We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Chicago.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park Package
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to stay in Chicago.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Wife and I stayed here to attend a graduation at the University of Chicago.

Good:
* Location is central to many restaurants and walkable to many attractions.
* Breakfast Buffet included hot and cold items as part of room price.
* Subway station is a 7 minute walk over the river.
* Vibrant area and feeling safe to walk around.
* Staff (front desk, housekeeping, breakfast area) All very friendly and outgoing.
* Rooms were clean, modern and organized.
* Exercise area was a good size and enough equipment.

Not really bad but if I had to say something:
* Felt the wait for elevators from lobby to the room floors were longer than average.

Overall, I would definitely stay here when in Chicago.

Room Tip: High floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. We will definitely make sure those issues are addressed. We track, follow up, and address every issue no matter how small or big it is. We are always trying to maintain our hotel no matter how old it is. Thank you for bringing those issues to our attention. Can't wait to have you back.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    216
    40
    19
    5
See reviews for
320
151
31
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when I could get a reasonably priced room at my regular Chicago hotel when traveling for business. Overall it was a good studio room with a decent kitchen set up with a full sized refrigerator and dishwasher. Location was really good and the front desk and doorman were very helpful. My room must get used a lot as the couch was a bit dirty. The towels felt a bit worn. My particular shower door leaked a significant amount of water on the floor soaking the bath mat and then some. I reported it to the front desk and they noted it in their log so it was good to see they esp weren't going to blow off the comment. Overnight parking as $40.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the review! We definitely take all issues seriously and never want any issues to fall below the cracks. We track, follow up, and address all issues no matter how small or big the issue is. Glad to hear everything was great.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife, son, and I stayed here for a few days in March as part of a mini-vacation. The hotel accommodations, the service, the location, were all excellent. I travel a great deal for work so I experience both sides.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

At the ground level I was met by a bellman who quickly got my bag from the cab and inside to the elevator bank. The fact that the lobby is not on street level provides an added sense of privacy and security. The location of hotel provides easy access to the theatre district. The rooms were clean and reasonably functional. The power outlets on the desk lamp worked intermittently. The shared access printer went down for about 24 hours. At the end of the day, this property is at the high end of Residence Inns. Front of house staff helped with reference to same day theatre tickets.

Room Tip: Ask for a rrom near the elevator to avoid a hike.
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmentally practices were well publicised. But there was no push back when I asked for fresh linens (I was travelling with a head cold).
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear we are thought of as a top Residence Inn. We take pride on that fact.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Rode Amtrak from Milwaukee to Chicago Union Station and took a taxi from there.. Hotel was excellent as was the area, clean, felt safe and fairly quiet.. Great breakfast. Good restaurants nearby. Staff was very helpful, especially with a tour and transportation.

Room Tip: Spend extra for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Glad to hear the weekend trip was great. And glad to hear we could make it even better.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on recent trip to Chicago. Excellent location, friendly staff, good hot complimentary breakfast! Just a few minutes’ walk to Millennium Park, Chicago Art Institute, Michigan Avenue and most popular attractions. Good restaurants and cafes close by. Typical fully equipped spacious RI Rooms with full kitchen, so we usually had light late night dinners in our suite. All this made for a great Chicago stay!

Room Tip: High story rooms better to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope that you choose our hotel again when you return to Chicago.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Chicago and stayed at this nice Marriott property. Let me first start off by saying that the location was perfect... right in the heart of everything! We didn't have to rent a car, all of our activities and restaurants were within a 20-30 min walk... loved it!

The hotel was modern and the room was very comfortable. Thanks to Jon Gustin for putting us on the top floor at the end of the hall... very nice and quiet. All of the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the Bosnian lady in the breakfast area, very friendly. Speaking of breakfast, I was expecting a bit more of a variety (pancakes and french toast were cold), but it wasn't that bad. Maybe some scrambled eggs and bacon would be a nice touch.

It was also a bit of a pain to have to take two elevators to our room each time we came and went, but otherwise it was a very nice stay which we would definitely check out again if/when we are back in Chicago!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level floor if available, away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the review and it is my pleasure for helping with the room location. We always want to make sure all of our guests receive the best service possible. We will look into the breakfast items you mentioned on here. Thank you for letting us know. Can't wait to have you back with us soon.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. We're just minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by top Chicago restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service and each suite has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our suites also have flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Take advantage of perks such as valet/self-parking options, free daily hot breakfast, indoor pool and 24-hour gym. Join us at our weekday evening social with free appetizers and drinks. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.