We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Batavia, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Luxury at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

From the moment we drove up to the hotel, everyone we came into contact with seemed genuinely pleased and interested in the fact that we were staying at Trump International. We were meeting 3 other couples for a long weekend in Chicago (2 were from Baton Rouge) and the rooms were amazing. The views from The Terrace were spectacular, as were the views from our room. I loved the workout facility - again, amazing views. The Spa at Trump was a delight and my facial was especially relaxing. Mr. Trump really knew what he was doing when he chose this location for his Chicago property. Easy walking distance to shopping, water taxi and some of the boat rides are very close, and lots of restaurants in the area. I'd love to stay here again and again, but more of a special occasion price point for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read that your stay with your friends exceeded your expectations and that we were able to ensure your time with us was relaxing and memorable.

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    179
    58
    25
    17
See reviews for
350
476
72
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Trump Chicago this past weekend. We absolutely loved it. Our room was beautiful (we loved the little kitchenette) and the staff is amazing!!!! Everyone we encountered was so professional, helpful and, most importantly, nice. We didn't have time to work out in the gym, or swim in the pool but we did take a look at them and they are equally amazing. We live in Chicago, but hope we have the opportunity to stay at this gorgeous property again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are considering returning. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Chicago Trump Hotel.
The staff was wonderful , courteous
And very helpful.
The hotel and building are visually stunning. We had a lake/river view suite that had breath taking views of Chicago's amazing skyline,
We will stay here again for sure !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are considering returning. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildeer, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I gave this a 3 star rating only because of the valet that took handled our luggage both to and from our room. He was exceptional. The balance of the experience was less than average for the price we paid. We had a $750 king suite with a river view to take our granddaughter downtown for a play. The room itself was extremely nice. Great views and nicely laid out. The balance of our experience was disappointing. We had no turn down service and when the service staff arranged the pullout bed for our granddaughter, they did not provide a pillow or adequate blankets. The second bathroom only was provided with shampoo. No conditioner, no shower mat, nothing other than shampoo. The tub drain did not work properly while the shower drain clogged. The drapes that reveal the view we pay extra for, are electric and operate by a switch. Half of the drapes in the master bedroom did not open in the morning. When our granddaughter received her candy gift, not only did they spell her name wrong, they used a male name (isn't that what Trump fires people for!). We had to ask the service staff for towels when we called for the turn down service. We did not eat dinner there, but the lunches were expensive and not exceptional for the price. Bottom line, it became humorous for the price we paid. This is an annual event for us and we stay at the Fine Hotels in Chicago for this. This was by far the most expensive and most disappointing of all the hotels. They really do not accomodate children like the other Fine Hotels in Chicago (this comes from my granddaughter).

I'm assuming we had a bad experience that occasionally happens. The worst part of all was how the manager handled this at checkout. She asked about the experience and obviously knew of the turn down mistake. When I briefly explained it got worse, she apologized and offered to cover the $25 balance of our breakfast. The breakfast we had would have cost $20 at an expensive breakfast restaraunt. The actual bill was $75 since we had a $50 credit coming as part of our Amex package. With this offer she only added insult to the the experience. Our total bill was over $1,000 for one night. I'm assuming other hotels would have handled this much differently.

I'm assuming that the high ratings this hotel receives are probably warranted as most of the staff does seem to try hard. Mechanical issues like our blinds will occur. The way the other issues were handled simply does not match what I would expect from a Fine Hotel and one with the Trump name on it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Director of Front Office Operations at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for communicating your concerns during your recent visit with me last week. We strive to constantly improve our services and listening to our guests and responding to their requests and feedback is an essential part of that process.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the multiple service laps during your recent stay. We are taking immediate steps to address the deficiencies you have noted and want to assure you that these types of occurrences are rare and do not reflect the level of service we aspire to.

You are a valued patron of Trump International Hotel and Tower and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on future occasions.

Sincerely,

Nienke Oosting
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Some friends and I stayed a night at the Trump Hotel for a birthday celebration. This hotel was simply amazing. The customer service was awesome and the hotel was elegant, modern, and clean. Every time we walked into the hotel I was greeted by staff by then saying, "Welcome Mr. __________(my last name)". I have no complaints about this hotel and would recommend highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your friend’s birthday and for taking the time to post a review of your experience. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would recommend your experience. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is the kind of hotel you fantasize about. It's like an upgraded Hilton. I love the modern-ness. Of course, it's expensive, but it's worth it. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the city. The service was wonderful and fast. One thing that blew us away was the 'pillow menu'. You could choose extra pillows! Scented, Neck, Shoulder, Therapeutic, WHAT!?! The bathroom was amazing and very clean, with a built in tv in the mirror. We had a great view of the river, and if a river view room is available, I recommend it. It's gorgeous and relaxing. If you want to go to Chicago just to relax, get a suite here and you're all set. It's great to come back and relax to, or to just stay home all day! I remember one day we got a complimentary chocolate truffle plate. I mean, who does that?! They were delicious, too. The mini bar in the room was great too. Expensive, but great. Almost anything you want. Anyone looking for a hotel in Chicago willing to spend quite a bit of money, Trump is your thing. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel.

I am very pleased to read that your stay exceeded your expectations and that we were able to ensure it was relaxing and memorable.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a really great experience at the Trump Hotel in Chicago, and this review is long overdue. We were there for a weekend - Friday night to Sunday afternoon. The hotel and its staff were very kid-friendly, and my little one, who has severe nut allergies, was able to eat there safely. The kids even got little kid-sized robes - waffle-weave on the outside, terry on the inside - matching slippers and stuffed animals. The service was great, everyone was very polite and friendly, and the location was great, too. We walked to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Pizzeria Uno, etc. Our one bedroom suite was HUGE - the microwave came in VERY HANDY, as well as all the plates and silverware. Best part was the Nespresso machine in the kitchen. Also great were the Lutron light switches and the fact that housekeeping rolls around these carry-on-type bags when they clean the rooms, so as to not block the entire hallway with a service cart of towels and toiletries. I haven't seen either of these in a FS or RC yet. Also nice, but not necessary, were the automatic drapes, the TV in the master bathroom and the multitude of closets.

One thing that surprised me was the fact that my little guy's food allergies were not communicated to the restaurant or room service by the front desk. FS and RC both do this. Also, the cookies were a nice touch, but he couldn't - and didn't - eat them (his big brother enjoyed them instead). The onus is, of course, always on us to alert people to his food allergies, but FS and RC usually tell us as soon as we call for room service or walk into one of their restaurants, that they are aware of his food allergies. We stayed at this hotel a while ago though, so maybe the communication is better now. Nonetheless, as I indicated above, he was able to eat at the hotel quite safely.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.