We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in great area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park Package
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good option in great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here in a one-bedroom for a week right before the July 4th holiday and the location is just terrific. We stay in a lot of Residence Inns as we love the kitchens, free breakfasts and pull-our couch with our two little guys. I had read previous TripAdvisor reviews and we asked for a higher floor. We were on 15 and wish we were just a bit higher. Anything 15 or under is going to having views of a parking garage or other building. We didn’t have any issues with street noise but the cell reception in the room was really poor. The room was a bit smaller than other Residence Inn’s we’ve been in but, hey, this is Chicago.

The breakfast was your standard fare with eggs, waffles, etc. The woman running it, though, was superb. She helped us find seats, would bring us over the waffles when the lines were super long and was just so super friendly. It was crazy busy every morning, though, so plan accordingly. There is an Einstein Bagel connected to the lobby and we did that a couple times when we couldn’t quite get down there before 9 a.m. for the free breakfast.

There’s a pool on the top floor with a hot tub area. It’s not big but enough for our kids to enjoy. A workout room is right behind it so you could actually work out and keep an eye on your kids if you wanted. All in all a good option in a great area.

Room Tip: Get above the 15th floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are glad to hear your stay was great. We are glad to hear your trip to Chicago was perfect at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    217
    40
    19
    5
See reviews for
321
152
31
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gahanna
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I agree with the last reviews! The staff was very friendly and helpful for any of our needs. The parking garage is connected to the hotel and an easy walk to the lobby. The location of the hotel itself is great,making an easy walk to many attractions and or the public transportation. we were greeted with the nicest and friendly staff for breakfast and I do agree something needs to be done about coffee as it was very very weak almost like brown water. Yes we will come back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a chance to experience our great staff. We all love to serve our guests. We will look into the coffee experience you had at breakfast.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was in walking distance to everything. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Hallways and public areas also very clean. Friendly staff. The flow of traffic at breakfast is somewhat difficult to maneuver but nice variety of food and beverages. The breakfast attendant was the sweetest person I met in all of Chicago. Parking was $45 p/day and the garage was connected to the hotel. Pool / hot tub / gym were all very clean and easily accessible. I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel. As a travel agent, I will suggest this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Clean and Friendly is our hotel mission and we seem to have achieved it with your experience. We are glad to hear your trip to Chicago was great. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently with spouse and a kid. King bed was very comfortable. Staff service was friendly and efficient, especially during breakfast and potluck dinners daily. Having a parking lot directly behind the hotel was one of the best feature, as it makes moving luggage in/out of cars to/from guest rooms very easy. Hotel's location is ideal, as it's within 15 minutes to most offices in downtown Loop area, as well as restaurants and shops at Michigan Avenue. Would come back and stay here again next time in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We really are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy the location was convenient for you while you stayed with us. Look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location is wonderful. One block off the lake, one block to buses and magnificent mile, museums, navy pier and several attractions in walking distance. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom vanity could use more surface area, and the closet was too small (we were two people in the room). Breakfast was decent, lacking fresh fruit choices (one morning no fruit, another morning just canteloupe), and the oatmeal was cold. These are small complaints, overall the experience was very good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was in June. We will look into those breakfast issues you experienced. However, I am glad to hear everything else was great. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a conference and Residence Inn is always my favourite hotel. I always request my employer to book Residence Inn wherever I travel. I'm glad that i made a right decision. Staff are friendly which made me feel homey. Being an Elite Silver, I arrived 9am on Friday and the receptionist upgraded me to 1-bedroom without hesitation. Love Ismeta, she is so kind and friendly. She never stops smiling and greeting people. Very hardworking and very helpful, especially making waffles! She always offer help to people without being slacking. She is trully an asset for this hotel. I will be back again! Love from far away, Alaska!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review! Ismeta is a true asset to our hotel. Like the rest of the staff she goes puts 110% into all of her guests and is a joy to work with everyday. We are so happy to hear your stay was great. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. I found the studio room to be spacious with even a small dining area. I followed some of the other reviews on Trip Advisor and asked for a room away from the "night club" and not have a view of the parking garage. The room I had was on the 17th floor and had a view of the Willis Tower. The location was convenient to many restaurants which included Harry Carey's and Ruth's Chris; both basically across the street. Walking distance to State Street. House of Blues is about a block down the street. Comfortable bed with little to no noise from people in rooms around or above me. Would definitely stay at this hotel again if staying in downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing Dearborn Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are happy to hear you will be staying with us again in the future. We love making our guests feel as if our hotel is a home away from home.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. We're just minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by top Chicago restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service and each suite has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our suites also have flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Take advantage of perks such as valet/self-parking options, free daily hot breakfast, indoor pool and 24-hour gym. Join us at our weekday evening social with free appetizers and drinks. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.