We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, quiet and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small, quiet and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is located adjacent to the Bank of America Theater, at the south end of Chicago's Theater District.

You will miss it is you are not looking because it is VERY narrow of a building, but that is actually what makes it great.

I stayed in the 12th floor and there were probably about 6 to 8 rooms total on the floor - very quiet without a lot of other guest traffic.

The hotel staff was excellent and friendly and they always had a doorman watching the elevators (the lobby is on the second floor). The hotel was very clean.

There isn't much so a lobby to speak of and is the same place they have their breakfast.

The biggest advantage is the hotel is in the heart of Chicago, minutes away from Millennium/Grant Park, Art Institute of Chicago, Michigan Avenue shopping, and many restaurants - and of course the theaters.

Great rates for a downtown hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear CinciJeff,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review on your most recent experience here with us here at The Hampton Majestic. As you mentioned we are in an older historic building that was built in 1905. We are right next to the Bank of America Theatre as well as many restaurants and shopping. We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    294
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
244
321
91
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. Went to the theatre on Saturday night. Great location for doing that. The service was excellent. Rooms were great. TV had some problems, but we weren't there to watch TV. Not a whole lot of decent dining close by (i.e., within walking distance), but the hotel is very close to the Blue and Red lines, so getting to and from excellent restaurants was easy. We'll stay here again....for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Mr. ScottQwerty ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel during your recent visit to Chicago. Hampton Inn Majestic is a great location when it comes to attractions and restaurants. I am happy that you got to experience a show while here. I do apologize for you not being educated on all the fabulous restaurants that are within walking distance. I will be sure to address this to my front office. Any feedback we receive always helps our team grow. Thank you again, and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Chicagoland area.

Sincerely,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of the best Hampton Inn's we've stayed at!! We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom corner suite! Lots and lots of space!! Having a bedroom, living room and separate eating/kitchen area is such a treat when traveling as a family! The breakfast in the morning was your average Hampton breakfast - but no complaints. I would definitely stay here again! Service was awesome! Valet's were super helpful and quick! The person working at breakfast offered to help cary the breakfast tray I was taking up to my kids, the front desk was very helpful answering any and all questions I had. Overall, loved my stay here! We had stayed at the Palmer House the night before. Despite the difference in the quality/luxury of the two places, I would choose the Hampton Inn again for a future stay!!

Room Tip: Pays to have Gold status with the Hilton Honors program for the upgrades, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Ms. Phoenixmom ,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Majestic! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us how nice your experience was. We are happy that we were able to accomodate your family with a larger room and go above and beyond for you as we always strive to do for our guests. I will be sure to pass along all the positive comments you have mentioned to our staff. We look foward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is a perfect place to stay to go to a show at the Bank of America Theater, since it is in the floors above the theater - the lobby is on 4th Floor and the rooms above. Other theaters are nearby. The building is historic - built as an office building and converted to a hotel less than 10 years ago. The rooms are good sized, the bathrooms very roomy. Comfortable beds - and the duvets are laundered for each guest - one of my favorite things about Hamptons. Complimentary breakfast is not all that common in downtown Chicago; this one is quite good - some form of eggs, meat, potatoes and waffles, plus all the usual cold choices.
The best part of this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff. General Manager Ross and his crew were pleasant, personable, and very helpful with suggestions about where to eat, where to find things in the surrounding area, and able to make reservations for tours, etc. at the desk. Thanks to this stellar staff, I will be back and happily so.
There is a subway station and an el station nearby. The Art Institute is just around the corner. It is just a few blocks from the old Marshall Fields store (now Macy’s) and a number of shopping choices. The hotel is surrounded by great restaurants. Altogether a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred M, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear mrsnelsonplays,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time out of your day to leave such kind words about our property. Our team is very lucky to have such a great leader at our property in Ross. We hope to see you again in the future whenever your travels bring you back to our lovely town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went to this hotel on an employee rate for my birthday trip. Great hotel, great service, great downtown location. The room was very clean, service was extremely helpful, and the location was new to me, but easy to get around once you walk around a bit. Room was a bit snug, but no big deal since it was just my mother and I. Quick walk to State Street shopping and great restaurants and bars. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Elle H,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to know that our location made your trip easy and convenient. It always makes the experience better! We hope that you come back to Chicago and the Majestic to explore anything you may have missed while you were here. We enjoyed having you with us.
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this location for 2 nights. The service by every single employee was unbelievable. I felt like I was at a 5 star hotel. The bellman and valet parking staff were so nice and easy to work with. The front desk staff was extremely helpful on any of our questions and check-in was a breeze. We needed a late check-out and they were happy to accomodate. The GM and the Director of Sales walked around every morning to say hello and ask if we needed anything. The GM even was passing out mints one morning at breakfast.

Hotel is small for Chicago. It is more of a botique type property. Great location for shopping in and around the State Street area. Garretts popcorn is the best and just a block away. A little far if you want to do Navy Pier or Michigan Avenue shopping but all modes of transportation are easy and inexpensive. It was only an $11.00 cab ride for a group of 7 of us to Navy Pier in each direction.

The rooms are very nice...high ceilings make the rooms feel even bigger than they are. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was fine and everything functioned without issue. Our room type did not have a fridge but they had no problems getting one to us right away. Hotel is in the Theatre District so the room decor was to me reminicent of the grand old days of theatre. Rooms were very clean...spotless. It is just a really cool building with lots of history. Ask anyone working there about the history and they will all give you some interesting facts. Elevators worked well. You do need your room key to insert which is a feature I like for saftey reasons. Breakfast was good standard Hampton Inn quality but the service there made breakfast a very pleasant experience even if it got a bit crowded at times.

I would stay at this property again for the service alone. The staff has a level of customer service all hotels should aspire to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear hotelsnob4u,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It is wonderful to know that you had such a great time in Chicago and at our hotel especially. Our entire staff likes to make our guests feel equally important, so it is nice to know that you were satisfied by our staff as a whole! Location is one of the top important things for guests visiting Chicago, and the Majestic has an absolutely wonderful locations for attractions, shopping, theater and restaurants that are easy to get to. Thank you so much for the great response!
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hampton Theater District in Chicago. The location was just what we wanted - in the loop, less than a block from the Metro. We did both a lot of walking and a lot of taking the Metro, and the location was perfect for both. Also, we found the hotel to be very, very clean, which makes me feel so much more comfortable. Looked clean, smelled clean. Modernly decorated and furnished. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Kelley C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are glad to know your experience at the Majestic was great! It's always nice to have nice and clean place to be that makes you feel like home away from home. There's so much to explore in Chicago that it makes it very convenient for tourists when they can get around easily. That is a big plus at our location. We appreciate your wonderful response.
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.