We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Nice property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The lobby area is large, with a television, and plenty of tables spread throughout. The rooms here are large and clean. Request an upper floor, which provides a nice view. The fitness center is located on the top floor, has plenty of space, and provides a nice view. The pool area is also nice. Housekeeping was thorough, and took care of all of our requests. The breakfast area is located off the lobby, and the staff was extremely pleasant. The presentation was very large and the hours during the week and the weekend were appropriate, especially when compared with other properties that end breakfast at 9:00 or 9:30 on a Saturday. The property is located within walking distance to many places. The staff does a wonderful job maintaining this property and taking care of the guests. Do not think twice about staying at this property, it is better than other Marriott "full service" properties in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so very much for the excellent 5-Star review! I am so happy to hear you really enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for mentioning how you felt our property is better than the larger "full service" Marriotts. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    227
    42
    19
    6
See reviews for
333
154
31
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stay in hotels roughly 300 nights per year with my line of work and this is my first ever written review. I normally choose not to leave feedback on forums like this but feel that I had to call out the incredible service provided during the breakfast buffet by Ismeta and Chandra. Genuine, caring, and personable. Their level of enthusiasm and hard work is unmatched and I look forward to seeing them when I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
What a very nice review! I am so glad you decided to write down your thoughts about our great associates, Ismeta and Chandra. I will be sharing these very kind words to the rest of the hotel and celebrating their accomplishments. Thank you again and we hope to have you back at our hotel!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have 2 young kids and stayed here from a Weds. through Saturday. Great location! (Within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and sites). Great breakfast! Clean rooms! More than anything the service was unbeatable! From the front desk associates to the door man, everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. One very special person to us was Ismeta. She was so lovely to us, especially to our children. She went above and beyond every morning to make us feel special and loved.

We will not hesitate to book this hotel again when we come back for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 4-Star review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sharing your comments about Ismeta with the rest of the staff! She truly embraces "above and beyond" better than any associate I have ever encountered. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I really felt very happy with the service given by staff at Hotel Especially Chandra who helped me a lot to serve the breakfast, He had very good patience and helping nature. Appreciate Chandra's help and keep up the Good job.

Thanks to Management and staff for all the good luck

Mahesh

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for your extremely kind words about Chandra! I will be sharing this review with the rest of the staff so they all can hear of the great job Chandra did during your stay! Thank you and we hope to have you back!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here the wknd of Valentine's Day & thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. GOOD: The check-in/check-out was easy, the FD staff, concierge/ bell men were very nice & helpful. The location was great b/c we were amidst everything downtown. There's this restaurant across the street called "Rosebud's" which is absolutely amazing! -a little bit pricey, but definitely worth it. The complimentary breakfast buffet downstairs was an added bonus along w/ the kitchenette setup in the room. The room was a nice size, not bad for a KING room in a downtown hotel. BAD: the elevators are very small, no more than 4 people should be on it. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay & will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review! I truly hope your Valentine's Day weekend was a memorable one. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We're three young girls in our early to mid twenties traveling around the US from England. We were originally going to stay at this hotel for three nights, but after the first day, we changed the entire layout of the trip to stay an extra few days. The hotel is beautiful, our room was great, but what really made our stay as good as it has been was the customer service! Everyone at reception was so lovely and accomodating, always friendly and had answers to all our tourist-y questions, whether it was directions to landmarks, taxi prices or take away-food menues!

The breakfast was beautiful, with plenty of vegetarian options, and the breakfast service was MAGNIFICENT! Ismeta, the lovely breakfast host, welcomes everyone, is so genuinely kind and accomodating and makes sure no one leaves without a freshly made waffle! I cannot stress enough how pleased we are with this, and how she made our mornings every day!

To conclude - nice, clean rooms (we had a beautiful view over the city as well), central location and brilliant staff. Not a bad word to say, and I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am so happy you decided to stay a little longer and truly get to see the beautiful city of Chicago. Our staff works hard to help out out-of-town guests who have questions about the city. I am so glad you were well taken care of. Thank you again and we hope you decide to make another trip to downtown Chicago!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have statyed for couple of weeks here ..its good hotel..you can try your hands in kitchen ..while enjoying the morning breakfast dine in/to go...social evening from Monday to Wednesday ...and you have other taste buds close by ..
Staff members were very cooperative ..especially I got the help from Chandra...
Even though I had initial check in issues ...truely enjoyed my stay of 2 weeks happily..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for the very nice review! I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your staying with us for 2 weeks! Thank you again and we truly hope to have you back at the hotel!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You and each suite has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our suites also have flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free daily hot breakfast, and 24-hour gym. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.