We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 169 hotels in Chicago
new jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hampton Majestic Chicago is a really good hotel. It is located just off State on Monroe so you are not very far from about a million things to do. You can take the "L" right in from O'Hare or Midway so you can skip the very expensive shuttle bus from either airport. You are steps from some serious shopping or the Art Institute and Grant Park. (I was there for the Blues Festival, but Chicago is home to many different, free festivals over the summer.) And the hotel sits on top of the Chicago Theatre!
The rooms are a bit small but have very high ceilings so you don't feel cramped. There are only a few rooms per floor so I think that lends to a nice quiet atmosphere. It has the usual Hampton free breakfast and small computer area. This area is extremely small so a bit uncomfortable for breakfast particularly if there are children. But you can take your food back to the room to avoid the chaos.

Front desk staff was lovely and very helpful. On a Saturday afternoon they recommended I try to get one of the "raffle tickets" for the Book of Mormon as it was sold out. Brilliant idea - I got a ticket for only $25 for that evening! Keep that in mind if you arrive without tickets.

I had planned to stay at the Palmer House about 200 yards away but after getting a room downgrade - changed to the Hampton. I am so happy I did. I saved money and got a much better experience at my new place to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear cujo31
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate guests wonderful comments! This hotel is of course an older building so it is smaller in size by rooms, but very comfortable for sure. Being that we are connected to the Bank of America Theater is definitely convenient for guests coming in for the show, and the raffle is an awesome idea they came up with because a lot of guests have won tickets. It’s nice to know you got to see it at such a great price! We appreciate your responses.
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    727
    300
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
252
330
93
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very centrally located to Red and Blue line trains. Walking distance to Millenium Park and Michigan Ave. Morning breakfast has both good hot and cold choices and gets you out door quick. Always felt secure. Bell-men were regularly at outside door and you had to use room key to get on any higher level than the lobby. Most Chicago downtown hotels are very pricey, and the Hampton is no exception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
and the Hampton is no exception.
Dear Paul G
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! Location is definitely a plus when it comes to our hotel. Most things that guests want to see are walking distance such as Millennium Park. The main attractions of Chicago that are frequently visited are usually available by bus or train as well, and makes it easier for guests to enjoy the city. We appreciate your time!
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a small hotel in the theater district. Conveniently located. Steps away from the blue line and easy to get to from the airport. Small lobby area that is easily overcrowded during breakfast. When I checked into my room the carpet in front of the bathroom was wet. I complained and the problem was not corrected, nor was I moved to another room because I was told the hotel was sold out. I had no options other than keeping my shoes on. Otherwise, I would have found the hotel fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Vik_Tory_8
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. We would like to first apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while you were with us. We take care of all our issues promptly, so we do apologize for missing out on correcting your problem. In spite of your issues, we are glad you still found our hotel to be fine. If you’re ever back in Chicago again, we would be glad to have you and make sure everything is taken care of properly in the future!
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were in town for a graduation with several family members. Loved the location of the hotel, overall service, cleanliness and complimentary breakfast piece. We arrived by plane, traveled around by foot, bus and the L, left by train. Easy access to everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Robin H
Thank your leaving a review of our hotel. We have high expectations of our given service in every department, so we our happy to know that you were pleased as well. The convenience of the public transportation is a plus when you do not want to drive in downtown Chicago’s hustle and bustle traffic!
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed in the Hampton Majestic in May 2013 for 4 nights. The hotel is in a perfect location, easy walking distance to almost everything. The hotel has a free breakfast, but I much preferred either Beef & Brandy just across the street, or the Wild Berry Pancake Cafe about 8 blocks away. Brandi at reception is one of the best and most pleasant hotel staff members I've ever met, she is truly professional and so helpful. The rooms are large and very clean. One small thing I disliked is that when the guests in the room beside came in or out (very early in the morning), I could hear the door banging. Not enough of an issue to put me off the hotel though, overall great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear IrishLouise12
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. Thank you personally for the kind comment you left me. I really love my job and pride myself in taking care of every guest, every day, every time!
Wildberry and Beef and Brandy are definitely delicious breakfast options if you miss out on the free breakfast in the lobby, or want other options. We are grateful that you took a moment to leave us such kind words.
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hampton Majestic. The location is perfectly centred in the middle of things ... we were able to walk almost everywhere, and return to our hotel without having to traipse through a giant lobby. Walk in the door, get on the elevator, go to your room. The included breakfast was handy to have, but very crowded at peak times (8:00 - 9:00). One morning we visited early (6:30ish) when it was much more enjoyable. We opted to eat at Wildberry (great breakfast restaurant) the other mornings. The room was very clean and comfortable, however my only complaint was the darkness of rooms. I'm not sure the reason for the dark walls but personally, I would prefer things lighter ... especially in the bathroom. For a girl trying to primp and put on makeup, dark rooms are the worst! Overall a great stay ... the free internet was nice plus too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear LondonCdn
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves on our location because it is so convenient. You can find anything from a show to see, attractions to visit, or plenty varieties of restaurants to choose from right near the hotel!
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My stay at the Hampton Inn in Chicago (theater district) was a pleasant experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The rooms and lobby were clean and I felt safe. The bellmen made me feel like a VIP. Always with a smile and willing to help. I thought the price was a bit high but I am not familiar with other pricing in Chicago for similar accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Torie G
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our valets are really nice gentlemen, so they would appreciate the kind comment from you. Downtown Chicago can be a little expensive, but when you think of the convenience and awesome location it makes it worth it for the most part!
On behalf of the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Brandi Cartmill
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.