We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Trump Int'l Hotel Chicago is, imho, the finest hotel in America in terms of overall experience & especially service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comp Parking + F&B Credit
Ranked #11 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Trump Int'l Hotel Chicago is, imho, the finest hotel in America in terms of overall experience & especially service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Trump has created in the Trump Int'l Hotel Chicago what IMHO is the finest hotel in America in terms of overall experience and especially service, and one that can rival the greatest hotels in the world.

Over the course of the past thirty years of my business career, I have stayed in many of the top US hotels and many of the world's great hotels, from London's Connaught, to Geneva's Hotel des Bergues, to HK's Mandarin and Peninsula, and Tokyo's Seiyo Ginza. The Trump Chicago is definitely in the same league as these great international hotels, yet it also retains a distinctly American flavor: friendly service, modern design, and leading edge technology.

From the moment you arrive, the service is impeccable and achieves the elusive ideal balance between professionalism and friendliness. The staff are efficient, attractive, well groomed, courteous, and extremely helpful. Moreover you never, ever have the feeling that anyone is expecting any kind of a gratutity, which can be so offputting in certain American cities. Here, you truly get the feeling that you are a valued guest and that whatever can be done to make you comfortable and happy is cheerfully offered. From the reception staff to the room staff to the restaurant and spa staff, everyone did a superlative job.

Our room was magnificent: 900 square feet with a superb view of the lake, a fully equipped kitchen area (including Nespresso coffee machine) an enormous and delightfully comfortable bed, and a very complete and efficient bathroom. The design was modern, but not oppressively so. The high ceilings reinforced the feeling of space. The electrically controlled drapes opened onto magnificent floor to ceiling windows, the soaking tub in the bathroom allowed for a bit of indulgence. This was truly one of the best rooms I have experienced in 30 years...

The location was ideal for anyone having business in the downtown/loop area and there were always taxis a doorman's whistle away, despite a busy convention (which had the hotel 100% full) as well as regular summer thundershowers.

As for food and wine, we spent our first evening at Rebar, having quickly changed after an arrival from the West Coast, and found the cocktails to be delicious, the Sushi/Sashimi remarkably good, and the ambiance lively and young. We were in fact surprised when the lights were raised shortly before 1am to indicate that closing time was approaching. We had been having such fun that time truly flew by. We did not dine at the in-house restaurant so I can not comment on that. The exercise facilities were state of the art, in pristine condition, had spectacular views and contained everything one could possibly want. We did not use the spa facilities so this is something else I can not comment on.

In summary: a truly outstanding experience. I would definitely stay there on my next trip to Chicago. And while this hotel clearly charges five star prices, they unquestionnably deliver five star service; so even if one was not travelling on business, I can think of no better place to treat oneself to real luxury. And I left thinking what a pleasure it was to see an American hotel earning a place among the unique establishments of the world. Bravo Mr Trump and congratulations to your team!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Dear Guest-

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor from your most recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you complimenting the professionalism of our team and extent of our facilities.

I shall certainly extend your great comments to the entire Trump Chicago team.

Thank you once again for your review and for benchmarking our Company so favorably against other luxury hotels around the world.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    199
    64
    30
    22
See reviews for
387
545
83
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights as my first stop in the US on my way to another city. It was such a friendly place, staff were consistently welcoming and helpful. The kitchen facilities were as good as you could ever hope for in a hotel: microwave, stove top, fridge, sink, loads of cooking utensils.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Dear Guest-

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and delighted that you will be coming back to stay with us again. Thank you for your warm acknowledgements of our team and for complimenting our team of colleagues for their friendliness.

Along with my team, I look forward welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Booked with an Amex Platinum package with a spa credit and free night. Upgraded on arrival and the rooms are fantastic with HD TV and all the everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. However what you don't usually receive is the level of personalized service and attention to even the smallest details. When you go to the gym, each of the aerobic machines already has a towel and bottle of water neatly placed on it. The pool is fantastic as is the spa. And if you score a room on the east side of the building you have a front row view of the saturday night fireworks at Navy Pier.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on TripAdvisor. I would also like to thank you for your ongoing loyalty to our hotel. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the very near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich (Switzerland)
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

I had dinner at the restaurant of the trump international (sixteen) back when the hotel was being built. Food was delicious and views were breathtaking. This year I planned a trip to Chicago, with a couple of days in the city and a trip to the upper peninsula. When you look at the skyline of chicago, the trump hotel is a beautifully designed and crafted element of it. It is certainly one of the most impressing and appealing buildings of the period of the last 20 years. When you arrive at the hotel, you are warmly welcomed by the distinguished and well trained staff, an experience worthy of one of the best hotels in the world. The rooms are very spacious, well equipped (including kitchenette), beautifully crafted, modern, reflecting distinguished luxury, but not bling-bling or traditionalism.
The room service is fully up to this level. Make sure to tap the knowledge of the concierges to make the most of your chicago trip- places to go, things to do, Jazz Club recommendations, programs of Blues festival etc.. The concierges are excellent at arranging activities, reservations etc. The location of the hotel is very central- in the heart of downtown Chicago. We loved this hotel and recommend anyone to consider the trump hotel when coming to Chicago. Rates can vary throughout the year, and by booking agency, so I recommend to do some research.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

I am very happy indeed to learn that you consider your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago to be among the best getaways you have experienced.Thank you sincerely for commending our service team in this regard. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Quite simply an excellent hotel. Spa and the gym are great; breakfast in the restaurant was perfectly decent; service is excellent; my suite was almost perfect (ie: light in the bathroom is not optimal for shaving); view from a river suite is excellent; location of hotel is perfect (right between the Magnificent Mile and downtown), and Chicago is just a great location getting better and better. I went through Amex Platinum and got a very significant upgrade. Only 2 complaints in Chicago are the traffic on the highway to and from the airport all throughout the day (almost pays to take the train to the airport -- and allow 25-30 minutes at O'Haire United Terminal to get through the security check), and the 10.25% sales tax which is a disincentive to buying anything in Chicago that could be bought elsewhere. Trump seems to be establishing a good chain of hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Directo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Brand new hotel with astounding views on the Chicago river and the lake. Rooms are bigger than at comparable hotels and the personal service is superb and personal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Thanks Donald, I stayed last weekend and had a wonderful time. This is an excellent hotel for both business and leisure. Comfortable, stylish wired and served by an attentive, well trained staff. The spa is the best I have ever experienced. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with a kitchen in each. Unlike some high end hotels, you are not nickled and dimed to death with extra fees (eg. internet is free). Mr. Trump, I still don't like your show but, I love your hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you regard our hotel to be one of the best. Thank you sincerely for commending our service team in this regard. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Business Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.