We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, good bargain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #22 of 172 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, good bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wonderful hotel in a great location. Easy walk to millennium park, river walk, great restaurants. Hotel was very clean, room was very spacious. Good gym on site, free breakfast buffet and evening happy hour. Service was superior.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    199
    36
    18
    3
See reviews for
301
137
30
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiba, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed for five days by the business trip.
The room was large, was clean and had the kitchen and the big refrigerator.
Breakfast is attached and service was also prudent.
The place was also well convenient for a restaurant and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and everything was fantastic. It was a good value considering the prime location. The rooms were plenty large enough for a couple. The couch pulled out so an additional person (child) could have stayed as well.

The woman who works the breakfast area is super nice and makes you feel very welcome.

There are several good restaurants nearby - Rosebud for example. Mother Hubbard's was a fun sports bar.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel can get a bit loud on weekends so if you are a very sensitive sleeper, ask no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My first visit to Chicago was terrific, the Residence Inn was a big part of the success. The service and attention provided by the crew in the breakfast area was spot on. The smiles and attention to providing an area for our large group to gather for breakfast went a long way!!!. Ismeta is a energetic, positive helpful employee...Keep up the GREAT ATTITUDE!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is a 15 minute walk to navy pier and less to most other places. There are some really nice views of downtown. Its fairly standard for a Residence Inn. Great staff, good breakfast and a quiet room. My only issue was the bed. I was supposed to have a queen bed but ended up with two twin put together. Once side was very lumpy and the other side was way too firm.

I would stay here again with a family but for business I can probably choose a couple of better places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Chicago and our location. Hopefully, you were able to get up to our pool and enjoy the Chicago views from there!

All of our beds on the Residence Inn side are King Size beds but I do apologize if one half of your bed was not as comfortable. We do have mattress pads/egg crates if you stay with us again and are in the same situation.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Event Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location, wonderful staff, stellar views, clean rooms and lobby, and kitchens! We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Never heard a peep out of our neighbors. Our room was a corner room on the 23rd floor--fabulous!

The fitness room was adequate, although one of three elliptical wasn't quite functional. The treadmills were nice. Didn't use the pool/hot tub, but the area looked clean and well-maintained. The elevators were slow to arrive, but moved quickly once on them.

You'll pay dearly for parking $40/nt for self-park in the garage. We found an uncovered lot three blocks away for $18/nt. it is Chicago, so be prepared for this if you have a car. I'd have gone without one if not for all the trips we had to take into the 'burbs with small children in tow.

The staff here really made us feel welcome and comfortable. A shout out to the sweet lady at the helm in the breakfast room. Imelda? Izelda? She was incredibly sweet and helpful to us, making sure to say good morning to our daughters every day. She even packed us a sandwich for later. So thoughtful! She is worth her weight in gold! Wish I could remember her name. She had short red hair and a constant, genuine smile on her face. Lovely lady.

So there you have it... We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the perfect hotel from which to explore Chicago. It is 1 1/2 blocks from Michigan Ave and 2 blocks from The Hancock Building where you can catch the hop-on-hop-off bus. The hotel is comfortable with the great Marriott beds and a large kitchen even in our efficiency suite. It is very family friendly and pets are allowed. They serve an excellent breakfast which is included and 3 nights a week there is a complimentary light dinner with wine and beer. The staff was very accommodating and helpful from the front desks to the cleaning staff. We even had a serenade one morning at breakfast by one of the staff. It seems like everyone who works there enjoys it. It was a nice place to come back to after a busy day of sightseeing. And since it is off the main drag it is quiet which made for a good night's sleep.
One draw back is that our room had a VERY small closet and we had clothes that needed hanging. It was a tight squeeze.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#23 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North is located just north of the Loop and surrounded by art and antique galleries, boutiques, and a variety of dining options. It is steps from world-class shopping on Chicago's "Mag Mile," and convenient to North Ave Beach, Navy Pier, Millennium Park, and Lincoln Park Zoo. The hotel offers a complimentary buffet and weeknight Manager's Reception, high-speed Internet Access, an indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.