We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, homey and very suitable for our family of 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Park Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lincoln Park Oasis
Save
You added Lincoln Park Oasis to your Saves list
1219 W Draper St, Chicago, IL 60614 (DePaul)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Special
Ranked #17 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Comfortable, homey and very suitable for our family of 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We rented the upstairs unit which included 4 bedrooms. We found the unit to be in good condition and clean. Nice, quiet neighborhood, close to the "L", local restaurants, bar, starbucks and grocery. We have teenagers but if you have little ones, there is a real nice playground right on the corner of the street. Great location to catch a game at Wrigley, only a couple stops away on the L. The rental process is pretty straightforward, we received our deposit back within a day of returning home and the staff was curteous and professional. All in all, a great deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
26
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice three level apartment with separate entrances for the basement and first/second levels.
There is also a back door entrance with indoor access to the first and second levels.

Stayed on the first (3 bedrooms) and second (3 bedrooms and den with a bed) levels with a large group of adults and kids. Rooms were large in size and both had a full kitchens with working fridges, dishwashers, microwaves, washing machine and dryer on each floor. Cabinets had plates, bowls, cups and kitchen utensils. There was also a fully stocked linen closets (first level is inside of the room with sliding doors across the kitchen. The floors are a bit creaky, but this is an older house so it is expected.

Place is equipped with WiFi as well or you can venture over to the Starbucks on the corner.

If you are travelling with kids, there is a very clean playground with corked/rubber in the play area instead of sand or wood chips and it is well lit at night too. The neighborhood is quiet as the apartment is on a dead end street with ample free parking (parking permit(s) is provided with rental). Make note that the yellow stickers are good for a 24 hour period and must be displayed on windshield after 6:00 PM to avoid a ticket.

Restaurants and other amenities are within a short walking distance... made use of Starbucks daily. The walk to the L train (Fullerton) is not that bad. It was a good 8-10 minutes with kids in tow and not as bad as another reviewer mentioned.

Our group made use of the Gaslight Bar and Grille a couple of nights and a drinks only night. The menu was great and so was the food, hence the repeat.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, book the second floor as you will hear noise if you are in the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Words can not really express how great this place is. Great location, easy access to downtown chicago. Close to public transportation: buses and train. Street Parking available
The neighborhood is very calm, safe and peaceful. The owner is exceptional, readily available when needed.
Easy access to 90/94 and Lake Shore Drive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were booking late for a busy week in Chicago and all our regular options were fully booked up. So, we turned to this 'oasis'. It was not in an ideal location because it is a distance from the L. However, it seemed nice and most of the previous complaints were around booking, so we thought we would give her a chance.

We were offered to two flats, described as being equivalent except for size. We did not need the bigger one, so we opted for the smaller or the two, which was cheaper. We were advised that we would receive an apartment for 1 week in excellent condition. It was simply smaller. The advertisement for the flat shows a well appointed apartment. We received a dingy basement with peeling paint that was dirty and in poor condition. There were soiled paper towels in the bathroom and the shower, which we picked up because we thought we were stuck. Finally, we were so appalled with condition of the place, we called the merchant to let her know that we were leaving, describing the condition of the apartment as being below standard. We were forced to find other accommodation at very short notice and extended cost.

The owner apologised to my wife for our dissatisfaction, claiming she did not know the condition of the flat. My wife suggested painting,cleaning it, better furniture and bedding and clearer advertising to ensure future clients did not leave. We have submitted a dispute to Paypal for refund and she has countered stating, we owe her money,and that last minute refunds are not available. She now states that while not 'five star', the place was acceptable. Curiously, the amount is in excess of what we would have paid for the remainder of the rent.They are reviewing the case. I use PayPal for safety and support. Let's see where this takes us.

Good business people realize that if the buyer perceives the goods as substandard, you accept it, refund and move on. Your reputation as a business is far more important than one client. I think the seller in trying to get more money from us for unacceptable goods speaks volumes about her commitment to her guests and sadly her premises, which is reflected in the condition of the basement apartment.

I have rented places in Turkey, Europe and the US. This is my first experience with the bait and switch tactics your read about. Earlier in this discussion, the funds were not the issue, the principle was.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A group of seven of us (three adults, a teenager, two tween boys, and a toddler) stayed in Unit 1 (first floor) for a three-night visit to Chicago, and we had a great time -- super location, a good amount of space for our group, and wonderful to have an opportunity to relax in a homey setting. The park practically next door is fabulous for little kids, and the el and the grocery store were a quick walk away. This was a great find for our group.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

Great place to stay and great owners. We had everything needed in the apartment. The location is perfect if you want to stay in a nice and quite area and at the same time not far from the loop. Very recommendable if you travel with children

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We rented all three units to attend a Chicago wedding, it was perfect! The units are clean and well furnished, with plenty of space to house all 12 of us. The owner was very responsive to all our concerns and even drove over on the first night when we locked ourselves out of one of the units. Definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lincoln Park Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Park Oasis

Address: 1219 W Draper St, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > DePaul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features 3 "independent" self-catering units in the same building with fully functional kitchens. Coffee, tea, snacks, toiletries and all linen provided. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Park Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.