We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Trump while on business in Chicago. I have been to the 16th floor bar before but never saw the room. I had an incredible room with view on the river, it was fantastic. The staff was very helpful and i had a great stay.

I am personally not a big fan of the location but i have to admit it was convenient for business reason because close to the offices i was visiting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent business trip and for taking the time to post a review of your experience. I do hope you will be returning to visit us again in the near future; we certainly look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O’Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    168
    54
    24
    15
See reviews for
336
447
70
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Trump is a fantastic hotel just off the Miracle Mile in Chicago. It's a little inconvenient to shopping and all but nothing a short cab ride won't cure! The rooms are impeccable, the service is outstanding, and the restaurants and bars are second to none as well. There is competition downtown such as the Waldorf Astoria, Park Hyatt, the W, etc however it certainly is worth a try. I'm confident you'll be impressed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read that your stay exceeded your expectations and that we were able to ensure your holiday with us was relaxing and memorable.

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel to your friends.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O’Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Trump Tower Chicago following a last minute change from Trump Soho NYC due to adverse weather resulting in our flights to JFK being cancelled.

We had a 3 night stay booked at the trump soho and on the morning we were due to fly out our flights were cancelled. As we had planned this special weekend away we were able to change our destination and chose chicago. From the outset the Trump reservations were excellent. We were due to pay for one night as it was within 24 hours, but they waved this fee and rebooked us at the Chicago hotel on a cheaper rate and with breakfast and a room credit thrown in.

The room was on the 27th floor, and had amazing city views. The bed was so comfortable. Many luxury touches in the room, including electronic curtains, tv in the bathroom (on the mirror), full kitchen facilities, massive room, amazing linens, bathrobes, slippers, evening turn down service each night (they even took my boots away and polished them up whilst we were out for the evening!).

We has breakfast in 16 on the first morning, which was delicious, with great service and it was included in our rate. The other mornings we had room service breakfast, we requested items that were not on the menu and everything we asked for was delivered. I was really impressed with this. Best in room breakfast ever.

The service is top notch. All staff we came in contact with were friendly and helpful.
I will definitely return to a Trump Hotel based on my experience in Chicago. And have already recommended the Chicago Trump to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.

Even though your reservations at our sister property couldn’t be fulfilled, I am thrilled you were able to enjoy your stay with us in Chicago.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the very near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O’Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had an opportunity to visit the Trump in downtown Chicago the weekend after New Years. I live in Illinois and admit I am not a fan of the city proper. Pretty much everything you hear is true.. both good and bad. I have to admit I will be making plans to visit again next year. This place was flat out cool. It'll cost you, make no mistake. $25 bottled water. $30 chocolates. Its your option not to consume so no worries there. Totally first class from the get go. People were remarkably friendly and helpful. Never received the "snob" feeling. We were on the 18th floor facing east/northest and it was magnificent. The city really is beautiful. Easy walking distance to enough places that we didn't even use a cab although the hotel offers a driver if you need to go anywhere, a nice trump touch. No disrespect to the hotel restaurants but there is so much more outside of the hotel in terms of food and shopping, why stay in the building. We even walked Michigan Ave thanks to our mild, snow-lessJanuary. Fantastic weekend. If you can, limo it into the city because parking will kill you.
Note: I have ranked the value as average because, really, is a hotel room worth $300-$700 a night? Its just a personal splurge.

Room Tip: the higher up the tower the better, but really there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments about our associates, guest rooms, and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I love a luxury hotel...and this was it! The Trump Chicago lived up to it's reputation of being a world class hotel. The location was fantastic, views of the river and lake, at the bottom of the magnificent mile, and situated amongst the fabulous architecture of Chicago...what more could you ask for? Oh amazing service you say? Then yes, that too! Get the turn down service - it is worth it. Not to mention, when they heard it was my birthday they sent up a little treat! So lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthday and for taking the time to post a review of your experience. I do hope you will be returning to visit us again in the near future; we certainly look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Bar was very nice and bar tender great! Very good service! Very clean and upscale atmosphere! Wish we could afford to have stayed here but maybe next time. Heard the sushi in the restaurant is great! If u go to the bar on the 16th floor, ask for Johnny

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team in Sixteen, services and facilities.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and other Trump properties in the very near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My gf and I stayed for one night in the Trump Hotel for my Birthday and it was the best experience we have ever had in a hotel.
We stayed in a suite and to say it was luxury is an understatement.
The views, the service and even the complimentary birthday cake that was brought up to our room. Everything was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago for your stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your recent birthday "the best birthday ever". We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.


Sincerely,


T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.