We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional St. Patrick's Day stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional St. Patrick's Day stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our family decided to have a stay-cation in downtown Chicago over the St. Patrick's Day weekend. Keep in mind that we already had several things going against a relaxing weekend...our two-year old son, the unusual warm weather in Chicago this past weekend (large crowds of people everywhere), and the drunken debauchery that one would expect during such a celebration.

We arrived at the hotel at about 10am, expecting simply to park at the hotel and then return later in order to check in at 3pm. As soon as we told the valet attendants that we would be checking to the hotel, they immediately helped to get us situated with our luggage. When we checked in, we decided to upgrade from our deluxe room to the executive suite on the 25th floor--this was a great choice. The best thing about it was that we could check in right away...we didn't have to wait! We had the city, lake and river view. We were also at eye-level with the clock atop the Wrigley building...not to mention the fact that we watched as the boat crews were coloring the river green! We had the best view from our room!

The room was great...it was decorated nicely, the bed was comfortable, the kitchen area had everything we needed, including a refrigerator that was large and an ice-box with an ice-maker. I will agree with other reviews that it is a little odd that the bathroom door does not close all the way...it leaves about an inch and a half gap due to the placement of the door. We overlooked that feature quickly and were able to enjoy all of the other great features of the room...primarily the floor to ceiling windows...that in and of itself entertained our two year old to no end...it was great.

Aside from the amenities (pool area and exercise rooms are nice and complementary to all guests)...what was most important to us were the noise level at night and the staff. It was important that our son could sleep at night without being disturbed...we didn't hear a sound ...it was great! Also, the great, friendly staff made our stay absolutely enjoyable. Anything that we requested or inquired about was immediately addressed.

This hotel is probably one of the nicest we have stayed at, and the staff was the most professional and courteous that we have experienced.

Also, as far as hotel food is concerned, we ate at the hotel's restaurant twice...it is pricey, but the quality was exquisite. No complaints on any of it...

All and all, if you can afford it, I would highly recommend dishing out the money for this hotel. We had a lovely time and will certainly choose the Trump hotels in Chicago and other cities as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    176
    57
    25
    16
See reviews for
345
467
71
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at the Trump for 3 nights in early March. There was an online special for rooms at 30% off. The hotel is worth its weight in gold. From start to finish with the front desk check in personel, the concierge advise and efficiency, the beautiful well appointed rooms, there is no doubt this hotel is a well oiled machine. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at any 5 star hotel. When we arrived home I noticed that I had left my iphone charger in the room. I called security, they located the charger and immediately sent it with no charge. This is why we will return to this hotel every time we visit Chicago

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotels, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoy your time with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention to detail by our security department. Our team makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves; we strive to ensure our guests recognize the services and facilities we provide as offering a high level of value and a warmly memorable experience.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We just got back from a long Chicago weekend with our two kids. I've been to the Trump Chicago before (40th birthday girls weekend!), but this was the first time for my husband and kids.

It was phenomenal. The service was impeccable and very thoughtful. We felt like celebrities instead of a Midwestern family of four. I worried a bit about bringing kids to such an upscale hotel, but the Trump staff made them feel more than welcome. (And the kids loved the huge pool!)

The location is also great. Just off of Michigan Ave., so it was easy to shop, visit Millennium Park and explore the city.

I'd also like to give a shout out to Lance at ClassicTravel.com. I stumbled upon the website for this NYC-based travel agency last year. They belong to the "Virtuoso" network of travel agencies, which lets you get free upgrades, free breakfasts, etc., at upscale hotels in the Virtuoso network.

So we ended up getting a free upgrade to a river-view suite at the Trump (perfect for watching the city of Chicago dye the river green on St. Patrick's Day), as well as $60 toward room service breakfast each day and a $100 spa credit. Although the Trump isn't cheap, I felt like these extras added a lot of value.

Room Tip: River-view rooms are great. You can see the river, some of the lake and also great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotels, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on TripAdvisor. I would also like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the very near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Thee absolute BEST hotel I've ever stayed in! Catered wonderfully to kids, any concerns I had and really went above and beyond! It's the Disney World of Chicago!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Trump provided professional car service from the airport. The room was very clean, very big and beautiful. We over looked the river and the city. The Sunday brunch at SIXTEEN was elegant and delicious. After brunch we relaxed by the pool and read the Sunday paper. We will return to The Trump.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

It was very nice. The girls and I (two 16 year old’s) booked this hotel in early January for a train trip to Chicago while the boys in the family went to Florida to watch spring training baseball. The service was great, front desk, bellman, spa attendants, attache service, house keeping, maintenance (TV issues) were all impeccable. The room felt spacious and rich. Oh, the bed I could live in forever.
The restaurant recommended for dinner was perfect. The arriving chocolates were some of the best I've enjoyed. There were little cakes when they turned the room down for the girls, in celebration of their recent birthdays. Housekeeping was invisible, which means they did an excellent job. I cannot make a single complaint about the property. OK, two small things, the bathroom frosted sliding door did not close completely (room 2216 in case your interested, Donald) we had all girls, not an issue. Second room service forgot the Chantilly cream for the Wimbledon fruit bowl and the syrup for the french toast. A quick call and all fixed. Away from the property review the other guests were rude and we felt like country bumpkins. A polite hello on the elevator was met with...........nothing. I know a lot of foreign guests stay at this hotel and may not understand, not the case here. Most of the rudeness came from guests/residents that were black clad from head to pointy toe, honest to goodness english speaking folks. They spoke, just not to us, in response to a spoken courtesy.
We got glances that were not kind. The girls were in the dark, except during one of their trips to the spa. That was when I felt bad for choosing this hotel. I chose this hotel, like we chose Chicago. We spent a long weekend, Friday through Monday, spent 1000's of dollars in your city. The Trump Towers courted us with a reduced booking reservation. If these are the world travelers that stay at fancy hotels I'll stay at the hotel that gives you a card for a free drink and chips and salsa next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I took my wife into the city for her birthday and e stayed at the Trump. We have stayed at RThe Peninsula, Four Season, Park Hyatt and while they were all nice, none had the feel and the service of the Trump Hotel. From the minute we walked in and got a great upgrade at no charge throught the ammenities of the hotel and service, it was a wonderful experience. This will be our destination in the city for years to come.

Room Tip: Room 1406..best view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.