We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park/Play Discount
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marshall, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's all about location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in Chicago for a family wedding. It happened to be the same weekend as Taste of Chicago, so many hotels had already booked full. Through Hilton Honors we were connected with this charming hotel. It is connected to the Bank of America Theatre (we took in a matinee of "The Last Ship") and within walking distance of Amtrak, great restaurants, the parks, the Art Institute, shopping and more! Our room was clean, the service staff were friendly and professional. Everyone worked to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed on an upper floor and the view of the skyscrapers was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
DrTrish49068 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Hampton Majestic! I am happy to hear that you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your trip to Chicago for a family wedding. Finding our hotel to be "charming" is a great compliment, thank you so much. We strive each and every day to go above guest expectations and make each individual feel at home while with us. Glad to hear you had a wonderful time. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to The Hampton Majestic in the future. Enjoy your weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    356
    45
    7
    3
See reviews for
312
378
104
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pella, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Perfect location in Chicago's Theatre District, close to all the sites. The staff was amazingly helpful. I called to tell them that our Amtrak train was 6 hours late, and the girl offered to put together a bag of snacks and waters for our arrival. Another staff person offered to help me to my room with my breakfast tray. All of the staff we talked to were knowledgable of restaurants and the area and able to give detailed information. Fantastic restaurants within a couple of blocks. We were also amazed at how quiet our room was for being in the middle of downtown Chicago. The price is a little steep in high season (summer), but we thought it was worth it. We are staying here again in December. Our only complaint is that there was no refrigerator/microwave in the room, which, for the price, we felt there should have been.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Annette H ,

All of us here at The Hampton Majestic appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience. We are happy to see that our location was prime for you. Also, even though it didn't surprise me its great to hear such lovely comments in regards to our team here at the hotel. Each and every individual I feel truly enjoys being here. This is what makes our team so unique and special, we are like a family and we like to treat each guest as if they are at our own home. Glad you got the chance to experience some new restaurants in the area as well. Chicago is a wonderful city and we look forward to hosting you again in December. Have a great weekend!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I, along with our four kids, recently spent a few days at the Hampton Inn Majestic. We were on a cross-country road trip and stayed in over ten other hotels during the trip. This hotel ranked as the family's favorite of them all. Here's why: 1) Location - you can walk to Millennium Park, the Natural History Museum, the Art Institute and Willis Tour, for starters. Note: we like to walk, so you might think these places are far from the hotel. We have four kids under the age of eight, so if we/they can do it, so can you! 2) Rooms: High ceilings, large windows, clean, quiet... what else can you ask for. 3) Breakfast: A better than standard comp breakfast, with more than enough to satisfy our picky kids. 4) Service: Without question the best front-desk service I have ever had. I travel very frequently for business and have experienced the good and bad of service. The staff at the Hampton went above and beyond to accommodate the kids. We setup shop in the eating area to eat some deep-dish pizza and watch a movie. The staff offered the kids popcorn, drinks, etc... The kids felt so special to be able to watch Frozen in the hotel. I can't thank the staff enough. Here are two potential negatives about the property, but you need to be creative to see that they are not. 1) No pool... no problem. If you are traveling with kids walk down to Millennium Park and have them play in the fountain. 2) Valet parking is $55. Okay. So don't valet your car. Go to one of the half dozen lots within a few blocks of the property and save some coin. If you've read any of my previous reviews you will know that I ranked the Palmer House as my favorite downtown Chicago property. Not no more! I will be a loyal patron of the Hampton until they give me reason not to be. In fact, I will be spending the next few nights there on business travel. I'm looking forward to it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Jeepyg ,

I remember you and your lovely family! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic! We appreciate all your compliments and are happy to hear we gained you as a returning guest for your future trips to Chicago. I have a very adorable picture of the girls with Maggie (The Majestic Mut) watching Disney's Frozen in the lobby. Please contact me directly at the hotel if you are interested in a copy of the picture. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! You all enjoy your weekend ahead!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
312.395.9225
srice@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel was a great value and we would definitely stay there again. The room was always clean, there was no noise from the other guests or street noise. We were looking for a room that held 5 guests that was somewhat centrally located and not expensive, this hotel fit the bill. We walked to Shedd, Navy Pier, etc and while it was quite a hike when spending all day walking around museums, it was definitely doable. We weren't eager to use a cab so we lugged our suitcases to and from Union Station with no issues. The breakfast was good with lots of choices. The staff was nice, very friendly and outgoing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Sara S ,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. Im happy to hear that you were able to see the museums and Navy Pier as they are close to our hotel. We strive each day to provide our guests with exceptional service andit's nice to hear that our staff continues to do this. We look forward to the day we get to welcome you back ! Have a wonderful weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here not knowing a thing about Chicago. The hotel is historic yet the rooms are modern and fun. Room was clean and spacious. Free breakfast was excellent. Front desk, concierge and housekeeping were kind and helpful in many ways. Close to all things and great restaurants. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
varneykr,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while visiting our beautiful city. The history behind our property is which makes our Hampton Inn unique and very different from the rest, not to mention the prime location! I am happy to hear that the staff, cleanliness of the hotel and breakfast were above your expectations. We do our very best to ensure guests feel completely at home while joining us. We appreciate you passing the kind words along to others and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Enjoy the weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We picked the Hampton Inn in the Theater District based on Trip Advisor comments. They were right! The hotel is great. It is very close to all the right places, or a smooth bus ride to all the others. My family and I loved the room. Great beds, clean rooms, spotless bathroom. Cold a/c, superb breakfast, and really friendly staff. Oscar was the best! We truly needed his help and he came through every time. He provided great insider tips on where to eat, visit and places to "see." in Chicago. Our trip was over the top because every night we knew that our tired feet would be comforted by the best beds in town. Wow, best vacation so far. My kids (11 and 13) have not stopped talking about the trip and the hotel. We highly recommend "Motown, the Musical" as well. Great for the entire family save for one somewhat funny scene. Get a room here and you will not regret it, we promise!

Room Tip: Our room faced east and was very nice. Never heard any noise that was out of the ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
20BigAL14 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Hampton Majestic. I am pleased to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your time in Chicago. Glad our team was able to provide you with exceptional service as that's what we strive to do for each and every guest. I will be sure to pass your compliments over to Oscar. Our front desk team never fails to deliver when it comes to our guests. They always come out on top and I am so proud of them all. The team we have here is amazing and we are very fortunate to have such lovely employees at this hotel. Glad to hear you will be joining us again as we always look forward to welcoming back our guests. Have a wonderful weekend and thank you again!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The hotel staff were personable and considerate. Fred, who works at the desk, gave us helpful suggestions for navigating Chicago and tips for the best museums and tours. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn in the theatre district. It's also nice to be able to see a Broadway production in the same building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Jason P ,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Fred is an asset to our team. We are very fortunate to have Fred and many other leaders at our hotel that strive to go above and beyond for all our guests. We look forward to that day we get to host you again when your travels bring you back to Chicago. Thank you again and enjoy your weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.