We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places to stay in Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places to stay in Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location, location location. And then a large and spacious room (with a kitchen if you want to use it), decently decorated, and great value for the money (breakfast included). Definitely recommended for biz trip and tourism: walking distance to the loop as well as to mag mile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear this is one of your preferred hotels.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    213
    39
    19
    5
See reviews for
312
148
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A family of 4. We've stayed here during the Christmas week. The Hotel is close to everything. There is a wonderful front desk staff. The room was very nice with full equipment kitchen. Also, our kids ejoyed the pool a lot. Very clean overall. The hotel has a very rich free breakfast. People are very friendly especially the breakfast lady Mrs. Ismeta who makes sure that everybody is happy. From M-Th hotel has some nice snack with beer,wine and other soft drinks. We really enjoyed our stay and definitely will come back. Thank you, for making our stay so beatiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so excited to hear your stay was great! We love pleasing our guests! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed last 2 nights of my vacation in a joined suite with my family and this place is a very nice place. The lobby is somewhat small but it joins another hotel part of the Marriott family. The rooms are all equipped with full kitchen and all ameniities you will need for a home. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling with family or friends; just avoid the steak restaurants close by. They are very expensive and if you are travelling on budget there are wonderful restaurants walking distance that will not break your bank.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Wonderful River North location on Dearborn, just north of the river. Close to numerous restaurants and clubs plus only a few blocks to Michigan Ave. shopping. Stayed 2 nights in a studio room that had a small ktichen with full-size refrigerators, dish-washers, coffee makers and small cooktops. Room was very confortable with a sofa, chair and small dining table, Typical Residence Inn perks with free breakfasts and early evening reception with a variety of lite snacks.

Price was very reasonable for downtown Chicago, at least the week I was there. Would be great for extended stays or stays with a family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North. I am pleased that you enjoyed our fully furnished studio suite and location. It is the goal of the hotel for you to enjoy your time at the Residence Inn whether for a short time or an extended stay for work, pleasure, or family! We hope to see you the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Event Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although I have stayed here only for business, I can see how it can be an awesone place to stay with your entire family. All the suites have fully equipped kitchens. They serve a full breakfast every morning and have a manager's reception Mon-Thu, where they serve a buffet dinner. Staff are extremely helpful and are great with children. All the nice restaurants and clubs are minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've stayed here more than any other hotel downtown. Location-during the summer-there is a trolley 2 blocks away that takes you right to navy pier for FREE. There's a Giordanos nearby that we always go too-everything is just a short walk or short cab ride away. People are always friendly-one woman from Russia who works in the breakfast room has been there for the 4 years we've been coming here and she always remembers us. One year, she made a special waffle and had the staff sing happy birthday to my husband when he turned 40. Typically, we stay in a suite-with the private bedroom and full kitchen. The rooms are a generous size and always clean and nicely decorated. This time we stayed in a non suite room but it was still larger than your typical standard room (see photos). Very nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom boasted an enclosed shower glass door. Indoor Pool is shared by adjoining hotel (Spring Hill suites) but is on the residence inn side on the rooftop. It's small but most hotel pools are. Breakfast is always satisfactory for a hot breakfast (not as good as Embassy Suites, where they offer omelet stations). Look for deals directly on the Residence Inn River NOrth website. We got a rate of $150 that included valet once. Never disappointed with this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors-thought I remembered city noise. Look for deals directly on Residence Inn River North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at this Residence Inn while I was in Chicago the week before Christmas to start a new job. The location is excellent - I was well within walking distance to my company's building in the loop. Michigan Ave. shopping is close by also. It's also within walking distance to the CTA Blue Line making it easy to get from/to O'Hare. Though I didn't have to use CTA other than to get to the airport, it's close to stops for all the other lines. There's a Jewel-Osco not too far away so you can pick up groceries to stock up the kitchenette which I did. Breakfast buffet was great - big selection and everything was delicious. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

One minor issue I had is that I wish they had provided dish detergent for washing dishes by hand so it wouldn't always be necessary to use the dishwasher (they provided a kitchen washcloth, so why not the soap for it?). They do provide detergent for the automatic dishwasher. I was also a bit disappointed that there was no pan so I could make stir-fries which would've been good, quick meals. Not too big of a deal - I was able to improvise. The selection of utensils, plates, cups, etc. was fine otherwise.

One thing to note for those who are disabled or have children: The corner suite I booked had a stall shower only - no tub. If you need a tub, you may want to call and make sure you get a room with one.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite - they're quieter and you get more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. We're just minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by top Chicago restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service and each suite has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our suites also have flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Take advantage of perks such as valet/self-parking options, free daily hot breakfast, indoor pool and 24-hour gym. Join us at our weekday evening social with free appetizers and drinks. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.