We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best birthday ever ... ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best birthday ever ... ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for both of our birthdays. .. As soon as the front desk knew it was our bday she upgraded us to a suite room ! It was just amazing .. Everything from great staff and service and yes the suite room itself .... Food was pricey but hey it's the trump ... I will definitely stay here again ..

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am truly pleased you and your boyfriend enjoyed your birthday celebrations at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and appraisal of our team, services, and facilities. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    179
    58
    25
    19
See reviews for
351
480
73
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I don't know how anyone can give this hotel less than four stars. It is pricey, but it's a TRUMP HOTEL and you should be aware of that before making the reservations. Personally, I think it's worth every penny. The staff are very attentive. From the moment you step out of your car, they are there with a smile and a friendly greeting. They seem genuinely interested in who you are, where your from and why your in Chicago. In conversation, we mention that we were celebrating our anniversary. That night we had a complimentary BOTTLE of champagne and gold dusted chocolate covered strawberries!
Let's not forget the room! We stayed in 2730, very spacious and very well decorated room. The bathroom is very nice, with the soaking tub and shower all behind one behind glass wall (oh and a TV in the mirror).

The housekeeping staff is AMAZING. The "turn down" service is quite a treat. They not only turn down the bed, but they also turn on the radio to a soothing station, the tv is turned into an aquarium, there are bottles of water on the bed side tables, and slippers on the floor ready for your tired feet!

I really can not stress enough how AMAZING the staff really is. Exceptional service from exceptional people at an exceptional hotel.

"Welcome home"!

Patrick and Jan Shea

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am delighted and honored that we had the opportunity to host your anniversary celebration, as well as assist in making your celebration relaxing and memorable. Thank you for your kind acknowledgement and appraisal of our housekeeping team and their efforts to ensure your room is comfortable and inviting. We look forward to welcoming your return upon future visits and celebrations.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just checked into the Trump for our 3rd visit in 3 years. I love this hotel. Pricey yes but you feel pampered from the moment you step out of the cab. The room on the 21st floor is cushy and perfect. It doesn't hurt that they upgraded us to a suite but past experience says even the regular rooms are awesome. Intend to enjoy every moment! And remember, location - location - location. All the great things in Chicago within a few short blocks or a brief cab ride.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am pleased to read you feel pampered upon arrival to our hotel and that you have enjoyed every stay with us. I certainly look forward to welcoming your next visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A colleague and I stayed here for business. It is a top class hotel, with attention from the second you step in the door.

The "standard" rooms are spacious, with an oversized bed, large TV and a desk, in addition to an armchair and foot stool (my colleague had a sofa as he was on a bend in the hotel so had more space).

Bathroom had a walk in shower next to the bath, very refreshing, plenty of toiletries. Room had a fridge (which made a bit of a racket in the night now and then), dishwasher, sink, microwave, and hob, plus a full set of utensils. On downside of the room was the number of little lights on once the main lights go off!

Maid service was excellent, plus turn down service.

We didn't eat in the hotel but went to the bar on the mezzanine floor which was a bit quiet, having checked out the 16th floor which was empty.

Location is fairly central, near the bars and restaurants and a short walk to Michigan Avenue.

All in all a top hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: 21st floor very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read you and your colleague enjoyed your stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. Thank you for taking the time to share your appraisal of the rooms and amenities you enjoyed most and for commending our housekeeping team on a job well done. I certainly hope you will return in the near future and will have an opportunity to further experience our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

While lovely, this hotel falls short of what a luxury hotel should be. The mattress & pillows were lovely but there was no reading light, no recycling bin, nowhere to play an ipod (just an old fashioned Bose Wave machine). The bath had a TV but wasn't heated. Room service and in-room amenities were unremarkable. In short, there was nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either. Having stayed in the other luxury chains in the city, I would recommend those before staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback. I sincerely appreciate your comments regarding the amenities in our guestrooms as we readily welcome both positive and constructive feedback. I have noted your suggestions and will share them with our teams as opportunities for improvement. I would like to apologize if we fell short in delivering anything but an extraordinary stay and hope we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Everything from the bell service at the curb to the quality of the pillows were perfect. The details at this hotel were of the highest standards. We've stayed at many hotels around the world, and this one is right up there with theeeeee BEST.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am delighted to learn your stay was perfect and that you regard our hotel to be among the best in the world. Thank you also for recognizing our efforts to have the highest of standards as we realize the important this plays in ensuring your stay is above expectations. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is amazing, the rooms have high ceilings and the decor is modern and sleek. The location is good if you are looking to spend time in both the loop (financial area) as well as go shopping around the Gold Coast and River North. However, in winter I could see the walk to either place being a bit of a hike. Regardless, the hotel is great. The view of the river is gorgeous. I only had a drink in the bar, but the restaurants are meant to be wonderful. Ask for a room with a view of the river.

Room Tip: Room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent visit. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed the views as well as the location and I appreciate you taking the time to recommend your experience on TripAdvisor for these reasons. I am happy you had a chance to visit Rebar and hope you will have the opportunity to dine with us in Sixteen upon your next visit. We look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.