We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Stay Here !!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Stay Here !!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel offers excellent service in all areas. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to serve you. There is a buffet breakfast included and on Tues, Wed & Thurs evenings 6:30-7:30pm they offer a complementary, simple dinner option, if you are at the hotel at this time. The location is excellent and the hotel rates are very reasonable, considering how expensive hotels in Chicago can be. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. We were very happy with all aspects of our hotel experience and would stay here again any time we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
WOW! We are so pleased by the experience you had at our hotel. Reviews like this is why we strive to be the best everyday. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    179
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
264
125
26
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here in a one-bedroom for a week right before the July 4th holiday and the location is just terrific. We stay in a lot of Residence Inns as we love the kitchens, free breakfasts and pull-our couch with our two little guys. I had read previous TripAdvisor reviews and we asked for a higher floor. We were on 15 and wish we were just a bit higher. Anything 15 or under is going to having views of a parking garage or other building. We didn’t have any issues with street noise but the cell reception in the room was really poor. The room was a bit smaller than other Residence Inn’s we’ve been in but, hey, this is Chicago.

The breakfast was your standard fare with eggs, waffles, etc. The woman running it, though, was superb. She helped us find seats, would bring us over the waffles when the lines were super long and was just so super friendly. It was crazy busy every morning, though, so plan accordingly. There is an Einstein Bagel connected to the lobby and we did that a couple times when we couldn’t quite get down there before 9 a.m. for the free breakfast.

There’s a pool on the top floor with a hot tub area. It’s not big but enough for our kids to enjoy. A workout room is right behind it so you could actually work out and keep an eye on your kids if you wanted. All in all a good option in a great area.

Room Tip: Get above the 15th floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are glad to hear your stay was great. We are glad to hear your trip to Chicago was perfect at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I agree with the last reviews! The staff was very friendly and helpful for any of our needs. The parking garage is connected to the hotel and an easy walk to the lobby. The location of the hotel itself is great,making an easy walk to many attractions and or the public transportation. we were greeted with the nicest and friendly staff for breakfast and I do agree something needs to be done about coffee as it was very very weak almost like brown water. Yes we will come back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a chance to experience our great staff. We all love to serve our guests. We will look into the coffee experience you had at breakfast.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was in walking distance to everything. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Hallways and public areas also very clean. Friendly staff. The flow of traffic at breakfast is somewhat difficult to maneuver but nice variety of food and beverages. The breakfast attendant was the sweetest person I met in all of Chicago. Parking was $45 p/day and the garage was connected to the hotel. Pool / hot tub / gym were all very clean and easily accessible. I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel. As a travel agent, I will suggest this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Clean and Friendly is our hotel mission and we seem to have achieved it with your experience. We are glad to hear your trip to Chicago was great. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently with spouse and a kid. King bed was very comfortable. Staff service was friendly and efficient, especially during breakfast and potluck dinners daily. Having a parking lot directly behind the hotel was one of the best feature, as it makes moving luggage in/out of cars to/from guest rooms very easy. Hotel's location is ideal, as it's within 15 minutes to most offices in downtown Loop area, as well as restaurants and shops at Michigan Avenue. Would come back and stay here again next time in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We really are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy the location was convenient for you while you stayed with us. Look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location is wonderful. One block off the lake, one block to buses and magnificent mile, museums, navy pier and several attractions in walking distance. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom vanity could use more surface area, and the closet was too small (we were two people in the room). Breakfast was decent, lacking fresh fruit choices (one morning no fruit, another morning just canteloupe), and the oatmeal was cold. These are small complaints, overall the experience was very good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was in June. We will look into those breakfast issues you experienced. However, I am glad to hear everything else was great. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a conference and Residence Inn is always my favourite hotel. I always request my employer to book Residence Inn wherever I travel. I'm glad that i made a right decision. Staff are friendly which made me feel homey. Being an Elite Silver, I arrived 9am on Friday and the receptionist upgraded me to 1-bedroom without hesitation. Love Ismeta, she is so kind and friendly. She never stops smiling and greeting people. Very hardworking and very helpful, especially making waffles! She always offer help to people without being slacking. She is trully an asset for this hotel. I will be back again! Love from far away, Alaska!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review! Ismeta is a true asset to our hotel. Like the rest of the staff she goes puts 110% into all of her guests and is a joy to work with everyday. We are so happy to hear your stay was great. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North is located just north of the Loop and surrounded by art and antique galleries, boutiques, and a variety of dining options. It is steps from world-class shopping on Chicago's "Mag Mile," and convenient to North Ave Beach, Navy Pier, Millennium Park, and Lincoln Park Zoo. The hotel offers a complimentary buffet and weeknight Manager's Reception, high-speed Internet Access, an indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.