We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bradley, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Trump for 2 nights in November. It was nothing short of fabulous. At check in we were upgraded to a River View Suite room. It was very large and beautiful. Full kitchen, living room with fireplace, dressing room, large bedroom, and 2 full bathrooms. The mattress and bedding are the most comfortable that we have ever slept on. Best nights of sleep we have had in a long time. The main bath had a large stand alone shower, bath, double sinks, and a TV in the mirror. Top notch throughout!
As this was to be a relaxing getaway for my husband and I we decided to book the couples massage in the Spa. It was a little pricey but in my mind, worth it! It was more than just a massage, it was a full experience. Upon checking in, we changed in to robes and slippers and relaxed by the pool which was very quiet. There are also saunas and steam rooms in the locker rooms to use. We then went into the spa lounge which was relaxing. We were treated to complimentary sparkling wine while waiting. When called back we sat in soaking infinity tubs for the first half hour then on to our 60 minute massage. It was one of the best massages i have ever received.
One great thing about this hotel is that we never felt out of place. We are not wealthy people and this was a splurge for us. But we were treated the same as everyone else.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you and your husband enjoy your vacation time with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention we pay towards training and developing our colleagues and we understand the importance this plays in ensuring your holiday experience exceeds your expectations.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    176
    57
    25
    16
See reviews for
345
467
71
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times, love the location, size of rooms (suites), view of the lake, and staff.
But the concierge service is not at par for the property. I can't rely on anything recommended by any of the people at the desk.
Love the Audi car service, nice touch.
The mattress in my suite needs replacing, dips too much from use.
But overall it is good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Director of Rooms at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. While I am very happy to read your positive comments, I would like to extend my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed by your initial experience with our Concierge team.

I welcome you to contact me directly by calling the hotel at 312.588.8000 so that I may fully investigate your experience. I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Nienke Oosting
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We’ve stayed at the Chicago Trump a few times; always a delight. This stay, the Hotel Manager greeted us on check-in and presented our nine-year-old daughter with cotton candy and a “bling” Trump baseball cap, followed by a large chocolate chip cookie with all the “fixings” in our room as a birthday greeting for her. It was a fun experience having all this attention being showered on our humble family in the midst of movie stars and TV and sports personalities who were going about their business in the hotel all around us. Whatever reason that brings you into Chicago, it will certainly be enhanced with a stay at the Trump.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Chicago Trump a few times and have never been less than 100% thrilled with everything from our service and beautiful rooms to the fabulous food and tasty martinis. The rooms are spotless and oh so comfortable from the bedding (I am sheet snob), to the furnishing to sit back and enjoy the view. Pricier but if you are looking for truly spectacular, this is it.

Room Tip: We called the day we were traveling and got a great rate hundreds less than the best rate online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for commenting on our Bellino Italian linens.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently stayed at the Trump for the second time this past month. Upon checking in we were upgraded to a larger room which ended up being a suite. It was a nice gesture by the staff especially since there was a rather large meeting going on and I was rather surprised by the upgrade. The room was wonderful. Always clean and well maintained. The service staff was excellent and very attentive without being pushy. The front desk staff was also very welcoming upon checkin. The concierge was helpful and friendly and arranged dinner for us on short notice and was able to get things set up without any problems. The location of the Trump is wonderful in Chicago. Very close to shopping, restaurants and anything else you might need. One night we enjoyed the in-room dining because we just wanted to stay in and watch Monday Night Football. The food was better than expected and the service, once again, was very attentive but not pushy at all. When traveling to Chicago this hotel should certainly be on your short list.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view over the river if you can. Wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention we pay towards training and developing our colleagues and we understand the importance this plays in ensuring your holiday experience exceeds your expectations.

Once again, thank you for continuing to chose to stay at Trump Chicago. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location, 5 star service. Now this is a true 5 star property. I usually stay at The Peninsula when in Chicago. All of their suites were booked, so made our reservation at The Trump in a well appointed suite. Large full service kitchen, and living room with fireplace. Great comfy luxurious bedroom, with a separate vanity table area for me to apply my makeup.
I travel so frequently to Chicago, and stay at Peninsula and eat at the best restaurants, which shame on me I need to start leaving reviews for, and I will :-) This truly was a spectacular 5 star property, with great customer service and beautiful suite. Cannot say enough wonderful things :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central valley california
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel in the best location in the most wonderful city .. look no further (yes, it was great!) ... treated like royality, everyone from check in to check out treated us like they would Mr Trump... service and surroundings were impecable. Professional and kindness combined to make our whole family feel welcomed and special. Chicago was fabulous.. the museums, public art (THE BEAN is awesome), shopping, taxi drivers and shop keepers very friendly and helpful. so much to do and see, and having the trump as "home" was a treat.

Room Tip: ask for a river view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.