We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move over Peninsula, Ritz and Four Seasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comp Parking + F&B Credit
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
chicago, illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Move over Peninsula, Ritz and Four Seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Chicago is home to many first class hotels. My family has stayed at many of them, but we agree this definitely wins.

Many Chicagoans resisted the idea that Trump could come in, build a new skyscraper and a great hotel to boot - the same way we resisted the name change from Sears to Willis Tower (it's still the Sears Tower) or sale of Marshall Fields to Macy's (it's still Marshall Fields to us) but the Trump is a legitimate contender in the top rung.

Rooms - huge! We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was 1200 square feet and had 2 bathrooms. We would have paid a couple hundred more $ for the Peninsula's (or Ritz or 4 Seasons) 900 square foot junior suite with 1 bathroom. Perfect for family of four. Rooms still look new, expected from a 4 yr old hotel. Has all the high tech bells and whistles ie remote drapes, tv in bathroom mirror, etc. The kitchen is a great addition specially for any family. We bought food at a nearby Trader Joe's and and stocked our full sized refrigerator well.

Bathroom - very nice and well equipped. Lovely limestone tiles and fittings. Huge as well. Water pressure could have been better; shower door has 1/2 ich gap that other reviewers mentioned; the sliding door to bathroom has no lock. The toiletries, while not branded Molton Brown / l'Occitane / Bvlgari of the aforementioned hotels, were very nice - light lemongrassy scent and in bigger bottles. They have the nicest bathrobes I have seen in any hotel.

Kid friendly - the kids adored this hotel. They were treated to cotton candy and cap at check-in, chocolate in the room, etc etc. The pool was bigger than 4 Seasons or Ritz, probably as big as the Peninsula, with all the pool toys to boot. I should say that if you are an adult looking for a serene experience at the pool you may be disappointed. Free play station and videos provided by concierge sealed the deal for them.

Housekeeping - could be improved. Turn down was perfect one night, incomplete the second (no foot towel, no shoe shine bag, toiletries not restocked). Request to fix a nonworking drape not addressed. No hangers in one closet. Fuji water provided every night was a nice touch. The room was spotless however.

Concierge - very helpful. Made numerous calls on our behalf and seemed genuinely willing to please.

Value - granted all 5 star hotels in Chicago are not cheap. Room service breakfast for 2 was $80, valet at $50/night. We ate out much of the time - Foodlife, Qdoba, many restaurants within a couple of blocks), and there's a Mcdonalds a block away. When we we considered the extra space, lower rates vs. comparable hotels, free wifi (I think the Ritz et al still charge for that), availability of a kitchen which allows you to save money on food - Trump delivers more for your hard earned $.

Service - very good overall. This is where aforementioned hotels are slightly superior. There's simply a certain maturity and confidence to the service at those hotels that Trump staff need to acquire. But the enthusiasm is definitely there.

Would we come here again? Yes! We'll back - hopefully very soon!

PS - highly recommend the CityPass if you are touring Chicago seriously. And the deluge shower in the gym area is terrific.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    185
    60
    28
    20
See reviews for
370
506
75
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
439 helpful votes 439 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

During my last trip, I paid Trump International a visit. A staff was kind enough to show me the range of rooms. I was impressed with the River View executive room. So I booked it for this trip online.
Location: Excellent, still very close to the magnificent mile and the river.
Service: Overall good except the Valet parking staff.
Facilities: The restaurant and bar are small with limited menu.
Room: Our executive River view room I believe is an accessible room with a long egree or corridor from the room door. A king bed and a sofa bed. We stated and paid for 3persons in the room, but the sofabe was not set up. We expect in such grade hotel the sofabed would be retracted to a sofa after the housekeeping round in the morning, and set up at evening turned down. But at such 5-star property, I have to remind the Guest service twice which is a bit disappointing. Then they send some candies and cookies up as a kind gesture.
The room is with a kitchen and an island, very spacious room. IF you want more space, try to look for a room without a kitchen island. We found it very nice to chill out with some Chicago deepdish pizza and oysters takeaway.

Overall this is one of our best stays in Chicago.

Room Tip: River view, should emphasize not to have a access room, that you lose some space with the accessibli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

The service from the moment you check in until you check out is amazing. The size and decor of the rooms are memorable. Steps away from Michigan Avenue, can't ask for more.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are considering returning. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.


Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Kentucky, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My only problem with this venue was booking my room, and the individual wasn't very pleasant. My husband and I have been privileged to stay in many beautiful, upscale places. The staff was incredibly courteous and the room was immaculate and quiet. While a bit more than some downtown hotels, it is more like a studio condo -- dishwasher, fridge, microwave, two burners for cooking. There's a television in the bathroom mirror! Luckily, our group was informed we will be returning there next year for our meeting. Central to North Michigan Avenue shopping and State Street, as well as many theaters. House of Blues just a block away. If you can afford it, stay here while visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at the Trump.The hotel is upscale and the food was great!I had the best drink ever there at the bar,I will return for that and the nice nice people that work in this hotel. They were true professionals. I loved this hotel great expierence!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotels, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoy your time with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention to detail by our entire team and facilities. Our team makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves; we strive to ensure our guests recognize the services and facilities we provide as offering a high level of value and a warmly memorable experience.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

my job requires me to travel A LOT, so I've had my fair share of hotel stays around the world, and i have to say in the US this hotel was the best hotel experience i've ever had. compared to its competitors in the area, the trump has fairly reasonable rates for what it offers: luxury and convenience.

first off, i was greeted at the front desk by hotel staff who offered me a warm towel and water. very pleasant and professional. impeccable service from the doormen, check in staff, bell and housekeeping service.

i was given a room on the 21st floor. the view was spectacular. on one side i could see the lake and navy pier, on the other, i could see a beautiful cross section of the city, with the cta tracks running alongside the street. truly breathtaking. one of my closest friends works in urban planning. i had to send her pictures. for night time, you can close the curtains with a switch.

the room had two large king size beds with plush bedding. great nights' sleep. the desk was huge, enough space for my work station, with boxes of chocolates waiting for me. there was a bose radio and an iphone dock for charging. lamps everywhere for extra lighting, but i didn't really need it because of the large windows and the tall ceiling. the tv was a lcd flat screen with a dvd player. a kitchen with a nespresso machine, microwave, sink etc. the bathroom was wonderful, full tub and shower with two heads and a tv in the mirror.

the gym on 14M - so spacious. everything you'd need, also with a beautiful view of the city. they also have fitness classes spaced from 7 am-ish to 7 pm. the female locker room offers spa amenities like various scrubs, shaving cream, hair products, etc. i was really impressed to see they had hair ties available too. not rubber bands but hair ties. i'm often without them when traveling so when i go work out and ask the gym staff at other hotels i usually get a rubber band. the little things really make a difference.

the room service food selection was really impressive, with breakfast they have a european selection with various cheeses, a chinese breakfast with dimsun and congee, a japanese bfast with tamago and salmon with miso, a mexican bfast with omelet, chorizo and horchata, really good but expensive, but they include everything in the bill so you don't have to write in a tip, which was semi-convenient.

for ANY occasion, if you're in Chicago needing a hotel, i recommend the trump. i changed to another hotel because of location and spg points after staying five days at the trump. even though the spg point service is really worthwhile esp when you hit platinum, i'm heading back to the trump.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotels, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoy your time with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention to detail by our entire team and facilities. Our team makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves; we strive to ensure our guests recognize the services and facilities we provide as offering a high level of value and a warmly memorable experience. I am honored you enjoyed your stay with us and still select our hotel over your platinum points.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

You seriously will be depressed when you leave bc you are treated this good by staff. We got a city view room on 22nd floor. It was amazing. The room had a little kitchen filled with snacks and goodies. If you sign up for the Trump points...they ask you what all your favorite things are and will have everything to your liking: room temp, pillows, snacks, drinks, music etc.
It is expensive but IF you can afford to treat yourself to such luxury for a night I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotels, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoy your time with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention to detail by our entire team and facilities. Our team makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves; we strive to ensure our guests recognize the services and facilities we provide as offering a high level of value and a warmly memorable experience.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.