We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building and practical location but they don't always tell you everything...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit & Comp Parking
Ranked #6 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and practical location but they don't always tell you everything...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in the Trump with my family recently and had an amazing time. Chicago is one of the most fantastic cities that I've ever visited, and the Trump definitely added to this memorable experience. We stayed on the 21st floor in a suite with a stunning view of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan (a perfect view for watching the fireworks). The beds were very comfortable, nice bathrooms (love the whole TV in the mirror thing), good kitchen-area with a coffee machine and stocked fridge, and lovely living-area. When we checked in, we were soon greeted by some soft drinks, fruit and Garrett's famous popcorn, which was a nice touch! We had breakfast in the hotel on the first day...yes, it was a tad overpriced but the food was good, I guess. I can't fault the location at all, Navy Pier is only a 20-30 minute walk away which is fantastic. Make sure to visit Water Place Mall too, it's not too far from the hotel. The gym was huge and well-equipped, and the changing rooms were immaculate, as well. Unfortunately, I didn't use the swimming pool due to a lack of time but it did look very nice. Now for the negatives. The lobby is tiny- for such a huge building I was expecting a much bigger lobby. I know that these sorts of hotels build up rather than out but maybe they should have considered putting the lobby on a separate floor to the ground floor entrance...isn't that what many hotels do these days? Also, there are lots of complimentary services which they don't tell you about, for example, you can have your gym kit washed for free and ready for the next day...AND FREE COFFEE IN THE LOBBY! Yeah, nobody told us about that. My final point is that room service, although nice, is ridiculously over-priced for the portion sizes. Once, we ordered ice cream sundaes after a long day out in the sun, picturing big parfait glasses full of ice cream and hot fudge sauce. Soon enough, we were sitting with small bowls with two scoops of ice cream in them, a small jug of solidified chocolate sauce and a bowl of chopped peanuts. No thank you. My final point is that the staff can sometimes ignore you, which really makes the experience seem a little less personal. Overall, I did enjoy my stay here and would probably choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as you can looking over the lake- the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am most pleased to learn you had a memorable and enjoyable stay, however it is with great concern that I have learned you did not feel you had a personable experience. Please be assured I have noted your comments and will take your feedback onboard as an opportunity for our improvement.

I do hope we will have the occasion to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,077
    152
    46
    21
    11
See reviews for
309
424
64
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and just stayed for the weekend. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary. The room was amazing, overlooking the river and lake. The attention to detail is beyond what you would expect. All finishes are top notch. 16 lounge is amazing and worth visiting. The service was perfect from when we checked in until we checked out. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The suites that end in 00 (floor 19, suite 1900 ect) have a center view of the river and lake.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to extend my congratulations on your 10th anniversary and thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago to celebrate your special occasion. I am pleased to read that your experience exceeded your expectations and that you would recommend our hotel. Your kind appraisal of our team and facilities is greatly appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in 3 Trump hotels. NYC, Vegas & Chicago
The Chicago location has a wonderful view of Lake Michigan & 16 is fantastic
However, it's not so great room wise as their NYC or Vegas locations... Too many other great hotels less than a mile away for over $150/ night less

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on TripAdvisor. I would also like to sincerely thank you for your ongoing loyalty to our hotels. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed the views and your time spent at Sixteen Restaurant. While I am very happy to read your positive comments, I would like to extend my apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way. We certainly hope to welcome your return and restore your confidence in Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were celebrating a birthday with a night @ the Trump. The check-in experience was very professional and personable. They greeted my wife with a happy birthday. They put us in a “Spa” room which is located on the same floor as the spa. It is an entry level room but far from ordinary. All rooms at the Trump Chicago are spectacular. All feature a sitting area with very comfortable beds, linens & pillows. The bathrooms all feature soaking tubs, walk in shower and private toilette. The spa rooms also feature a heated & scented eye mask and neck pillow, a very nice surprise. They also provide a space age type dumb bell workout weight system. We did have treatments at the spa (which were wonderful) and it was so nice to just walk to spa and not have to get into an elevator. The hotel surprised us with some cake, candies & champagne delivered to our room in honor of my wife’s birthday. So unexpected but so blown away by their personal touch! They made us feel special! It was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read that your holiday to celebrate your wife's birthday was an excellent experience and that we were able to ensure your celebration with us was comfortable and special. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor in detail and for your wonderful appraisal of our services and facilities.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in about 5 different hotels in Chicago prior to this one and have never stayed anywhere else since. The rooms are huge, most come with a kitchenette and the hotel has all amenities you could want from a business POV. I particularly rate the gym, spa and swimming pool area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for your ongoing loyalty to our hotel. I truly appreciate your positive feedback and am pleased to read you enjoy your time spent at The Spa at Trump. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice. Situated in the heart of the City, it is very convenient to many attractions. The meeting space also was very nice. The views make the experience even more enjoyable. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I loved the TV in the mirror of the bathroom (especially during the British Open!). The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read your business stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago was an enjoyable experience and that you found comfort in your room. Thank you for your acknowledgement of our staff; it is greatly appreciated.
We certainly hope to welcome your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have to admit it is a nice play to stay at but the staff was very unfriendly. Me my girlfriend and her daughter went to have lunch at the 16th floor bar. We were ignored from the moment we walked up. We were told eventually it would be a minute and we waited for about 8 minutes until finally a table was going to be ready. Then they said the table was still being cleaned so we ended up just leaving. The professionalism that I was expecting at Trump Tower was gone.

A.V.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.