We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not what I hoped for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit & Comp Parking
Ranked #6 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but not what I hoped for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Trump Hotel review...not top hotel in Chicago or USA. Hotel is very nice, service is very good. Room maybe best view in the city. Room was dusty, furniture marked up. Looked forward to a good meal at Sixteen, and it was good, beautiful view, but not best food in Chicago by far. We looked forward to having a light dinner at Rebar. When we checked in at noon, Rebar was closed but sign said open at 3:30. We went down at 5 and there was a new sign that said Rebar was closed until 10:30pm for private event. Would have bent nice to know that. We ended up at Roka Akor instead and it was amazing. Room service was good this morning, but when I left (husband left before me for a business flight) and I walked past the front desk and out past the bellman desk and to valet, loaded down with bags, not one person offered to help with my bags. VERY surprised and disappointed. I would have thought that at least one of the six Trump employees I passed would have offered to grab a bag to help me. By far the old Elysian/new Waldorf is just far superior. We have been there twice and there is just no comparison. Service and rooms at Waldorf, more expensive but far superior.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed with the furniture in the room and the lack of signage that Rebar was closed for a private event.

I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Chicago.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,076
    152
    46
    21
    11
See reviews for
309
424
64
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for a recent business trip and was blown away by the amenities, the room and the location. First off, when you check in they give you hot towels to wipe your hands. My room was on the Spa Floor (14M) and was by far, the nicest room I've ever stayed in. You need your key card to access the elevators but one keycard will work even if you have people going to multiple floors.

The room was enormous with a king size bed, couch, 2 chairs, a table, a desk etc. Even with all the furniture, there was a big open space and it could have easily fit 8 people comfortably (not to sleep but to be in the room) and then some. The nicest part was the window. One half of the room was entirely covered by windows that had an amazing view of the river, the lake and the Chicago skyline. Automatic curtains slowly opened to reveal the breathtaking view. There as even a set of binoculars to go with the view.

The room featured plenty of cable channels (including the entire HBO lineup), workout videos and a set of weights (The room was big enough so that 6 people could work out to a DVD together if they had too), a soaking tub with a set of spa bath salts, body creams etc, a stand up shower, a TV in the bathroom mirror so that you could watch TV while you were getting ready, lighting that you could change with a touch of a button (evening, daytime, fully on, nightlights etc), fluffy robes, coffeemaker, fridge and decent bar to name a few.

The bed was super comfortable and in the morning they had complimentary Harney and Son tea and coffee.

I will say that the service was just ok and not as good as other luxury hotels I've stayed in such as the the Four Seasons. No one offered to take my luggage when I walked in, no one attempted to open the door when the car pulled up, and in the morning when I left, I needed a cab and there were a bunch of people standing around talking and no one asked if I needed a ride/cab etc. I had to approach them. Also, there was no cream at the complimentary coffee/tea area. I mention this not because I'm being a snob but just to give a comparison against other luxury (and even not so luxurious) properties.

All in all the room itself was nothing short of amazing but the service can be a better. I still gave it 5 stars because I was blown away by the room and amenities, but as mentioned, service was not up to par with other hotels in the same category.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent stay. While I am very happy to read your positive comments, I would like to extend my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed by the lack of assistance with your luggage and locating transportation for you upon your departure.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Trump for 2 nights in November. It was nothing short of fabulous. At check in we were upgraded to a River View Suite room. It was very large and beautiful. Full kitchen, living room with fireplace, dressing room, large bedroom, and 2 full bathrooms. The mattress and bedding are the most comfortable that we have ever slept on. Best nights of sleep we have had in a long time. The main bath had a large stand alone shower, bath, double sinks, and a TV in the mirror. Top notch throughout!
As this was to be a relaxing getaway for my husband and I we decided to book the couples massage in the Spa. It was a little pricey but in my mind, worth it! It was more than just a massage, it was a full experience. Upon checking in, we changed in to robes and slippers and relaxed by the pool which was very quiet. There are also saunas and steam rooms in the locker rooms to use. We then went into the spa lounge which was relaxing. We were treated to complimentary sparkling wine while waiting. When called back we sat in soaking infinity tubs for the first half hour then on to our 60 minute massage. It was one of the best massages i have ever received.
One great thing about this hotel is that we never felt out of place. We are not wealthy people and this was a splurge for us. But we were treated the same as everyone else.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you and your husband enjoy your vacation time with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention we pay towards training and developing our colleagues and we understand the importance this plays in ensuring your holiday experience exceeds your expectations.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times, love the location, size of rooms (suites), view of the lake, and staff.
But the concierge service is not at par for the property. I can't rely on anything recommended by any of the people at the desk.
Love the Audi car service, nice touch.
The mattress in my suite needs replacing, dips too much from use.
But overall it is good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Director of Rooms at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. While I am very happy to read your positive comments, I would like to extend my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed by your initial experience with our Concierge team.

I welcome you to contact me directly by calling the hotel at 312.588.8000 so that I may fully investigate your experience. I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Nienke Oosting
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We’ve stayed at the Chicago Trump a few times; always a delight. This stay, the Hotel Manager greeted us on check-in and presented our nine-year-old daughter with cotton candy and a “bling” Trump baseball cap, followed by a large chocolate chip cookie with all the “fixings” in our room as a birthday greeting for her. It was a fun experience having all this attention being showered on our humble family in the midst of movie stars and TV and sports personalities who were going about their business in the hotel all around us. Whatever reason that brings you into Chicago, it will certainly be enhanced with a stay at the Trump.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Chicago Trump a few times and have never been less than 100% thrilled with everything from our service and beautiful rooms to the fabulous food and tasty martinis. The rooms are spotless and oh so comfortable from the bedding (I am sheet snob), to the furnishing to sit back and enjoy the view. Pricier but if you are looking for truly spectacular, this is it.

Room Tip: We called the day we were traveling and got a great rate hundreds less than the best rate online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for commenting on our Bellino Italian linens.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently stayed at the Trump for the second time this past month. Upon checking in we were upgraded to a larger room which ended up being a suite. It was a nice gesture by the staff especially since there was a rather large meeting going on and I was rather surprised by the upgrade. The room was wonderful. Always clean and well maintained. The service staff was excellent and very attentive without being pushy. The front desk staff was also very welcoming upon checkin. The concierge was helpful and friendly and arranged dinner for us on short notice and was able to get things set up without any problems. The location of the Trump is wonderful in Chicago. Very close to shopping, restaurants and anything else you might need. One night we enjoyed the in-room dining because we just wanted to stay in and watch Monday Night Football. The food was better than expected and the service, once again, was very attentive but not pushy at all. When traveling to Chicago this hotel should certainly be on your short list.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view over the river if you can. Wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention we pay towards training and developing our colleagues and we understand the importance this plays in ensuring your holiday experience exceeds your expectations.

Once again, thank you for continuing to chose to stay at Trump Chicago. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.