We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Peaceful and Accessible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Park Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lincoln Park Oasis
Save
You added Lincoln Park Oasis to your Saves list
1219 W Draper St, Chicago, IL 60614 (DePaul)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fun, Peaceful and Accessible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Words can not really express how great this place is. Great location, easy access to downtown chicago. Close to public transportation: buses and train. Street Parking available
The neighborhood is very calm, safe and peaceful. The owner is exceptional, readily available when needed.
Easy access to 90/94 and Lake Shore Drive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
26
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were booking late for a busy week in Chicago and all our regular options were fully booked up. So, we turned to this 'oasis'. It was not in an ideal location because it is a distance from the L. However, it seemed nice and most of the previous complaints were around booking, so we thought we would give her a chance.

We were offered to two flats, described as being equivalent except for size. We did not need the bigger one, so we opted for the smaller or the two, which was cheaper. We were advised that we would receive an apartment for 1 week in excellent condition. It was simply smaller. The advertisement for the flat shows a well appointed apartment. We received a dingy basement with peeling paint that was dirty and in poor condition. There were soiled paper towels in the bathroom and the shower, which we picked up because we thought we were stuck. Finally, we were so appalled with condition of the place, we called the merchant to let her know that we were leaving, describing the condition of the apartment as being below standard. We were forced to find other accommodation at very short notice and extended cost.

The owner apologised to my wife for our dissatisfaction, claiming she did not know the condition of the flat. My wife suggested painting,cleaning it, better furniture and bedding and clearer advertising to ensure future clients did not leave. We have submitted a dispute to Paypal for refund and she has countered stating, we owe her money,and that last minute refunds are not available. She now states that while not 'five star', the place was acceptable. Curiously, the amount is in excess of what we would have paid for the remainder of the rent.They are reviewing the case. I use PayPal for safety and support. Let's see where this takes us.

Good business people realize that if the buyer perceives the goods as substandard, you accept it, refund and move on. Your reputation as a business is far more important than one client. I think the seller in trying to get more money from us for unacceptable goods speaks volumes about her commitment to her guests and sadly her premises, which is reflected in the condition of the basement apartment.

I have rented places in Turkey, Europe and the US. This is my first experience with the bait and switch tactics your read about. Earlier in this discussion, the funds were not the issue, the principle was.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A group of seven of us (three adults, a teenager, two tween boys, and a toddler) stayed in Unit 1 (first floor) for a three-night visit to Chicago, and we had a great time -- super location, a good amount of space for our group, and wonderful to have an opportunity to relax in a homey setting. The park practically next door is fabulous for little kids, and the el and the grocery store were a quick walk away. This was a great find for our group.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

Great place to stay and great owners. We had everything needed in the apartment. The location is perfect if you want to stay in a nice and quite area and at the same time not far from the loop. Very recommendable if you travel with children

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We rented all three units to attend a Chicago wedding, it was perfect! The units are clean and well furnished, with plenty of space to house all 12 of us. The owner was very responsive to all our concerns and even drove over on the first night when we locked ourselves out of one of the units. Definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

"The place was perfect for our family reunion. The location was ideal, with easy access to public transportation and the perfect community park just yards from the flat. The place is located along a street with no outlet, so there was no traffic (on the downside, though, it is a bit tough to turn a large vehicle around). The Lincoln Park neighborhood is scenic and attractive, and we enjoyed walks taking in the neighborhood architecture. The flat was clean with plenty of space for a large party to come together. We had an unfortunate emergency that delayed our arrival, and Rem was perfectly understanding and empathetic, ensuring we had access very late in the evening and communicating a degree of concern with our delay. Overall, I would highly recommend this site to others looking for a lovely, modest, clean place to meet with friends or family."

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

we really enjoyed our stay in this house. It was perfect. Chicago is an amazing city. We will not hesitate to convince our friends to visit it and to appreciate this rent. Luc and Co (a french family)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lincoln Park Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Park Oasis

Address: 1219 W Draper St, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > DePaul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features 3 "independent" self-catering units in the same building with fully functional kitchens. Coffee, tea, snacks, toiletries and all linen provided. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Park Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.