We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!! (With the exception of...)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comp Parking + F&B Credit
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect!!! (With the exception of...)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's a Trump, it epitomizes the term hospitality and luxury.

The staff, the room, the amenities were perfect!

The problem? I was (am) here on business and NEED internet. The coverage area is awful, the connection speed slow and completely unreliable!

I am in suite 1902 and I tried for 20 minutes to post this review using the hotel internet before finally getting it done with my smartphone.

Come on you guys... Add antennas to the Wi-Fi this is outrageous in 2014!!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    190
    60
    28
    22
See reviews for
378
519
78
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

At first glance the lobby is a little smaller than you would expect but the size is made up for in the rooms.

The spa was average and nice but not impressive. The views from the gym were grade A and the restaurants were very nice as well.

Overall I would recommend due to location but not price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Package purchase wasn't worth the extra money and valet brought back car covered in bird poop. The facility was incredible and the room was definitely first class. The bed was one of the most comfortable outside of home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I grew up in Chicago and I know the city intimately. I have lived there and stayed in every category of hotel in almost every location. If you want a first class experience, this is the place. The rooms are spacious, and the service is professional and prompt. The hotel is within walking distance of well, everything. The views offered here are unparalleled and the drinks or meals at "16" enhance that experience. As you might expect it is not an inexpensive location, but in my opinion this hotel gives you what you pay for.

Room Tip: You must spend extra and get the river / lakeview side. The view is breathtaking and is classic Chi...
See more room tips
Green Features: You can opt out of daily linen and towel change to save water. They use biodegradable cleaners
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

As much as I don't agree with some of Mr. Trumps actions when it comes to politics, etc....I have to give him one thing. He knows how to create a luxury brand like nobody else on this planet. The customer service I received at Donald J. Trump property Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago was hands down the best I have ever received in my life at any hotel I have stayed at. From the concierges, front desk staff, room service, the restaurant service...I was just so impressed with the class and knowledge of everyone that works at this hotel. I give this place a 10/10 rating and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Chicago. It was also a pleasure to meet Mr. Trump himself at the hotel...the man has presence. ‪#‎trumpchicago‬

Room Tip: everything is awesome
See more room tips
Green Features: The staff at Trump from every single area was the best I have ever experienced. I can't stop thinking about how amazing and smooth everything was.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The room was fully dressed to the nines, however it was not clean, for the pricing you would expect that it was dusted, the deodorizer they use is a bit strong, or the venting was not clean. That would be my major disappointment. If you are alerrgic to animals, then be careful, cause dogs are always around this location from the residential side which has a joining lobby. imho dogs and cats should not be in hotels.

Room Tip: 21st floor suites have best view of riverwalk and lake michigan, breathtaking views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Non-Smoking facility as per law, level 16 is outdoors so you can smoke there, atleast we did see people doing so. and there is a nice section by the garage door in the front with ashtrays for smokers outside the lobby.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our experience was fantastic, The front desk staff was amazing. Very pleasant and professional. When we checked in late in the day our room was still not ready and they quickly upgraded us to a room that was ready. "Sixteen" Outdoor/Indoor Restaurant, Bar and Patio were awesome. Rooms very nice and well appointed. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.