We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in about 5 different hotels in Chicago prior to this one and have never stayed anywhere else since. The rooms are huge, most come with a kitchenette and the hotel has all amenities you could want from a business POV. I particularly rate the gym, spa and swimming pool area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for your ongoing loyalty to our hotel. I truly appreciate your positive feedback and am pleased to read you enjoy your time spent at The Spa at Trump. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    180
    59
    25
    19
See reviews for
351
483
73
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice. Situated in the heart of the City, it is very convenient to many attractions. The meeting space also was very nice. The views make the experience even more enjoyable. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I loved the TV in the mirror of the bathroom (especially during the British Open!). The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read your business stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago was an enjoyable experience and that you found comfort in your room. Thank you for your acknowledgement of our staff; it is greatly appreciated.
We certainly hope to welcome your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have to admit it is a nice play to stay at but the staff was very unfriendly. Me my girlfriend and her daughter went to have lunch at the 16th floor bar. We were ignored from the moment we walked up. We were told eventually it would be a minute and we waited for about 8 minutes until finally a table was going to be ready. Then they said the table was still being cleaned so we ended up just leaving. The professionalism that I was expecting at Trump Tower was gone.

A.V.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Now this IS a hotel. Wow! I could tell you about the beautiful, spacious, CLEAN, well equipped room and bathroom, the comfortable bed, the amazing views, the huge gym, the central location- but you would know all that if you look at the pictures and the other reviews. There is a reason that pretty much everyone rates this as 5/5! And the photos don't lie either. It may not be cheap but you really do get what you are paying for. It really is a fabulous hotel in every sense of the word and that is all there is to it!!! The staff were super efficient and friendly too- a special thank you to David in the concierge who was very patient and helped make some excellent bookings for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and pleased to learn you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you sincerely for commending David and our service team ; your kind recognition will be very well received.

I look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We (2 adults and 3 kids) checked in to the hotel at 4pm and stayed there for 3 nights, Our room was a Deluxe King City View; large enough with a king size bed and a pull out queen bed. Kitchen was fully stocked with some amenities you do not see every day.... The staff was very friendly from the initial get go. Luggage arrived to our room in no time.

Location is right on the Magnificent Mile and walking distance to the Millennium Park and other key spots.

When we came back from a stroll on the town on the first evening, we were surprised to receive a welcome plate for our kids, with cookies and milk. Someone is paying attention to details. !

SPA, pool and Gym are a dream ! I just wish the place I work out at will come to observe...

Concierge desk was very knowledgeable. When we asked then where a certain park was, we received a detailed answer and bottles of cold water to ease our walk :-( the same small. cold water bottles. were waiting for us in the car when the valet brought it from the garage. Nice touch.

We had one (repeating) glitch which other reviewers have also mentioned. The room was not serviced on time. While not a big deal, one expects this hotel to perform flawlessly. I mention this to the front desk manager and Lo and behold - room service knocked on our door on the same evening with an apology letter, a $100 Beau Joie champagne bottle (I looked it up) and chocolate dipped strawberries. WOW again.

Valet parking is priced at $69 / night which in my book is oh so very expensive, but from walking around town, it seems that parking is steep in Chicago.

Given the opportunity, I will not hesitate and rush back to the Trump.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent stay, I am very pleased to read you and your family enjoyed your visit. I certainly appreciate your kind comments of recognition and appraisal of our team's efforts to ensure your family's needs are met.

We look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I attended a conference in Chicago in June. Fortunately I was able to stay at the Trump International Hotel& Tower in downtown. The staff welcomed me as I arrived the hotel in my taxi. Front desk was extrememly efficient and professional during the check-in process. My room was spacious and clean. It was equipped with everything I needed. Room cleaning service was exceptional! I looked forward to coming back to my hotel to relax and unwinde from attending meetings all day long. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your business stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and that you were able to relax during your time spent with us. Your kind appraisal of our Front Desk and Housekeeping teams is truly appreciated as is your recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Just had my first stay at Trump. Short - just one night - but it was great. Staff was very outgoing and service oriented. Was upgraded to a beautiful suite - lovely room, great shape. The fitness center was also very nice - larger and more spacious than most with great views

I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for commending our service team. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and visit to The Spa at Trump. We certainly look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.