We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 167 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife, son, and I stayed here for a few days in March as part of a mini-vacation. The hotel accommodations, the service, the location, were all excellent. I travel a great deal for work so I experience both sides.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    169
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
245
121
26
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

At the ground level I was met by a bellman who quickly got my bag from the cab and inside to the elevator bank. The fact that the lobby is not on street level provides an added sense of privacy and security. The location of hotel provides easy access to the theatre district. The rooms were clean and reasonably functional. The power outlets on the desk lamp worked intermittently. The shared access printer went down for about 24 hours. At the end of the day, this property is at the high end of Residence Inns. Front of house staff helped with reference to same day theatre tickets.

Room Tip: Ask for a rrom near the elevator to avoid a hike.
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmentally practices were well publicised. But there was no push back when I asked for fresh linens (I was travelling with a head cold).
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear we are thought of as a top Residence Inn. We take pride on that fact.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Rode Amtrak from Milwaukee to Chicago Union Station and took a taxi from there.. Hotel was excellent as was the area, clean, felt safe and fairly quiet.. Great breakfast. Good restaurants nearby. Staff was very helpful, especially with a tour and transportation.

Room Tip: Spend extra for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Glad to hear the weekend trip was great. And glad to hear we could make it even better.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on recent trip to Chicago. Excellent location, friendly staff, good hot complimentary breakfast! Just a few minutes’ walk to Millennium Park, Chicago Art Institute, Michigan Avenue and most popular attractions. Good restaurants and cafes close by. Typical fully equipped spacious RI Rooms with full kitchen, so we usually had light late night dinners in our suite. All this made for a great Chicago stay!

Room Tip: High story rooms better to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope that you choose our hotel again when you return to Chicago.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Chicago and stayed at this nice Marriott property. Let me first start off by saying that the location was perfect... right in the heart of everything! We didn't have to rent a car, all of our activities and restaurants were within a 20-30 min walk... loved it!

The hotel was modern and the room was very comfortable. Thanks to Jon Gustin for putting us on the top floor at the end of the hall... very nice and quiet. All of the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the Bosnian lady in the breakfast area, very friendly. Speaking of breakfast, I was expecting a bit more of a variety (pancakes and french toast were cold), but it wasn't that bad. Maybe some scrambled eggs and bacon would be a nice touch.

It was also a bit of a pain to have to take two elevators to our room each time we came and went, but otherwise it was a very nice stay which we would definitely check out again if/when we are back in Chicago!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level floor if available, away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the review and it is my pleasure for helping with the room location. We always want to make sure all of our guests receive the best service possible. We will look into the breakfast items you mentioned on here. Thank you for letting us know. Can't wait to have you back with us soon.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent a week at the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North and I have to say I could not have asked for a better experience. The staff was surprisingly attentive and friendly, rooms were clean, Wifi was free and the breakfast was great. Add on top of that a good location with lots of restaurant options close by, this place is a great value for Chicago.

Also, because of the convenient location of the hotel to public transportation, I would recommend not renting a car and simply taking advantage of the buses and trains available in Chicago, as parking and traffic are a bit of a hassle in the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It was our pleasure to serve you. Glad to hear your stay was excellent. You gave great advice to our future guests. Thank you for the review.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for business for three nights in a king studio suite on the fourth floor facing Dearborn Street which is a main street in front of hotel. Room was quiet with the exception of when guest room doors were closing - but not an issue for me.

Room - smallish in comparison to other Marriott suite lodgings, but still comfortable and room for 2-3 adults. Bed was very comfortable. Wi-fi responsiveness vary and there are no good or bad times. Kitchen had the usual suite amenities.

Breakfast and Evening Beverages - these were excellent in my view. When you have real eggs being used in cooking for breakfast that is a treat in breakfasts that are included in your rate. All other usual breakfast food items were available including make your own waffles. There is no cook to order eggs but the scrambled real eggs is just right. Evening beverages and food items were fantastic! Beer and wine. The food items you can have almost as a meal which is what I did one evening - meatloaf (very good), salad, mashed potatoes and green beans.

Location - Perfect. 10 minute walk to Michigan Avenue.

Really great option for downtown Chicago. A true standout is to the staff particularly the staff servicing breakfast and evening. They work hard and always friendly and accommodating.

Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our F&B options during the morning and evening times. I am also glad to hear about the service overall. We definitely make that our number one focus all the time - great, attentative, and knowledgeable staff.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown
Residence Inn Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North is located just north of the Loop and surrounded by art and antique galleries, boutiques, and a variety of dining options. It is steps from world-class shopping on Chicago's "Mag Mile," and convenient to North Ave Beach, Navy Pier, Millennium Park, and Lincoln Park Zoo. The hotel offers a complimentary buffet and weeknight Manager's Reception, high-speed Internet Access, an indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.