We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Violet Hour

The Violet Hour
1520 N Damen Ave, Chicago, IL 60622-1967 (Wicker Park / Bucktown)
773-252-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 8,295 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The decor was beautiful, the high backed chairs are awesome. The drink menu is very extensive, and the drink I did get was delicious. I wish they had the option of bartender's choice that I've become used to in a typical speakeasy, but that would not stop me from returning here ASAP.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Beware of the young lad with a bad beard pretending to be important because he had an apron on. A rude, aggressive, discourteous no mark who mishandled a situation so bad that it was laughable. We left, and no one we know will be going back.

Avoid Violet Hour, which has his head up it's **** when there are so many good places in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, great drinks an good service. last two trips to Chicago though there was an hour wait. And it's just a drink, so we went elsewhere

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big space- set cocktail menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I liked the place and the fact their offered snacks since i went with my cousin who doesnt drink (they made her a virgin drink). But i wasn't impressed by the fact that they only stuck to the cocktails on the menu- in DC for example, they have a menu, but they also can make you something improvised depending on your taste and what kinda thing you feel like drinking. I wanted a drink with a hint of spicy, with whiskey, but he only offered me the one with Tequila that was on the menu and didn't impsovise....nonetheless our guy Andrew was very nice and the drinks were delicious. The olive jar was huge and good olives!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleVie_5
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cocktails, decor and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

What drew me to the Violet Hour was the stunningly beautiful decor. The cocktails and staff will keep us returning. My only complaint is the seating next to the fireplace. I felt as if I was going to melt.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Violet Hour also viewed

 

Been to The Violet Hour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Violet Hour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.