We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is what differentiates this Hampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Service is what differentiates this Hampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have stayed at many Hampton Inns for business. This time for pleasure - family vacation to Chicago. I have to say that the staff at this Hampton far exceeded my expectations on all levels. From the bellman to front desk. They were extraordinarily friendly and went out of their way to ensure your needs were met. Case in point - upon arriving the first night asked about a local place to eat that was within easy walking distance. Front staff not only recommended a great Italian restaurant, but picked up the phone, made reservations and even sent over a complimentary appetizer while we were there! Seriously, no one does that at this price point. Another time I was having trouble with the hotel wifi, came down to the lobby with my IPAD to see if I could get better reception and the front desk staff came around looked at it and diagnosed the problem for me and fixed it! And another time, I needed a chocolate fix and they offered me some.... Can't get over that. Rooms were fine, breakfast fine (a tittle busy on the summer weekend - the breakfast area is not large). Only complaint was the charge for parking - $55 a night - steep - although I understand - I'm from the San Francisco area and have paid more. Overall, close to everything and if you want the loop area - this is a good choice. Kudos to the staff, they rock!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
TKD1BB ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience here at The Hampton Majestic. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We take hiring very serious here at our hotel. Our staff is exceptional and I wouldn't trade any one of them. It is our job to ensure that every guest each day receives great customer service. From the Bellman all the way to the General Manager I have to say we have star quality and It's lovely to hear such compliments from you. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon. Have a great week ahead!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    309
    34
    7
    2
See reviews for
259
336
95
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We wanted a hotel near theaters, the art museum, and public transportation. This hotel was the perfect choice, just 1/2 block off State St. We walked nearly anywhere we wanted to go, including the theater, the Willis Tower, the Art Institute, and the Magnificent Mile. A bus stop right around the corner got us to the Field Museum easily. A subway station for the blue line was around the corner in one direction and for the red line in the other direction, so getting to Wrigley Field was a breeze.
Our room was beautifully furnished with everything we needed (no refrigerator, of no importance to us). Breakfast was included, which is not the case in most downtown hotels, and it was the best hotel breakfast we've ever had -- lots of fresh fruit, a fine selection of hot dishes, and great coffee.
I can't say enough good things about the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and efficient. Checkin and checkout were easy. This will be our hotel of choice whenever we visit Chicago, and we've already recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
MHS5744 ,

Good afternoon! I just want to thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at The Hampton Inn Majestic. I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time while in Chicago. As I am not surprised to hear about our fantastic staff it is always nice to know we all continue as a team to strive to exceed expectations. The truth about our team is that our individuals truly enjoy being here and making our guests feel at home.Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Make it a great 4th of July weekend!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here on a Hilton Honors reward stay for 2 nights in early June. Given a room on the top floor. Room was fine and bed and pillows were comfortable. Arrived early and room was available which was a nice bonus. Hotel reception staff were pleasant. The free wi-fi was great to have as was the free breakfast. Hotel is a bit dated but good location makes up for. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with the Hampton Majestic. I am happy to inform you that the hotel is in currently making some updates: we will be getting new guestroom & corridor carpet, new guestroom wall vinyl & new soft seating. This renovation will be complete by Fall of 2014.

We look forward to showing you the updated hotel the next time you are in Chicago.


Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Clean, good location to shopping area and metro station and very clean room and complimentary breadfast is good for everyone. Hotel Staffs are very friendly and very polite to response what you asked for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. So glad you found our location perfect for your needs & our staff so friendly.


Thanks again for your feedback & we look forward to hosting you at the Hampton Majestic the next time you are in Chicago.


Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything was excellent from friendly check-in and complimentary water bottle to quick and easy check out. Complimentary breakfast was fresh, hot and tasty, and comprised of mini-omelettes, sausage patties and potatoes. A serving of fruits, coffee, tea and baked goods was also available. Outstanding hotel - 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for sharing your 5-star experience with the Hampton Majestic.

We look forward to hosting you at the Hampton Majestic the next time you are in Chicago.


Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a good hotel. Great location central to most attractions. Nice historic building. Rooms are clean and updated. Breakfast is really good. Staff was friendly and helpful. I gave this hotel four stars because the walls in the rooms seem very thin and we could hear everything from the next room. Young children in the next room were very loud, but after a call the staff did address it. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. So glad you found our location perfect for your needs & our staff so helpful. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the young children in the room next to you, I am glad the staff was able to address your concerns.

Thanks again for your feedback & we look forward to hosting you at the Hampton Majestic the next time you are in Chicago.

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our plane landed at 8:30am. We figured we would have to ask the hotel to hold our bags for us until check-in. Instead, they were able to check us in so we had a room to put our stuff, relax and re-group after a long morning of travel. It was a huge help!! Great Service!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Lindsey L ,

Thanks so much for taking the time out of your day to review your experience with us! We are happy to hear that we were able to get you into your room for an early check in. We strive to always provide our guest exceptional service. We hope to welcome you back to the property soon. Have a terrific weekend!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;