We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property in a super location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Coast Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Coast Guest House
113 West Elm St, Chicago, IL 60610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Chicago B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Charming property in a super location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent three nights at the Gold Coast Guest House in mid-October. Had a wonderful time.
We flew into O'Hare and it was a piece of cake taking the CTA to within a block of the Gold Coast. The location is close to Michigan Ave the Lake Michigan in a quiet neighborhood with lots of personality. There was an outstanding neighborhood market on Saturday just a block away.

The Guest House is lovely and Sally Baker, the owner couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Our room was spotless, attractive and well appointed.

Thumbs up all the way around.

Sally told us about two restaurants that were outstanding. Our favorite was Picolo Sogno Due which is walkable ( ie 20 minutes) or reachable by cab or bus. Be sure to make a reservation...this place is popular in a good sort of way. The second restaurant is Bistro Zinc, just a few blocks from the Gold Coast. Another place where it's a good idea to make a reservation.

We live in Minneapolis and it's easy to take Chicago for granted as we plan more "exotic" trips. Chicago is a World Class city and when we return we know just where to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
53
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here while visiting a friend who lives nearby. Sallie, the hostess is very nice and thoughtful and gave us good directions to locate the B&B and there is a parking garage right next door as we were driving. She provided us with a map of the area and also some restaurant suggestions. The B&B is on the Near North Side of Chicago and we were able to walk to wherever we wanted to go. Our room was immaculate, there was a sitting area and was very quiet. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like to get up in the middle of the night to fix a cup of tea, request the room near the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sally is as helpful and knowledgable as all the reviews I'd read indicated, and the B&B is beautiful. Our top floor room was pretty and comfortable. That spiral staircase is worth mentioning, if you've got luggage. We really appreciated having constant access to a computer, and the availability of refreshments all day long. The location is convenient -- around the corner from a CTA station, and a few blocks from Michigan Avenue. I was sorry the September weather was too cold and damp for us to enjoy the very appealing rear garden.

We were expecting a B&B, though, and were a little disappointed. The great thing about a B&B is the chance to meet and talk with people from all over the world -- often highlights of our trips -- and since there was no set time for breakfast, we never even saw any of the other guests. It's also fun to chat with owners of the B&Bs we stay at, but at Gold Coast Sally is only there at certain hours, so if you have questions at other times, you're on your own if you didn't think of them when you last saw her.

On my previous Chicago visit, I'd done a Gold Coast walking tour, so I had a good idea of the kind of area I'd be in. The Guest House is very near, but not quite in, the fabled Gold Coast sections.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friend and I were visiting Chicago from NYC when Hurricane Sandy hit and we were unable to get home on our originally scheduled flight. Our itinerary was to stay at the Gold Coast Guest House for two nights, but we ended up there for five since we couldn't get home. Sally Baker, the owner, could not have been more helpful or gracious in extending our stay and helping us with ideas for things to do.

Neighborhood: Perfect location for a city visit. Everything you could want within a block or two, including terrific restaurants, shopping on Michigan Ave. & Oak Street, lakefront walks and the elegant Drake Hotel for afternoon tea. The red subway line is a block away and is only a few short stops to the Loop, where you can transfer to other subway lines. There is a CVS and a large grocery store one block away. (I would also highly recommend the Urban Oasis spa, about two blocks away. Great massage therapists and reasonable prices.)

The inn: Charming, modern and very comfortable, with artwork of local architecture hanging on the walls and classical music quietly playing in the livingroom. Gorgeous backyard garden which makes the house feel like an oasis in such an urban environment. The spiral staircase (leading to the upper floors and dining area) may prevent some from staying above the ground floor, but it adds to the charm of the very vertical house. Our second-floor twin room had a pretty view of the tree-lined street, incredibly comfortable mattresses and a roomy bathroom with full-sized bath amenities and plush towels. The room also had a small television and carefully chosen furniture and home accessories to make the room feel more charming and homey.
The inn has free wifi, a shared computer and 24/7 access to the kitchen, which was stocked with healthy snack foods, chocolates, a variety of tea and a Keurig coffee machine.
The breakfast table is shared with other guests, so be prepared for a bit of socializing. Breakfast each morning included healthy cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, oatmeal, bagels & on our last day, a pear and cranberry pie from a nearby bakery. There is no food made to order here or a cook. But that frees you up to have breakfast exactly when and how you like, with no specific mealtimes or menus.

Sally is the ideal inn proprieter: helpful and friendly without being hovery or intrusive. She offered us the use of her laundry room when she discovered that we were unable to get home and one evening she brought a bottle of champagne for us to share with another couple that had just arrived.

After five nights at the inn, I felt very much at home and looked forward to returning our comfortable room in the evenings to relax and have a cup of tea or a glass of wine. I travel for business a great deal and often hotel rooms feel impersonal and designed for looks rather than comfort. This experience was just the opposite. It felt as though I was staying in my own home. I highly recommend the Gold Coast Guest House to anyone who wants a more personal experience in a fantastic Chicago neighborhood!

Room Tip: -If you have trouble with stairs, stay on the ground floor. The spiral staircase is the only way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from a 5 day stay at the Gold Coast Guest House in Chicago. Sally, the proprietor, extended a warm welcome and offered great advice and suggestions for restaurants, sight seeing and just enjoying the city. The property is conveniently located in a neighborhood of shops and restaurants and is very near public transportation, both bus and train. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable and breakfast plentiful. Even though our ground floor room faced the street, it was quiet and peaceful -- which we appreciated after a day of hustle and bustle. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the lovely garden (which is show cased by windows that extend the height of the building) and chatting with other guests in the common sitting area. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The spiral staircase can be a challenge for those with heavy luggage, so the ground floor room (thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have just arrived home after 7 nights at the Gold Coast Guest House in Chicago, and what a wonderful stay that was!
This place is exellent! Sally, the owner, and the girls working for her, are so friendly and accomodating. Sally also has all this tips about what to do and where to eat.
The house is a short walk from the Mag Mile, the CTA Red Line is just around the corner and there are several buslines passing through the neigbourhood. There are shops and plenty of places to eat nearby. The location is very good in my mind.
We had the double room. The room was spotless! So was the rest of the house, by the way. The room was of good size and the beds were very comfy. The bathroom was very well equipped with all you needed.
You fix your own breakfast, but the table is set for you and you have plenty of healthy alternatives to choose from.
If I should give just one negative comment, it must be about the spiral staircase. That is a bit tricky. But to be quite honest, the stairs is only a problem when you are bringing the suitcases up and down. And Sally and the girls are more than willing to give you a hand.
If I'm ever in Chicago again, I will certainly know where to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Let me start out by saying that I have been intending to write this review since February this year. My business partner and I stayed at Gold Coast Guest House for two days while taking care of personal business at the Italian Consulates Office (600 Block of Michigan Ave.) Can't say enough about the location. You can walk 1 block North and grab a Starbucks coffee and than head 3 blocks South and purchase a brand new Audi at the dealership. The first night we were there as we were walking back, I said, "would'nt it be nice to have a Gyro sandwich to take back to the room. Well, guess what? There is was a block away. What a great neighborhood!!!
The Guest House itself was great too! Once again, can not say enough. When we made the reservation I requested a room on the top floor. The reason is because I Iike sleeping with the blinds open when ever in the city. So we had the 3rd floor street view which was great. Comfortable bed, quiet insulated windows, calm and peaceful. The shower was huge and stocked with really great quality products as well.
Breakfast was light which is perfect for us. Healthy cereal, blood oranges, pastries, coffees and an assortment of juices. In my opinion; if your in a city like Chicago you want to enjoy all it has to offer and that includes restaurants too. I choose not to stuff myself at the Hotel or BnB I am staying at. But, the best part was getting up every morning, sitting at the breakfast table, having a cup of coffee and staring out of the two story window looking over the city garden. That alone was worth staying there. LOVED IT! LOVED IT! Oh did I mention We LOVED IT!
As a last note we tried to book the Gold Coast Guest House again earlier this summer and all rooms were sold for the time frame we were looking at. So until next time.
Looking forward to the next stay at the "Greatest Guest House in the Windy City".

Room Tip: Stayed on the 3rd floor, street view. There is a 3rd floor room with the garden view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gold Coast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Guest House

Address: 113 West Elm St, Chicago, IL 60610
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1880's Victorian row house, (rated AAA 3 Diamond!), is conveniently located four blocks to the lakefront & Michigan Avenue/Magnificent Mile. Guests enjoy a bountiful continental breakfast with many organic offerings, while viewing the lush two-level garden through the 20 foot window wall. Garage parking and health club access available. Museums, cafes, night life, all within walking. Our walkability rates 98/100! We want you to love Chicago as much as we do! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Guest House Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Coast Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gold Coast Guest House to your Saves list