We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516 (Lakeview)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #54 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel is in a nice residential area with lots of restaurant choices nearby. A good alternative to big hotels downtown. Friendly staff. The room was updated, although small and had a view into the parking garage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    173
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
117
116
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked a King Suite. There was just a king size bed with nothing suite about it. All they had was a smoking room and it did smell of smoke :-(. Breakfast was a B- - but there was a Starbucks next door which made up for it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Newly renovated!! And nicely done. Very comfortable, clean and quiet. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I checked in on Friday afternoon and got the room#114 which was at the end of the hall way near the gym. I went out then came back at night around 8pm then started to realize there was some kind pump noise on and off from the next room. I asked the front desk and the staff told me it was from the water heater pump. As long as someone in the building use the water, then the pump will go on. It will go off eventually if no one use the water in the building. The guy told me the hotel was fully booked so I could not switch the room at that night.

At around 1am, I could not sleep at all because the noise was still on and off intermittently. I complained to the front desk again, a different staff checked the computer then switched the room for me. It was strange I could not switch the room earlier. More strangely, the hotel staffs well understood the noise problem when I complained. They still rent the room and expect some customers might not complain so they can rip off those customers.

The new room was quite and nice. The free WiFI and breakfast were also good. I would give the hotel a 5 stars if I didn't get in the first room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

If you dont wish to stay in downtown Chicago, and Lakeview is your favorite part of town, you cant go wrong with this place... very clean, comfy, little breakfast and great location.. so dont be discouraged by the best western sign, its way better !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had a horrible time picking a Chicago area hotel since there are so many boutique ones when I was to be traveling with my two teenagers for a concert. I initially picked this one because of the Best Western name, but it was not what I would say is a typical Best Western it was better. The parking which I had read was challenging was very easy and the people were still friendly even though we moved our chair several times in the short time we were there. When we saw the hotel from the outside we were a little nervous, but the rooms were VERY nice. Spacious, clean and safe. Traveling alone with two teenage girls I was impressed when we came in that one of the front desk folks who didn't recognize us actually stopped us to be sure we were guests. I would recommend for any type of traveler.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Address: 3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.