We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit & Comp Parking
Ranked #6 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Awesome hotel and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently spent a night at the Trump Tower in Chicago for our Honeymoon. The room was beautiful and the view was awesome. The staff was the best I have ever seen. All so friendly and on top of everything.

We went for a walk around town, and when we got back to our room the Managment had sent up a Bottle of Champagne and 4 Chocolate covered strawberries. How Romantic.

Way to go Donald. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. And the location was perfect.

Linda Resch

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to extend my congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago to celebrate your honeymoon.

I am very pleased to read that you and your spouse enjoyed your time with us and that you would recommend your experience.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,067
    152
    48
    21
    12
See reviews for
311
428
64
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had the good fortune to stay at Trump Hotel & Tower in Chicago on a recent trip. We were upgraded to a riverview room and it didn't disappoint. Glorious views, clean rooms, personable staff. If I have one complaint it's that, like many new hotels, there isn't a real bathroom door on the bathroom. It's a glass sliding door. What ever happened to privacy, please! But the rest of the place is great. And the kitchen is a major plus! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Recommend a river view...really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Last weekend we stayed at the Trump in Chicago. We travel to Chicago around 7-8 weekends during the course of the year and usually stay at the Peninsula or the Four Seasons. A friend of ours recently stayed at the Trump and really enjoyed it, so we thought we would give it a try.

For those that are unfamiliar with Chicago, the Trump is located just north of the river and about a block from Michigan Avenue. This makes it really convenent for anything south of the river, like the art museum or Millenium Park, or the theaters on Randolph Street. I personally like 4-5 blocks north though because it's more convenient to the stores I want to visit

We were met by friendly valets and bell boys when we arrived and were directed to the hotel lobby, where we were greeted with smiles and immediate taken care of. Although it was early (10:30 AM) our room was ready, which was nice. Bags followed us upstairs to the 25th floor immediately.

We stayed in a regular king room with a great city view. As you enter the room you walk down a long hallway that had a kitchenette type set up and the bathroom was on the left. My husband joked that if we came back he'd just make me cook in the room. Fat chance. The honor bar refrigerator was a Sub Zero, equipped with an ice maker and a nice assortment of stuff, particularly the little glass bottles of Diet Coke, which I love. There were great honor bar snacks on the counter, and a single serving coffee pot and microwave, none of which we used. Also over the top was a selection of bottled water, with a bottled water menu. I kept thinking about all those unlucky people that were without water at all on the east coast after the hurricane, so it made me feel bad.

We are picky about our bathroom. I'm probably the last person in the world that still likes to take a bath, so we like a set up with a separate stand-alone shower from the bathtub. While this bathroom had that, both the shower and the bathtub were right next to each other and the shower door enclosed them both. So you really wouldn't be able to have one person in your party shower while the other bathed without the bather getting showered. The counter top at the sink was really too small to contain stuff for two people. There was a TV in the mirror, but my problem with that was it was smack dab in the space I need to use to get ready. Towels, bathrobes, makeup mirror were all very nice. The toilet was the low flush variety and ran for quite some time after it was flushed.

Our room itself was nice and large with a nice seating area in front of the windows, as well as a desk. Sheets and bed linens were also first rate, and the turn down service was nice with bottled water left on both of our night stands.

After having lunch and doing some shopping, we returned to the Trump and had a cocktail at Rebar before we went to change for dinner. Really a nice vibe and good bartenders too and bar snacks!

We had trouble getting a cab as we were leaving for dinner as there was too much going on in the front of the hotel for someone to help us and not enough staff. We crossed the street and hailed our own, but I think you should be able to get help with cabs and not have it take forever.

After dinner we returned to Rebar for a night cap and again were treated very well. The nice thing about this bar is that you can be dressed to the nines or in jeans and you will feel equally comfortable either way.

The main reason I'm not giving Trump 5 stars is because we thought that the rooms were not very soundproof. At one point we heard a cleaning person vacuuming outside our door, but the worse thing that happened is that we were startled awake at bar time by a couple screaming at each other outside in the hallway. Then another couple got involved. It went on for about 10 minutes, and just as we had decided to contact hotel security the group finally went to bed.

Our room service breakfast was just great too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I never forget my stay 3 months ago at the Trump International Hotel & Tower. It's really an awesome experience to share with all you guys.The windy city which is famous for its architecture with tall buildings gives a stunning performance to the visiting travelers and even to the viewers passing by. The stunning design of the hotel itself makes us to pay attention to the locations there. My personnel advice about the hotel is that ,everyone must visit this amazing hotel atleast once in their lifetime.

Room Tip: Rooms are super good clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you regard your stay to be one of the best experiences you have had. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff is friendly and attentive. The room is the most well appointed room ever. There is a TV embedded into the mirror in the bathroom. The desk drawer is stocked with supplies. The room service menu has a page for pets. There is even a live plant. Great location as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fabulous views from a unique perspective onto the towers of the Wrigley and Tribute buildings as well as the skyline in general, the Chicago River and the Lake. Excellent service. Splendid location from which one can walk to most points of interest in the City core.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments about our 5 star service and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Trump Chicago this past June. Since it was an extra-special occasion, we booked a Grand Deluxe River View Suite. The view was absolutely stunning, and the room was huge. Bigger than our first apartment (and second, for that matter).

The service was wonderful as always, and I also appreciate how quiet and spotlessly clean the hotel is. We're looking forward to taking our kids there in December for a quick pre-Christmas trip!

Room Tip: We booked through ClassicTravel.com and got a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for booking your Christmas return trip to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us in June for your 20th wedding anniversary.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back along with your children to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your second visit.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#5 Business Hotel in Chicago
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.