We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right price & location for a boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Room

Save Saved
You added Ruby Room to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ruby Room
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   1743-45 W Division St, Chicago, IL 60622 (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The right price & location for a boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for a romantic weekend and loved the ambiance, rooms & the location. It's not downtown but instead in Wicker Park which is a really fun neighborhood to shop, eat, & drink in. You can walk everything you need, including the train downtown. We also were able to find a deal & book for around $100/night.
The only downside is that we had been under the impression it was a B&B of sorts. They did not offer breakfast - only coffee & tea.
Everything else was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
19
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Be aware the rooms are a four story walk up on a narrow staircase. The garden room we occupied was bereft of furniture; no place to put anything. Miniscule bedside tables, a tiny chest of drawers, and one chair made up the furnishings. For some reason the owners had decided to spend lots of money on elaborate panelling but not on furniture!! Beds and the bathroom are not cleaned for the next day. BUT THE ABSOLUTE WORST ASPECT WAS: NO HOT WATER ON SATURDAY MORNING AT 8:30 AM!!!!!! Totally inexcusable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubyroom, Owner at Ruby Room, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Mark,

Your right, no hot water is inexcusable. We installed hot water on demand systems in all our rooms for this exact reason. It appears, yours was not working properly during your stay and I would like to extend a refund for your inconvenience. The room you stayed in is also our smallest and with a king bed, there is not much room for additional furniture. Based on your feedback, I have decided to change to single beds to allow for more furniture. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We don't always get it right, but we are committed to our guests. You can reach me anytime at john@rubyroom.com. Many thanks, John Leydon, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here on New Years Eve because we had plans within a mile or so of this hotel. And it was the only hotel that wasn't a hostel. We found the room to be spacious, comfortable and clean. Also, we were on the third floor right next to the coffee kitchen and it was great to have some coffee and tea for free in the morning. The stairs are narrow and you do need to bring your suitcases up that way, but we knew that in advance and it was no problem. Thanks for exactly what we needed. No problems checking in late and finding the packet in the mailbox as instructed and our keys inside.

Room Tip: 3B was right next to the coffee kitchen. Very spacious. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ruby Room is really cool in its charm, little touches, and connection to what seems to be an awesome spa. My stay was brief but I was generally pleased. The room reminded me of my apartment back home - hardwood floors and little rugs. Unfortunately, hearing my neighbors upstairs walk around and the neighbors next door have a conversation made it also seem like home rather than an escape/getaway. That's my only complaint and why it gets 3, not 4 stars (or should I say circles?)

The bed and pillows were so comfy. The books in the room were fun to look at. The chair in the room was comfortable. The a/c was just right. The shower was delightful. I loved the large mirror! The robes, hair dryer, and toiletries were great too. Didn't use the community kitchen but love the idea of it and that there is coffee there!

I would recommend this for people who like city life and just want a comfortable and authentic place, rather than some chain restaurant. I would bring ear plugs though or something to block out any noise at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

the rooms are wonderful at this well-located small hotel in the Wicker Park area of Chicago. The area is great. Many fine restaurants, creative stores, a lot to see just by walking. Well located on the Blue line of the subway--you can ride here in 35 minutes from the airport. Then you can take the same line to the Loop--downtown Chicago. And many other Chicago sections are not far by subway.
The rooms were beautiful--peaceful, large, quiet. Sort of minimalist--not the usual hotel room with lousy pictures or the feeling that many people have passed through this place. I could live there a long time except for the need to eat out.
The only thing of concern is that you need to walk up a rather steep and long stairway to get to your room, making the 2nd floor (the lowest one), a good choice.
Try the Ruby Room, you'll like it.

Room Tip: Just the second floor if climbing is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This review is for the hotel. My husband and I stayed at the Ruby Room for the weekend and loved the unique experience. I didn't have an issue with no elevator or the limited reception hours. The staff makes everything easy even if they're not around. There was a chalkboard in the hall where you could write requests. We needed more toilet paper, wrote it on the board, and in the morning it was waiting for us outside our room.

Liked:
- large, comfortable bed
- steam shower
- quiet and relaxing environment
- great service
- perfect location (great restaurants and shops within walking distance)

Disliked:
- parking was a little hard to find.
- no black out curtains so the room was very bright early in the morning.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We live out of state & had a family medical emergency in Chicago. The staff of The Ruby Room bent over backwards to work with us to secure lodgings despite the short notice. They were caring and helpful. The location was perfect--a short walk to the hospital, a variety of restaurants to catch a bite to eat. The room was an oasis at a very stressful time--quiet, clean, comfortable, and free Wi-Fi to keep in touch with other family members. Thank you, Ruby Room.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruby Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby Room

Address: 1743-45 W Division St, Chicago, IL 60622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruby Room 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best in the City" - Chicago Magazine.Ruby Room Hotel & Spa is one of Chicago's most unique overnight destinations. Just 8 minutes from downtown, in the heart of historic Wicker Park's restaurant, shopping and nightlife scene.Modeled in the European tradition, Ruby Room is neither a hotel nor a traditional B&B. Our concept is that of relaxation. By design, we do not offer telephones or televisions. We do not offer 24 hour reception or bellman services. We make a practice of not entering your room during your stay, unless requested. Ruby Room is a historic property and does not offer an elevator. Please keep this in mind, if you or any of your guests have a challenge with mobility. What we do offer are outrageously comfortable pillow top mattresses with 500 thread count linens, large marble and glass showers, 4 of which are equipped with commercial steam units along with complimentary AVEDA products. Crown molding and fine woodworking throughout. Modern furniture peppered with antiques, new community kitchen, gorgeous garden with waterfall and all a part of a day spa, hair salon, yoga studio, two retail boutiques, 5,000 square foot health club and a serene healing sanctuary. If you're looking for something super clean and relaxing, we offer a restful room attached to a unique spa in a super cool neighborhood. Your peace is our passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Ruby Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby Room Chicago
Ruby Room Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.