We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizano's Pizza in The Loop

Pizano's Pizza in The Loop
61 East Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)
312 236 1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #703 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
dublin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were just walking around looking for a Italian restaurant when we came upon this place, it was packed outside so we decided to go in, and it was worth it, great apostrophe and buzz, we ordered pizza for 2 and it came in a cast pan, great food, will go back or if anywhere else,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    124
    44
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“There are better Italian places in Chicago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Food was pretty good and the portions were huge. We were a party of 8 so we sampled lots of dishes. Wife said the four-cheese tortellini was like the world's best Italian mac-and-cheese. Calamari was chewy. Deep dish pizzas were well received. Bruschetta was just so-so. All in all, high average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fresh and Just Plan Ummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This will be a short review, because unless something is wrong all I can address is the food.

Great food, had salads, pizza deep and thin crust. Not disappointed. I normally am not a pizza person, but this place was the exception. Clean restaurant with an efficient staff make this place worth the drive into the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked a large group event for lunch in the basement room. Chris was very helpful with the planning and responded to all questions left on his voicemail and sent via email. His staff was very friendly and quick to help with our large group. We had the Italian Wedding soup, salad with the Mark's Special deep dish pizza and everyone seemed to enjoy it. Not being from the area I am not an expert on Chicago deep dish pizza, but as I thought it was delicious. I would consider coming back to this location in the future whether working in the area or just visiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Try THIN crust pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a friendly, very busy place. It's notable that the clientele have a huge age span - we saw couples, families with young children and lots of Nonnas. The atmosphere is cheerful and the thin crust pizza was one of the best I've ever tasted. Sorry but I find the deep dish version just too rich.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizano's Pizza in The Loop also viewed

 

Been to Pizano's Pizza in The Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizano's Pizza in The Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.