We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great place to stay, great location and the staff are fabulous. Great to receive amazing service from amazing people in an amazing city. I will be back and will preach your property to all. Thanks again for making my stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: Barter and you will receive a discount or a value added item.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are excited to hear your stay was great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    213
    39
    19
    5
See reviews for
311
148
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on two occassions, both have been good. I stayed on the Springhill suites this last go around and it was perfect for my needs. I must say that the room was nice, the service was great, but there was definitely a difference between the two hotels.

All in all its a really good choice at a decent price.

I didnt try the resturant at the hotel but did try Harry Careys (across the street). Skip it, it was overpriced for the quality of food and drink. However, the service was great, if that counts for anything.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the grat review. I am glad both of your stays were great. Try Hub 51, the restaurant in our building next time. It is awesome.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Arrived late at night. First floor entrance is for two hotels. On lobby level make sure you go to the correct side depending on what hotel you are checking into. We went to the wrong side and were treated like criminals. When we went to the appropriate Residence Inn side check in was quick and easy, but we were not given info about breakfast or anything else. I guess we were not the only ones who were exhausted given the late hour. The lobby are could definitely use some sprucing up. The carpet looks awful. It very worn, coming apart, etc The rooms look a bit worn, too. The furniture in our room was pretty worn, too. The chair arms were cracked and broken. Yuck. There was no tub in the bathroom, just a shower. That was OK for us because we did not have any little kids used to taking baths. I left housekeeping $5 every day. Only once did I ask for anything (extra coffee). They left extra decaf which seemed silly to me. The sofa bed mattress was so terrible that I asked for it to be replaced. If they did replace it while we were out, they replaced it with another spongy springy one that was just as bad as the first. I can honestly say the best thing about this hotel is the breakfast staff who was consistently helpful, friendly, etc. They know people's names, likes, and so on. The location is fine, but not great. I am a Marriott fan in general and a Residence Inn fan specifically, but I will not stay at this hotel again. The environment and the lack of customer service (except for breakfast staff) just made it not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear your experience was not the greatest. This is concerning to us especially since we strive for excellence in service at all times. We will look into the issues and concerns you experienced while staying at our hotel.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is located near the waterfront, great restaurants, and a short walk to the John Hancock building. I've stayed here multiple times while on business and the staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean but the best part.... The freebies! Breakfast and a daily happy hour, can't beat that!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Great! Glad everything with your stay was outstanding and you received some extras also! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A recent visit proved that the RI River North still has it's act together. Asked for a corner suite and pleased with the arrangement especially because it was on the SW corner of the building away from the nightclub on the Spring Hill side. (NorthWest). Room was spacious, modern and comfortable. Want to put in a special word of thanks to Ismeta who runs the breakfast area. She's always cheerful and has something nice to say. I told her she should be getting paid a lot because I'm sure the customers keep coming back because of her. Management: Take care of her. She's a gem. Which just goes to show that one person can make or break a stay at the best run establishments.

Room Tip: Request a room on the East or South side and in the higher floors. There's a garage on the West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the review! Ismeta is definitely a true asset to our hotel. She is a pleasure not only for our guests but also as a co-worker. Glad to hear your stay was great and convenient. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nothing special a room with a kitchen. The best feature this hotel offers is a very comfortable bed. If you require and extended stay with a kitchen this maybe the place for you. Rooms definitely look lived in. Pool area is dated and not the cleanest.

Room Tip: I will choose another Marriott for my next stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the review. I apologize we didn't meet your expectations you were looking for in a hotel. We definitely want to please all of our guests and we will look more into finding ways to make all of our guests extremely happy once they leave our hotel.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed on the 25th floor, after being assigned the 10th floor. We were not happy with the initial view of a parking lot, but a call to the front desk and we changed rooms. Nice feature being able to open the windows in the rooms. We enjoyed the sounds of the city. Good location, easy to walk to dining and shopping. Breakfast was typical hotel provided breakfast. The gal assisting in the breakfast area was very nice, took a special interest in our son, and just really demonstrated customer service. The pool is on the top floor, it is a little small, but was available when we wanted to use it and met our needs.

Room Tip: Clarify you do not want a view of the parking lot, request an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are pleased to hear your stay was great. We are always looking forward to providing excellent service to all of our guests. Glad to hear we were able to change your room when you wanted to be moved to a higher floor.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Family Hotel in Chicago
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. We're just minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by top Chicago restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service and each suite has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our suites also have flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Take advantage of perks such as valet/self-parking options, free daily hot breakfast, indoor pool and 24-hour gym. Join us at our weekday evening social with free appetizers and drinks. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.