We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Nice Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Freeport, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here because we were going to a concert at the Auditorium Theater to see the Canadian Tenors. Even though the hotel is right next to a Theater we found quiet rest and relaxation after the concert. Very comfortable and within walking distance to the Auditorium Theater as well as other theaters and the Harold Washington Library and State Street shopping. Another plus-very affordable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    712
    290
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
248
323
92
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Chicago and the staff at the Hampton was exceptional. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff was friendly, they certainly knew we were not frequent travelers and definitely helped us with any question we had. The concierge was so kind - helped us with everything from giving directions, holding our luggage, getting us a taxi - even sharing stories about our pets. I can't really say a bad thing about this experience. The room was clean and comfortable although we didn't spend much time in it. The hotel felt very safe and definitely an added bonus to be right there at the Bank of America theatre - getting to the show on time was not a problem! I would recommend this hotel to any traveler who wants to be within walking distance of some of the wonderful places in Chicago.

Green Features: My daughter has severe OCD and staying in hotels is difficult for her. The note that states the duvet covers are clean for your arrival was very comforting for her and the hotel passed her inspection - that is a big bonus for you Hampton. I personally love the elevator signage.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hampton Majestic! The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet and very clean - duvet covers washed between each guest was a very nice touch. And lots of little extras - free breakfast, wifi in the room, business center, coffee & tea (and fresh cookies in the afternoon) in the lobby. (We arrived too early to check in, left our bags with the hotel staff, went out exploring and came back and checked in at our leisure. Late check-out on our departure let us depart at our leisure too. The hotel is located just around the corner from two different subway lines, making subway travel very easy. (If you fly into O'Hare and can walk 1 block with your luggage, don't bother taking a taxi from the airport, just follow the signs at the airport for the CTA trains, it couldn't be easier.) We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is close to the Palmer House, in the Theater District, and includes free WIFI, complementary hot breakfast. Rooms are standard size, adequately appointed for the business travelo and meet most travelor's standards for cleanliness, toiletries in bathroom area, etc. The lobby is five stories up from street level with a full time doorman to greet you. The hotel is limited service, so there is no bar nor a restaurant open in the midday or evening but there are numerous options within one to two blocks. It is within a half block of the rail station for the connection to O'Hare and public transit is abundant. This hotel works well for someone willing to carry their own luggage to their room, ride public transit and walk a few blocks to find food and drink.

Room Tip: All rooms are off one hallway that leads to the elevator area. Ask for a room away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
DLLinDallas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in our beautiful city. It sounds like our location was a bonus for your travel needs and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was our third trip to Chicago in 3 years. Having stayed at The Fairmont and Intercontental in the past, we wanted a location near the theatre district. The Hampton was surprisingly satisfying in terms of service from the valet to the front desk and breakfast service. The price was awesome for what we got. The room was Quiet and Clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
janiee11,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us. We are so glad you picked us for your 3rd trip to Chicago. It is our hope that you will pick us every time you are in our lovely city. It6 sounds like you had a wonderful experience and we would love to welcome you back again soon!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent two nights here on a business trip. The hotel is located in the center of the Loop, and within walking distance of many of the subway/elevated lines (blue, red, and all of the loop lines). The entry is a bit odd - you go in and take an elevator to the fourth floor. The check in was quick and friendly. I was given a room on the top (21st) floor with a view of the Wrigley building. The room was clean and nicely set up. The bathroom was very spacious with good water pressure. The elevators worked well for me, though I had a conversation with another guest felt they were slow. Breakfast was the typical Hampton. If you are driving, be aware the overnight parking rate is $42 with in and our privileges.
The room was dead quiet at night, and there was little street noise given I was on such a high floor. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
LittleBoyBrew,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. We love to hear from all of our different kinds of travelers and we are so glad you enjoyed your business trip to Chicago and your experience at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the first time i have stayed at the Hampton and I want to say it was excellant! The staff were very helpful and nice. We got there early in the morning, way before check in and they told us to please sit down have breakfast and they would get us a room ready as soon as possible. By the time we finished eating we had a room!

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
1960Dee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience. I am so glad our team was able to invite you to a nice warm breakfast and an early check in. Those things can really make a difference and our team strives to do everything we can to make our guests feel right at home.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.