! I travel ALOT and I'm picky about safety cleanliness and updated decor - this was a very good property.

Room Tip: there are rooms in the main building and rooms in the building next door - if you want to be in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace on October 19-22, 2012. This was my second stay. This isn't a stuffy hotel, where the staff is unapproachable. Let me say, I called the hotel about a month before the stay, to see if there were any less expensive rates available. Ken answered, and was so friendly, witty, and personable. He gave me a great rate. My boyfriend and I stayed in the annex, in a junior suite. Check-in was fast and friendly. Every morning, breakfast is provided. It typically consists of: pastries, biscuits, oat meal, eggs, and sausage. Juice and coffee are provided. The rooms are very clean, spacious, and pretty. Although, the beds are a little hard. The bathrooms are spacious, and the toiletries smell great.The housekeepers are typically smiling. It's eerie how friendly this place is. Hehe.

The area is awesome. It's located in Lakeview/Boystown. There is a great bar up the street called Jacqueline's, that is a little whole in the wall, but the bartender was great, attentive, and friendly. A restaurant that I particularly loved, was called, (I believe) The Melrose. It's a diner type place, with a great grilled cheese. Most of the restaurants are BYOB (bring your own bottle), so keep that in mind, if you're wanting wine or beer with dinner. There are tons of shops, you're just a few blocks away from the CTA Red line. Also, the neighborhood offers a great walk.

There was a minor hiccup after check-out, but I won't go into that. I don't want that to detract from the review of the hotel. But, I will say this: the staff at this hotel went out of their way to correct the mistake, and even through that, I will return to this hotel. Accountability, friendly and smart service speak volumes to me. I won't stay anywhere else in Chicago, besides Best Western Hawthorne Terrace. It's economical, clean, convenient, and awesome. If they handed out kittens at check-in, only then, would it be better. ;)

Room Tip: I really enjoy staying in the annex. The windows open (not sure if this is the case in the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were disappointed that a huge conference had all the downtown hotels booked. This hotel was the most affordable we could find within a few miles of most major attractions. What a wonderful surprise! We fell in love with neighborhood, and the Best Western is extremely pleasant, too. I especially liked the excellent Fitness Room, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and the patio along Broadway, but a delightful place to sit [for either breakfast or relaxing] because it's separated by tall hedges and feels private. Breakfast really is basic, but convenient, and in good weather -- al fresco. The room was fine, nothing elaborate but we were quite comfortable.
I'll stay here anytime I'm in Chicago because of the location. 1 long scenic block from Lincoln Park and the Lake. Great for jogging, biking, walking, boat-watching, picnic. We discovered several nearby buses that frequently go anywhere of interest, scenically. A 10-minute walk to Red Line at Addison [next to Wrigley Field] or to Belmont where several lines converge, were also very handy.
Close to lots of restaurants on busy Halstead Street, and the outstanding Ann Sather, right across the street, provided an outstanding lunch one day. A nice supermarket is two doors away.
My last Chicago trip was for a conference, and I stayed at the outstanding Hotel Monaco right at the River. But for vacations, I prefer to be a mile or two from any central tourist area, so I can see how "real people" live in the city I'm visiting. And this Best Western was perfect for our preference. If you don't need to be downtown and want to get the feel of an actual neighborhood, I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to stay in a northern neighborhood and this fit our needs. Red line is within walking distance and there are plenty of buses. Near Wrigleyville. Rooms were clean and staff was helpful. Breakfast was basic continental ( the cinnamon rolls come from a restaurant down the block and are especially tasty). Only complaint was that there is very limited seating for breakfast (we ended up eating at the computer desk one morning). Overall good stay and I would stay again---although not if I planned to spend the majority of my time in the loop/ Michigan Ave area because it takes a good half hour by transit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were in town for Dave Matthews Band concerts and Hawthorne Terrace was the perfect place! I booked a 2-bedroom suite and, can't imagine staying anywhere else.. At first it seemed strange to stay in the annex building(next to the main hotel) but I soon loved it for the private entrance, and ease to our room. The building is actually apartments converted to suites. It was very spacious and comfortable with a kitchenette, dining table(plate service for 4), and couch with tv. The temperature in our room was consistently just right, much appreciated during the chilly, rainy weather happening outside. Once the sun appeared we went out walking to all the shops nearby. There seemed to be a number of restaurants on the street too. This hotel is ultra convenient to Wrigley(about 5 blocks). The beds were incredibly comfortable as well! Continental breakfast is served until 10 AM in a private, little area. I hope to be in the area again to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Address: 3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.