We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trump Does it Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trump Does it Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The name says it all, I expected it to be great but it was even better. You will be completely pampered by the outstanding service. The views are breathtaking and close to everything. I would highly recommend the experience.

Room Tip: Everything is excellent here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago last summer. I am happy to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you felt pampered by the service you received.

We certainly look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    180
    59
    25
    19
See reviews for
351
483
73
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One of the things that differentiates Trump from the other super high end competition is the attention to detail. Simply stated, nothing is taken for granted. From the beautiful lobby, to the upscale bar and delicious sushi served, to the top notch fitness center - and of course the room and beds. It's the small touches: kettle corn movie style popcorn in your room - that type of thing. Or the cucumber laced water in the gym, or the concierge anticipating all your needs. We had a horrific flight experience due to weather issues and once we stepped into the hotel, there was virtually zero stress. I would expect nothing less from Trump - and I'm extremely critical. This hotel met every expectation - bar none.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding the attention we pay towards details that ensure your expectations are met. I am happy to read you and your family were able to relax and enjoy the services and facilities we offer after a stressful travel experience.

I look forward to welcoming your return to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I cannot give this hotel a higher recommendation. I booked a river-view suite for my younger sister's bachelorette weekend in August 2012, and although pricey, it was worth every penny. This hotel provides exceptional service down to the last detail, from the valet parkers outside to the house-keeping staff to the front desk. They go above and beyond to make guests feel pampered. The suite was very spacious and had the gorgeous views I expected (with floor to ceiling windows), the bathroom amenities were the best I have ever had, and the mini kitchen (with regular-sized fridge) was perfect for our event. I have stayed in many hotels in downtown Chicago but the Trump is the best I've experienced. I will most definitely stay here again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your sister's celebration. I am happy to read your party felt pampered and that you regard your experience as the best you've had in downtown Chicago. I appreciate your kind appraisal of our team, facilities, and amenities and look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous large hotel suite with excellent kitchen appliances and awesome view of the river. Great service and outstanding spa and the largest workout room I have used. Great location close to all shopping and restaurants. Would come back again soon if possible

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am happy to read your appraisal of our services and facilities and that you hope to return soon. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Not our first then here and the standard is still very high. The hotel has all the luxury and class you would expect from such a high priced hotel. I think the weekend was very busy from the hotel as the staff seemed pretty stretched but always professional. The iron in the room did not work and was replaced immediately. Also the changing rooms were littered with towels and robes, which I've never seen here before. The light wasn't working in the deluge shower, one of the highlights of the bathroom! Sure, the Trump does not have a hot tub... But you don't come here to just sit in a hot tub. The gym and pool are both excellent. Even though I've mentioned a few negative points, there isn't enough space to write all the positive points and for that reason, I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you first and foremost for your loyalty to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for posting a review of your recent stay.
I am pleased to read that you find luxury and class during your visits and that you enjoy the amenities of our facilities. However, I do apologize for the areas in which we fell short of our standards during your latest stay. Thank you for sharing your concerns as we value all guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and facilities.

I certainly look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'll be writing reviews on the other properties in town: FS, RC, Pen & W-A, but having recently stayed at all of them over the past two months for business, I can honestly say that the Trump is the only one that does it all... right.

From arriving in a cab, the way you're greeted, sincere smiles, they remember your name over the course of several days; the service in Rebar, Sixteen, the Spa, etc. It never failed and it instilled me with hope that such places still exist. The location is a little wonky when compared to the other big boys in town, but the view (if you get a room overlooking the river and out towards the lake) is second to none.

My personal feelings for The Donald aside, this place outdoes all other lodges in the city. It has won my business, and that of my company's, and we will be returning... guaranteed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I certainly appreciate and am happy to read of your appraisal of our team's dedication to service and that you were able to enjoy our restaurants and Spa.

We look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I traveled to Chicago with my family on Christmas Day and was only in town for a very limited time. I wanted the best hotel in Chicago and I am pretty sure I found it. From arrival to departure we felt like valued guests. The first impression was priceless- the architecture was stunning and the size of the building was very impressive. The front desk staff was warm and friendly, they also provided scented hot towels and a Christmas gift for my son. The concierge was helpful and offered a recommendation for the perfect restaurant. We wanted something unique and exotic and she recommended Vermillion, an Indian & Latin fusion restaurant that is only a few minute walk from the hotel. The experience was exactly what we were hoping for and the hostess even snuck us in without a reservation on a decently busy night. Of course, we went to the room prior to heading to dinner. We were given a corner suite on a decently high floor; the highest floors are privately held and not offered for rent. The room was very large and I feel like we received more than our monies worth. Shortly after unpacking there was a knock at our door, the staff provided a mix of snacks and bottle Coke. We also ordered the milk and cookie package when we reserved so we had a nice sugar rush before we went exploring in the city. The complimentary snacks were truly a surprise and were very much appreciated. The in room selection of snacks and high-end bottled water as well as magazine selection was top notch. Overall this is one of the finest hotels I have personally encountered. If I had any recommendations it would be for a hot tub in the pool area, they have hot tubs in the locker room but sometimes you want to relax with your significant other. I am 100% sure going back to the Trump International and you should stay there as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit. The view is somewhat limited but the room size is massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago with your family for Christmas. I am happy to read that our Concierge was able to find the perfect restaurant for your holiday dinner and that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy your time spent with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.